Customer Reviews for

Paula Deen's Southern Cooking Bible: The New Classic Guide to Delicious Dishes with More Than 300 Recipes

Average Rating 4
( 64 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(39)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Delicious Recipes!

Paula did it again! Fabulous recipes that can be trimmed down for those of us who are counting fat, calories, and so on. Or, just enjoy them as Paula intended them to be. Either way, you will find no disappointments!

posted by 4342181 on March 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

27 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

Good book, but NO pictures

It's Paula Deen, so YES, it has fantastic recipes and her wonderful down-home, charming style of sharing her food passion! I was disappointed that there are no pictures though. There are illustrations for techniques, such as properly placing a cooking therometer in a po...
It's Paula Deen, so YES, it has fantastic recipes and her wonderful down-home, charming style of sharing her food passion! I was disappointed that there are no pictures though. There are illustrations for techniques, such as properly placing a cooking therometer in a pot. Why are pictures a big deal in recipe books? They bring your imagination to life in a very vivid way that makes you anxious to run to your kitchen and get started right away! And after all, isn't actually cooking the goal of a recipe book? Not convinced yet? Take a look at Rose Levy Birnbaum's Pie and Pastry Bible or her Cake Bible. I dare you to do that and not race to your kitchen to get started baking! Other than the omission of photographs, this book is great, full of wonderful recipes and Paula-ness, and most definitely a keeper for anyone who takes delight in preparing great food.

posted by PierreLeChat on October 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2012

    Delicious Recipes!

    Paula did it again! Fabulous recipes that can be trimmed down for those of us who are counting fat, calories, and so on. Or, just enjoy them as Paula intended them to be. Either way, you will find no disappointments!

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2013

    Forgiveness

    Things said in the past need to be left in the past. Buying this book is a small gesture of support for Paula and the horrible things that are being done to her for a small lapse in judgment. These companies who made millions of dollars off from her hard work should be ashamed of themselves.
    Good luck Paula.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Best Cookbook Ever!

    The guy who said these recipes are loaded with fat must be on a diet. This cookbook has great recipes and I love the personal stories Paula wrote at the beginning of each recipe.

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2011

    Love this cookbook!

    I am not a huge Paula Deen fan. Her laugh tends to grate my nerves at times. From time to time, though, I do watch her show and have found that I like some of her recipes. This book was given to me as a Christmas present. The day after Christmas I made the buttermilk pancakes and the first words out of my daughters mouth after her first bite was "these are delicious; they are the best pancakes ever!" That says a lot coming from a 13 yr old picky eater. I will definitely try a majority of the other recipes.

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly recommended- you must check it out.

    I bought this book the day Paula was scheduled in Tyler Texas for a book signing. I collect cookbooks and have always made it a #1 priority to buy books with pictures because they are so mouth watering. This new book of hers needs no pics. This is such a user friendly book and easy recipes for people who don't have a lot of time in the kitchen. This is such a well thought out book, Thank You Paula Deen, for a wonderful addition to my collection. (My Favorite Meatloaf) wonderful flavor. Happy Cooking, now go buy it!!!

    6 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I found this book to be what it says... the bible of cooking. T

    I found this book to be what it says... the bible of cooking.

    This book literally changed my life.

    Now, I too recently was diagnosed with diabetes, but I don't attribute this to Southern Cooking, that is just blasphemy.

    Southern Cooking is the proper way to live.  I loved the passion, the humor, the words that say "I love food".
     

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2011

    A 2011 BEST BUY!!

    I love Paula and this book is just terrific. Sometimes you buy cookbooks (like me) because you just love them and collect them, but when you get home, and page thru them, you find that you really only would realistically make a handful of their recipes. Not true with this one. I "bookmarked" almost 3/4 of the recipes- or more. Her recipes come out well 98% of the time. Cudos, Paula. I just wish you were living with me in my home instead of yours. And cooking for me, of course.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    Highly Recommended - check it out.

    I purchased this book for my daughter for Christmas. I love the recipes in this book. Very simple and easy. Plus I love Paula Dean.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    My hearts breaks

    Im paula biggest fan . Stood in line for hours so she could sign book and somebody stole it . Wish i could afford this book , but single mom of 3 girls keeps me poor . Love u paula .

    4 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2012

    These are the best recipes

    This book is full of tasty snacks for you and your whole family

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    Captures Southern Cooking

    Good recipes, Good directions and good results!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2012

    You Can't Beat Paula!

    I have 4 other Paula Deen cookbooks. There seems to be some overlapping of recipes from my previous collection, but if this is your first Paula cookbook, you can't go wrong. And if you are a Paula collector, you won't mind a few duplicates. SHE'S STILL GREAT!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Love it, y'all!!!

    This is definitely worth purchasing!!!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2011

    Highly recommend....great book.

    I have several Paula Deen cookbooks and love them all. I like anything Paula Deen.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2013

    This book just MADE MY DAY.  I recently purchased this book, aft

    This book just MADE MY DAY.  I recently purchased this book, after I heard that Paula is a racist.  
    Now, all stereotypes aside, She is a sweet little slice of cheery pie!  
    I can't understand how she admitted to all these comments.  I'm not saying I know her, but if I did, I would say that she LOVES the n-word.
    She recently called me a (insert n-word here)horse who couldn't eat a watermelon if it was shoved in my face.  
    I think it just shows all the love in her heart.  Love you too, Paula!

    3 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2012

    Excellent recipes!

    Great cookbook. Can't wait to give the recipes a try. Anything by Paula Deen has been a hit in this house :)

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2011

    highly reconmended

    great book very useful

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2011

    Already excited

    I love paula dean and i cant wait for this book!

    2 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Wish i could afford this book , but single mom of 3 girls keeps

    Wish i could afford this book , but single mom of 3 girls keeps me poor . Love u paula . Does she know she can still buy it Used. So no love lost there.
    Just the next time Paula comes out bring that book and have her sign it again for you. I'm sure Paula will understand. I'm Pro-Paula , I have made cakes from using her recipes. I love the cookbook & I can't wait to buy it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2014

    Vote for rand paul

    Vote for rand paul upcoming election! You wont be sorry! I promise!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2