Customer Reviews for

Pawleys Island

Average Rating 4.5
( 41 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

This is her best yet!

Having read all of Dottie Frank's books, I wondered if this one could hold my interest, I couldn't put it down!! I love her witty humorous portrayal of women who deal with their lives and relationships with courage and wisdom(sometimes!). She makes the Lowcountry co...
Having read all of Dottie Frank's books, I wondered if this one could hold my interest, I couldn't put it down!! I love her witty humorous portrayal of women who deal with their lives and relationships with courage and wisdom(sometimes!). She makes the Lowcountry come alive similarly to the way Pat Conroy makes one long for the Tidewater country. What a great read--can't wait for the next one!!

posted by Anonymous on September 1, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

A good read!

I was just introduced to Dorothea Frank, I have finished five of her many titles at this point. I enjoy her style, in reading her works you learn about yourself just a bit more each time. Keep up the good work.

posted by 9525219 on July 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2005

    DebbieT from SC

    I agree - Dot has done it again. Once you read one of Dot Franks' books, you will be hooked. I loved this story with it's strong women characters and obstacles they must overcome, as well as the relationships that develop between them. Dot will have you feeling like these are your best friends. Usually I can figure out what's going to happen next - but not so with Dot's books. She surprises me at every turn. I tend to laugh out loud (or cry) when I read something I didn't expect - and believe me - Dot WILL make you laugh. She is a very witty lady who puts a charming southern - low country spell in each of her stories. If you're from the south - you will get it. If you're not - you will wish you were from the south. Surprise's at the end with Pawleys Island as the back drop - this book is perfect.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2005

    Dot Frank does it again!!

    Speaking as a westerner, I totally sunk my teeth into this Lowcountry tale. Every character jumps from the pages as a true Southern experience. From the first page, to the last of Pawleys Island, the wisdom and humor of Dot Frank's written word touches hidden places within your soul. It's a must read, summer or winter!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2005

    This is her best yet!

    Having read all of Dottie Frank's books, I wondered if this one could hold my interest, I couldn't put it down!! I love her witty humorous portrayal of women who deal with their lives and relationships with courage and wisdom(sometimes!). She makes the Lowcountry come alive similarly to the way Pat Conroy makes one long for the Tidewater country. What a great read--can't wait for the next one!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Great Summer Reading

    The story line was refreshing and add to it a touch of humor made this this book book quite entertaining. I will be reading more of the author's books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2012

    A good read!

    I was just introduced to Dorothea Frank, I have finished five of her many titles at this point. I enjoy her style, in reading her works you learn about yourself just a bit more each time.

    Keep up the good work.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2005

    AN ESPECIALLY PLEASING LISTEN

    Author Dorothea Benton Frank reads her fifth Low Country tale with confident charm, carrying listeners to a small South Carolina island. Those who enjoy low-key stories centering on family and friends with a touch of surprising excitement will find much to relish in this story. Abigail Thurmond and Huey Valentine are an idyllic if unique pair. They're the best of friends, enjoying each other and the lazy-hazy days on Pawleys Island. Abigail, a retired attorney, came to he island from Columbia; Huey has lived there for some time with Miss Olivia, his 80-plus year old mother. Their home is he family plantation, and his business is Gallery Valentine, a shop that caters to decorators and all who enter there. Enter Rebecca Simms, a gifted artist whose works Huey is happy to display. However, Rebecca isn't just visiting the Island, she's running from what has been too painful for her to endure. Leave it to Miss Olivia to find out exactly what that might be. Then leave it to Huey and Abigail to help heir new found friend. An especially pleasing listen. - Gail Cooke

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    Great story I loved the authors since of humor.

    Good read, not deep but just a fun read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    great story

    great stories

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2009

    Makes you want more

    I don't know how I missed this author for so long. Pawleys Island captures the south perfectly. The characters seem real. I loved it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2007

    Southern Comfort

    The charm of the Lowcountry is the heart and soul of this novel and its characters inviting us to live, love, and keep moving on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2006

    A great read! A great place!

