Customer Reviews for

Pavlov's Dogs

Average Rating 4
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Authors Thom Brannan and D.L. Snell bring us the thrilling story

Authors Thom Brannan and D.L. Snell bring us the thrilling story of Pavlov's Dogs. The world has gone to hell in a hand basket in only a month. The dead are rising. With only one bite, scratch, or blood consumption they are infecting the living. Leaving them with the sa...
Authors Thom Brannan and D.L. Snell bring us the thrilling story of Pavlov's Dogs. The world has gone to hell in a hand basket in only a month. The dead are rising. With only one bite, scratch, or blood consumption they are infecting the living. Leaving them with the same fate of the walking dead. There is no hope in site for humanity. It has spread all around the world. The government has fallen. Armageddon is upon us, God save us.


Dr. Crispin, a brilliant scientist who is safely tucked away on a remote island, can not believe the rate at which the zombies are taking over the planet. He seems to take a personal interest in wanting to try to find surviviors. He has genetically engenierd military men and given the the ability to turn into dogs at will. The change is painful but the outcome is worth it. This was the reason he created the aptly named, Dogs. He wants to send them to the mainland and search for survivors. They must be out there somewhere. He needs to save someone.


Ken Bishop has been keeping himself and around 60 other people alive for one month. He can't believe it has only been a month sense he and his best friend Jorge were trying to get home after a long day of work but being haulted do to a massive bus crash on the interstate. He can still here his smart mouth friend yelling into the cell phone that the dead were getting up from the crash site and attacking other people. From that point on it had been Living vs Dead and wouldn't you know it looked like the Dead were winning. There has been no sign of this ending anytime soon. Until one day a large man shows up at the fortress Ken has set up for his people promising that there is an island where survivors have already started to set up camp.


Ken can't help to be wary of this man who claims to have the answer to all of their problems. In his experience if it sounds too good to be true... well it is. And, now he has seen this man change into a giant dog and chew through the zombies like it was nothing. An island with more men like Samson who can change at will, sounds like they would be safe.


Dr. Donovan has been watching the way Dr. Crispin has been hell bent on saving potential surviors on the mainland. He can not believe that Crispin would take resourses away from his people just to help other people. Things need to change before Crispin lets the new survivors on the island take over the place. And Dr. Donovan knows just how to do it...


Just when everything seems to be getting better, they get a whole lot worse. Ken had lost contact with the island. The Dogs have stopped coming to aid them. The resourses are getting scarce and Ken has a terrible feeling in his gut. Does Ken need the rescue evac or does he need to launch a rescue mission?


From the first sentence of this book it is a non stop thriller. Your heart will never stop pound in anticipation of what will happen next. Snell and Brannan, have you under a spell of frear and intrigue. Who is the good guy? Is there a good guy? How can these crazy people be stopped? How on earth is this going to end? From cover to cover it is a ride of suspense and horror. What a great ride! With the witty one liners and fun banter between characters it is a perfect balance of humor and horror. You will not be dissapointed!

posted by L_R_Leigh on May 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

ThunderDome Dogs vs Zombies and a mad scientist thrown in, story

ThunderDome Dogs vs Zombies and a mad scientist thrown in, story was fun, what else would you want?

posted by 6685298 on July 3, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 6 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Werewolves and zombies? Why not?

    My Permuted Press collection just keeps growing! First Peter Clines with superheroes and zombies and now D.L. and Thom with werewolves. This book grabs you quick (by the throat) and doesn't let go. A very different twist on the zombie genre with not just werewolves, but military engineered werewolves. Plenty of likeable characters, and it's fair share of mad scientists too. A very entertaining read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Though I watch a fair few horror films, it’s actually fair

    Though I watch a fair few horror films, it’s actually fairly rare that I will read horror stories aimed at the adult market. I tried Stephen King’s Pet Sematary once and ended up having nightmares about dead things rising from the grave. Not fun. I stopped part way through and haven’t touched another King novel since (though I have watched most of the films based on his books and those never give me nightmares!). This experience taught me something very important: do not treat horror as bedtime reading. My overactive imagination does not appreciate it. I learnt my lesson and, thankfully, kept it in mind with this one.

    Pavlov’s Dogs doesn’t quite get like Pet Sematary. It reads like the literary version of one of those horror movies from the 80s that were pretty much just making fun of themselves. Think those old movies with incredibly unrealistic zombies shuffling around groaning about brainssssss. Kind of like that in that there was certainly a lot of tension and the worry of how survival can be ensured, but it doesn't take itself too seriously. Trust me, this can definitely be a good thing!

