Customer Reviews for

Paula Deen & Friends: Living It Up, Southern Style

Average Rating 4
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2011

    Gooood food

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2008

    Wonderful...simpley wonderful

    I couldn't put this book down, it was so nice. I was reminded of my days in Texas so much, that I sold my house and moved there...Paula is an inspiration

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2008

    Outstanding

    I can't remember the last time I purchased a cookbook that I used so much. I got this for Mother's Day (1 month ago) and I have made 1/2 the dishes listed already! Absolutely delicious recipes and very simple instructions with everyday ingredients! I love, love, love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2007

    can't wait to try them all

    I opened this wonderful gift earlier today and I have read through the entire book. I cannot wait to try all of the recipes. I was impressed at how easy they are. I love recipes that do not require a multitude of different ingredients.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2006

    Down Home

    Paula's recipes are down home. Honest food without frills. Recipes remind me of midwestern country cooking. Easy to prepare as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2006

    Yum yum!

    What a great cookbook! It is MUCH better than her previous 'lady and sons' cookbook. This cookbook isn't organized by course like salad, soup, chicken, etc.. so that takes some time to get used to. However, I love how every chapter is organized by some kind of party theme. Each chapter has a 2 or 3 page story before it written by Paula herself. I LOVE her writing style, how she writes makes you feel like y'all are hanging out in the kitchen and she's just chatting away. Her best book yet! The recipes are so good! This is definitely a cookbook for party occasions/gatherings and not for just every day suppers at home. It made a great Christmas gift to this recent newywed! It would also be a great shower or wedding gift.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2005

    Amazing dishes!

    The recipes in this cookbook will make everyone who tries them think you have a dish that's been passed down for decades. One of my personal favorites is Maggie's Decadent Brownies. The first time I made these I ended up making 2 batches. My roommates couldn't believe how deliciously rich these are!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2005

    Southern Cooking?

    Good Cookbook but I enjoy her earlier books that where easy and I'd have most of ingredients in the house. Some the recipes, I would not consider Southern Style. I'd like to see her put out a Southern Casserole Cookbook/Crock Pot Recipes! But I still love her!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2005

    A must buy!

    Paula Deen cookbook is made for people who work all day but also want to give our families a good meal after a long day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2005

    OH SOO GOOD

    I am an avid reader of all cook books and she is one of the best. She makes you want to cook on a daily basis. This is the best choice you could possibly make. HURRAY PAULA...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2005

    Paula Deen wins 5 Stars !!

    Paula is wonderful on T.V. as well as her cookbooks ! I have every book She has published and EVERYTHING is wonderful!! Enjoy everyone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2005

    GREAT COOKBOOK!

    I love this book! It is a mix between a cookbook and her own stories that tie-in with them. Every recipe is easy and they all taste delicous! If you are having doubts about buying this book, than I'm telling you, GO BUY IT! YOU WON'T BE DISSAPOINTED!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2