BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Paula Deen's My First Cookbook

Average Rating 3.5
( 54 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted October 19, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    My Daughter's First Cookbook

    My daughter loves helping out in the kitchen, so I bought her this book to introduce her to the world of cooking. Paula Deen has done a great job of making the recipes simple and easy to understand for little ones. It's a great first cookbook.

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Delicious super fun!

    My youngest son (11y/o) got this for Christmas. Since that time, he has been a cooking maniac! From donuts and french toast, all the way to stews... Paula made cooking and baking easy in this book! This is a must have for anyone's kitchen no matter how old you are! Happy eating :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2010

    Purchased for a ten year old that wants to learn how to cook

    I perused many children's cookbooks before selecting this one. The reason I selected this book is that not only does it have many palatable, easy-to-make recipes, it also has a great section on introductory cooking terms and information. My niece really wants to learn how to cook and the starter information in this book will provide her a life-long foundation of basic cooking knowledge. My niece created her first "culinary masterpiece" :) using basic kitchen staples within the first thirty minutes of receiving this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2009

    My four year old loved this book.

    my daughter Bianca loves to cook, and loves Paula Dean. The directions and the pictures showing what supplies you need to make the recipes were <BR/>great. Our next recipe to make from the book is monkey bread(never heard of it before) but she is curious to find out what it taste like. So far all the recipes we made are really good.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2012

    Lots of fun and good food!

    We bought this book for a friend's daughter. It's easy to use and the pictures of all the items needed is helpful. We had her make out the grocery list of everything we needed and took her to the grocery store to shop for the items. On top of that, the recipes are great. We actually purchased a second book for ourselves!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Great Book

    My daugther is 5 and it is perfect for her. Pictures are great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2010

    Best Truly Child-friendly Cook-book

    After methodically and carefully perusing all of the myriad children's cook-books on the sale rack, I finally settled on Paula Deen's My First Cookbook. I was looking for a birthday gift for a special friend of mine who was turning 9. Having such fond memories of testing my independence and prowess at creating messes and following recipes as a young girl and novice chef, I wanted Josie to experience similar joys in the kitchen.

    This particular cookbook is the only one with pictures of everything a true novice will need for each recipe (drawings of tools and utensils like mixing bowls, oven mitts and measuring spoons, to various ingredients- each in color and clearly labeled). The recipes are simple and creative, not too complex for any un-accompanied young adult. There are a few introductory sections that are very useful, and essential to a beginner in the kitchen, like Safety First and How to Measure, and Paula also kindly includes sections on Good Manners and How to Set the Table. The recipes range from easy breakfasts to special occasions, and even a section of recipes entitled "Cooking for Mom and Dad"... which was, of course, my favorite kitchen memory as a child!

    I also especially appreciated the simple instructions and large print. Other children's cookbooks are full of single-spaced wordy paragraph after wordy paragraph: too much small text for any kid. Paula Deen's cook book has a clear and easy-to-read layout, and contains useful recipes that any child can accomplish.

    I knew this was the cook-book I was looking for. And my friend Josie (and her mom) love it. :)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2009

    GREAT book...Pictures make this awesome for challenged readers and new cooks!

    This cookbook has several basic recipes that kids will love. The cooking tools and ingredients are introduced in a picture glossary at the beggining of the book. Each recipe summarizes what you will need for making that item and offers clear, easy to read, step-by-step instructions. You will love cooking with your youngster and may even learn a trick or two yourself!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2009

    Paula Deans Cookbook

    This has been a great cookbook for my granddaughter, she has cooked many things out of this book, and pretty much all on her own. I am very impressed with how easy the recipies are. This is a perfect first cookbook.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2009

    Good Cook Book

    This is a very good cookbook for those learning to cook. My grandaughter loves it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2009

    This is a CUTE cookbook designed for Children

    My son got this for Christmas from us! I love how Paula showed pictures of things that the kids needed. It's such a good way to show children how they can work with materials that they need to "find" in the kitchen. It's worth my buy! I highly recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    What fun!!

    Found this book and had to have it. It is easy for my kids to read and follow. These are recipes from when I was a kid with some new ones. Check it out and you'll love it too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2009

    A nice first cookbook

    As someone with very young relatives who like to help out in the kitchen, this is a nice cookbook for the first time chef

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2009

    Great cookbook for kids, but needs adult participation!

    The book contains excellent illustrations, such as what utensils and supplies are needed for the particular recipe. However, it requires a lot of adult participation for most of the recipes. I ordered it for my granddaughter who is 6, and she enjoys looking at the pictures and picking out recipes. But we always need to be there to explain what she needs to do first, etc. She can assemble the utensils and ingredients by the pictures, but she could never prepare a recipe without adult supervision. She loves it though and it keeps us all busy in the kitchen!

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great beginners book for kids

    This is a great book for the younger child who is interested in cooking. It is written with kids in mind and has a great variety of recipes. I bought 5 of these for Christmas for my nephews, neice, and cousins! The kids were so excited to receive it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3