    The book is at times quite clearly a portrait of society. Then again, don’t most zombie tales draw lines between the good of the individual and the good of the group? Each time there’s the question of whether to help others at the potential expense of risking your own life. As humans, I think we’re often torn between the two as our morals tell us we should help but our survival instinct screams that it’s in our better interests not to.

    So the zombies are the kind we all know already. There’s a bus crash and those who were dead start to stand up again and attack the living. It only takes a small flesh wound to turn a living person into the living dead and we follow a group of survivors desperately trying to do just that – survive. At the same time we also follow a group of scientists on an isolated. As such, they’re not at risk of being overrun by the zombie hordes. Even better, they have their own secret weapon: military men genetically engineered to be able to shift into dogs. These are the people who are faced with the choice of sending out their secret weapon to help save those they can, or better ensure their own survival by ignoring their plight. I found the Dogs to be original in a market where there are countless books about werewolves out there. Zombies versus werewolves? Oh yeah, fun in the making!

    I did have a couple of problems as well, though. My main problem with the book was all the names. There are a lot of characters and they all get named. I just couldn’t hold on to that many names in my head and keep being able to associate that name with that character, especially when most of them are just secondary characters. It just resulted in me getting confused and having to stop every so often to try to figure out just who X was happening to.

    Overall, though, I enjoyed the book a lot! It was outside of my normal comfort zone but just reading it you could tell that the authors had a great time collaborating on this novel. It always shows when the authors really enjoyed writing and it’s very obvious that this is the case here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2012

    Authors Thom Brannan and D.L. Snell bring us the thrilling story

    Authors Thom Brannan and D.L. Snell bring us the thrilling story of Pavlov's Dogs. The world has gone to hell in a hand basket in only a month. The dead are rising. With only one bite, scratch, or blood consumption they are infecting the living. Leaving them with the same fate of the walking dead. There is no hope in site for humanity. It has spread all around the world. The government has fallen. Armageddon is upon us, God save us.


    Dr. Crispin, a brilliant scientist who is safely tucked away on a remote island, can not believe the rate at which the zombies are taking over the planet. He seems to take a personal interest in wanting to try to find surviviors. He has genetically engenierd military men and given the the ability to turn into dogs at will. The change is painful but the outcome is worth it. This was the reason he created the aptly named, Dogs. He wants to send them to the mainland and search for survivors. They must be out there somewhere. He needs to save someone.


    Ken Bishop has been keeping himself and around 60 other people alive for one month. He can't believe it has only been a month sense he and his best friend Jorge were trying to get home after a long day of work but being haulted do to a massive bus crash on the interstate. He can still here his smart mouth friend yelling into the cell phone that the dead were getting up from the crash site and attacking other people. From that point on it had been Living vs Dead and wouldn't you know it looked like the Dead were winning. There has been no sign of this ending anytime soon. Until one day a large man shows up at the fortress Ken has set up for his people promising that there is an island where survivors have already started to set up camp.


    Ken can't help to be wary of this man who claims to have the answer to all of their problems. In his experience if it sounds too good to be true... well it is. And, now he has seen this man change into a giant dog and chew through the zombies like it was nothing. An island with more men like Samson who can change at will, sounds like they would be safe.


    Dr. Donovan has been watching the way Dr. Crispin has been hell bent on saving potential surviors on the mainland. He can not believe that Crispin would take resourses away from his people just to help other people. Things need to change before Crispin lets the new survivors on the island take over the place. And Dr. Donovan knows just how to do it...


    Just when everything seems to be getting better, they get a whole lot worse. Ken had lost contact with the island. The Dogs have stopped coming to aid them. The resourses are getting scarce and Ken has a terrible feeling in his gut. Does Ken need the rescue evac or does he need to launch a rescue mission?


    From the first sentence of this book it is a non stop thriller. Your heart will never stop pound in anticipation of what will happen next. Snell and Brannan, have you under a spell of frear and intrigue. Who is the good guy? Is there a good guy? How can these crazy people be stopped? How on earth is this going to end? From cover to cover it is a ride of suspense and horror. What a great ride! With the witty one liners and fun banter between characters it is a perfect balance of humor and horror. You will not be dissapointed!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2014

    Interesting take

    I was pleasantly surprised. I wasn't sure the author could actually pull off the combo of zombies n werewolves but he did an alright job. I would have liked to see a bit more character development n story regarding human survivors but otherwise not a bad read. Only towards the end of the book did I find myself shaking my head in dissapointment, the author went a tad over the top in one chapter but I'm defintely going to continue with the series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2013

    Great

    Very good read. Story was great and flowed smoothly and quick. My only reason for not giving 5 stars was that I felt it ended abruptly. A little more description and maybe another five minutes of them getting off the island would have made an easy 5 stars. As is it just feels a little rushed but definitely one to read especially if you liked peter clines ex- series.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 6 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1