Customer Reviews for

The Pawn (Patrick Bowers Files Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 1920 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(723)

4 Star

(652)

3 Star

(287)

2 Star

(123)

1 Star

(135)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Amazing Thriller!

This first book in his series is amazing! I could not put it down-I read all 3 of his in a row as I could not stop reading them. I had to know what was going to happen. Although each book could stand on their own--you are compelled to find out what else happens to th...
This first book in his series is amazing! I could not put it down-I read all 3 of his in a row as I could not stop reading them. I had to know what was going to happen. Although each book could stand on their own--you are compelled to find out what else happens to the characters. It flows so well from one to the next that you cannot stop at just one! One of the best thriller trilogies I have read. All that I have read since have paled in comparison! Looking forward to The Bishop this fall! Great work and thanks for the thrilling ride!

posted by crafty4life on May 10, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

21 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

Too Gruesome

While the writing of this book was very well-done, and while it held my interest, it was a bit too gruesome for my tastes. A flashback story of a cat that was tortured to death was the end of the book for me. I quit reading it and archived it on my nook, only because ...
While the writing of this book was very well-done, and while it held my interest, it was a bit too gruesome for my tastes. A flashback story of a cat that was tortured to death was the end of the book for me. I quit reading it and archived it on my nook, only because I don't know how to delete it. Good thing it was free, but even so, I spent my time on it, and ended up feeling horrible for having encountered it at all.

posted by Nook_Reader on September 11, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 135 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted September 11, 2010

    Too Gruesome

    While the writing of this book was very well-done, and while it held my interest, it was a bit too gruesome for my tastes. A flashback story of a cat that was tortured to death was the end of the book for me. I quit reading it and archived it on my nook, only because I don't know how to delete it. Good thing it was free, but even so, I spent my time on it, and ended up feeling horrible for having encountered it at all.

    21 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2010

    2 thumbs down

    Graphic depiction of violence and those who commit same are of no interest to me, no mater how well written the book.

    The best I can say about this book is that it was free, so no money lost when I deleted it from my library.

    1 star because 0 is not possible.

    7 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2011

    An FBI profiler with boring internal turmoil.

    Think of this as the Lifetime version of a James Patterson thriller. The lead character is ultra sensitive to his relationships with others. How could this guy survive as long as he has? I'm glad this one was cheap. The crime spree is pretty standard stuff and the other characters only get a very superficial role in the drama.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    Immature style

    Because it was free, I have audited my review. Immature style, trite plot amd character. The antagonist was downright cheesy. Read if you've got time, don't expect much.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2012

    Too bad it wont go past page 169

    This story was good but it wont go past page 169. This is my second free book that i cant finish,

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2012

    Very impressed with this author

    I thought that James Patterson was the man to read if you were into mysteries. Steven James has joined the list of top writers. His plot line gets better with each turn of the page. I'm looking forward to reading more of his novels.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    Sadistic

    This is a very sick book, dark side view. Horrific murders with sick details. I read that he was a christian author. That is difficult to comprehend. In my opinion it takes a sick mind to even think like him. I only give one star because you have to rate it. It is a negative 10 star.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2011

    Deleted

    This is the first book I plan to delete from my Nook. It was gruesome and frankly did not keep my interest long enough to even finish the book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2010

    Not a favorite...

    The beginning was exciting...the middle boring and the end was bring too. :(

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2010

    Very disturbing subject matter

    Caution: Overall subject matter is extremely disturbing. I stopped reading the book after 1.5 chapters because it was too troubling. I like mysteries but this one was too over the top for me. I appreciate getting to try new writers through my Nook and the free downloads. I have found some great new authors and I've gone on to buy their books, but a big NO WAY on this one.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 135 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7