    Pawleys Island is one of my favorite places, so ,of course, I loved the book. Ms. Frank spins a great tale--I know the women she writes about, because I am one of them. Getting older can be wonderful if you have the right grace and attitude. Women need more books like this one. I loved Miss Olivia. This book reminds me of another great read, Micah's Child by Lang Buchanan

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2006

    She just keeps getting better and better

    This book grabbed me from the beginning. Every character is so real. Her love of the low country, family and friends really comes through. You get pulled into the story and fall in love with the people and the island.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2006

    Can't put down book - great characters - great story

    I ama frequent visitor to Litchfield, neigboring beach to Pawleys. The depictions of the area are perfect and make it all the more real by author's use of real places in the Pawleys area. The story is engaging and leaves me wishing the characters were real and I could be part of their circle. I fell in love with 'Miss Olivia' and hope to be as engaging as I age. You will laugh and if you love justified revenge this story will leave you cheering on the characters and wallowing the in the sweetness of justice found. My first Frank book and am ready to read more of her work. If you love Pawleys and Litchfield Beach, S.C. you will love it all the more. A definite great read for anytime of year! Absolutely loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2005

    Yes!

    My favorite one of her books so far!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2005

    The Recipe for a PerFect Summer

    Every Southern man and woman knows that there's nothing that makes summer more enjoyable than a great new book. Ms. Frank's latest Lowcountry Tale, PAWLEYS ISLAND, fills the bill. It's a great page turner that will keep you in the hammock from the moment you open the first chapter and find yourself meeting folks you'd love to know, if you're lucky enough to live in the area, till the last, when a dinner table surprise knocks the sandals off your tanned feet!--- Don't miss your first opportunity to buy a copy, which will be your ticket to a destination that proves lazy Southern islands are a great setting in which to discover the fact that there's often a slice of life nestled in the warm breeze that shouldn't be overlooked by a reader who enjoys a truly well-written and enjoyable story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2005

    'She has done it Again'

    As like her other books, this is a yet another I didn't want to see end. Frank tells a story like no other!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2005

    Frank Does IT Again!

    All I can say about this book is--WOW! I really enjoyed this one, I finished it in 2 days. It isn't quite as lighthearted as her previous ones, mostly because the subject is so serious--a woman is unjustly declared an unfit mother, but it's still a great book. I loved Huey, Abigail , Rebecca, Miss Olivia and I especially liked the trial scenes which showed quite nicely what a lying, low down SOB Nat was. A great beach or car read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2005

    Perfect Beach Book

    It is the perfect escape novel, and the story holds it own to the last page. I enjoyed it very much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    An engaging tale

    On idyllic PAWLEYS ISLAND, outside of food not much excites fifty-five years old Huey Valentine, but the works of newcomer Rebecca Simms does. He displays her paintings at the show of another artist and sells some of them. Rebecca admits to Huey¿s social companion, retired matrimony attorney widow Abigail Thurmond that her spouse Nat obtained a divorce in which she was proclaimed an unfit mother and has custody of their two children. Huey¿s octogenarian mother goes berserk when she hears this injustice and demands her son and Abigail fix it............... Abigail agrees to represent Rebecca in court although this is her first case since her spouse died a few years ago not long after their son passed away. She begins making inquiries into what happened, the behavior of Huey, and whether the city of Charleston committed a major faux pas as she plans to prove her client is the one fit to raise the kids, not her ex who has custody. Along the way, Abigail regains her lust for life.................. Dorothea Benton Frank¿s latest South Carolina low country character study is an engaging tale that starts at a leisure pace as readers meet the prime players. Towards the middle of the book, the plot changes into a legal thriller in which Nat learns the hard way about women scorned. Though Nat is an extreme loser between pornography, a bimbo, and offering to pay for ¿enhancements¿ for his daughter to have twin edges when she tries out as a Clemson cheerleader, contemporary fans will enjoy this trip to Charleston and Pawleys Island................... Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2005

    Superstar Spring and Summer Delightful Story

    This author is my alltime favorite! Any book she writes is a superior glimpse into the Lowcountry Life. Must read for any southern woman. I will follow Dorothy Benton Frank down any avenue she portrays!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3