Customer Reviews for

The Pawn (Patrick Bowers Files Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 1918 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(722)

4 Star

(651)

3 Star

(287)

2 Star

(123)

1 Star

(135)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Amazing Thriller!

This first book in his series is amazing! I could not put it down-I read all 3 of his in a row as I could not stop reading them. I had to know what was going to happen. Although each book could stand on their own--you are compelled to find out what else happens to th...
This first book in his series is amazing! I could not put it down-I read all 3 of his in a row as I could not stop reading them. I had to know what was going to happen. Although each book could stand on their own--you are compelled to find out what else happens to the characters. It flows so well from one to the next that you cannot stop at just one! One of the best thriller trilogies I have read. All that I have read since have paled in comparison! Looking forward to The Bishop this fall! Great work and thanks for the thrilling ride!

posted by crafty4life on May 10, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

20 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

Too Gruesome

While the writing of this book was very well-done, and while it held my interest, it was a bit too gruesome for my tastes. A flashback story of a cat that was tortured to death was the end of the book for me. I quit reading it and archived it on my nook, only because ...
While the writing of this book was very well-done, and while it held my interest, it was a bit too gruesome for my tastes. A flashback story of a cat that was tortured to death was the end of the book for me. I quit reading it and archived it on my nook, only because I don't know how to delete it. Good thing it was free, but even so, I spent my time on it, and ended up feeling horrible for having encountered it at all.

posted by Nook_Reader on September 11, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 722 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 37
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing Thriller!

    This first book in his series is amazing! I could not put it down-I read all 3 of his in a row as I could not stop reading them. I had to know what was going to happen. Although each book could stand on their own--you are compelled to find out what else happens to the characters. It flows so well from one to the next that you cannot stop at just one! One of the best thriller trilogies I have read. All that I have read since have paled in comparison! Looking forward to The Bishop this fall! Great work and thanks for the thrilling ride!

    16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Bridget's Review

    The opening chapter resembles Romeo & Juliet. Two young teens are about to take their own lives because "It's a cruel world" and they believe "our love with unite us forever". It's very easy for Aaron to convince his girlfriend, Jessie, that it's necessary they take their own lives. Jessie is head over heels in love but ignorant to the fact that Aaron doesn't even know if he has feelings for her. Little does she know that he has no intention of taking his own life.

    Now Patrick Bowers has been called in to investigate. His reputation for tracking down killers is impeccable. This case is different from any other. It is almost as if the killer is invincible. Will Patrick be able to use the skills necessary to find this killer or has he finally come up against a worthy opponent?

    A major thrill-ride!

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    THE PAWN is a super FBI serial killer police procedural

    FBI environmental criminologist Patrick Bowers is sent to Asheville, North Carolina to analyze the corpses of several murdered women in order to precisely determine time and place based on the environmental clues. The serial killer leaves behind a yellow ribbon tied to the hair of the victims and a chess piece nearby.

    Bowers begins to tie the clues together, but fears his suspicion might prove politically explosive as he suspects the state governor Sebastian Taylor, who is expected to make a strong run for president, is in the middle of the homicides. Bowers also finds a connection with a cult and Jonestown. With some run-ins with the special agent in charge, Bowers focuses on the case while hiding his grief over his wife's recent death and fathering a churlish seventeen year old stepdaughter Tessa who wants nothing to do with him as she feels her parents abandoned her; unaware the Illusionist is watching him.

    THE PAWN is a super FBI serial killer police procedural starring a unique full blooded hero. Patrick is terrific as an environmental forensic expert while turning to God to help him through his grief and family crisis; as he does not know how deal with his or his stepdaughter's grief. The serial killer is a bit typical of the genre while the governor is not. Fans will enjoy this fine chess match between Bowers and the Illusionist.

    Harriet Klausner

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2007

    AN AUTHOR TO WATCH

    I'm one of those readers who doesnt like too much information about a book before reading it. As a result I'll sometimes acquire a book soley on its Title and a brief look at the blurb or editorial comments. Thats the way I found, to my GREAT delight Steven James's novel THE PAWN A bookstore friend of mine loaned me the advanced readers copy he received and I'm deeply indebted to him for the favor. THE PAWN is one of those books that grabs you from the first page and doesnt let you go till the very last sentence. The story is fluid and the characters are believeable and very easy to get close to. I am not going to go into specifics of the story but suffice it to say that I was thrilled to learn that this is the first of a series and I cannot wait for the next installment. Trust me..you will love this book

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Complex and riveting!

    The Pawn's protagonist, Patrick Bowers, an environmental criminologist for the FBI, is struggling to understand his wife's death from cancer and the resulting estrangement from his step-daughter. This on his mind, he is trying to track down a ruthless and brilliant killer who leaves chess pieces at the site of each murder. The author's manner of tying the murders together with conspiracy theories and historical mysteries that makes this complex and riveting story such an interesting page-turner.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    PatricBowersluvr----amazing, very good read

    The pawn along with many other of steven james books is definatly one of the most thrilling serial killer novels i have ever read.I have read it over 4 times and I am still coming back for more.
    I highley recomend this book for anyone who wants to spend sleepless nights finishing the page turning adventure of special agent patric bowers, Tessa, and agent ralph.
    Don't overlook this novel, if you do you will be greatly dissappointed

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2007

    Wonderful!

    I read alot of books and this was one I couldnt put down, it is very exciting, and keeps you thinking throughout. This is a wonderful read.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    This was an excellent book, kept me guessing right up to the very end. It was full of twists and turns and every time I thought I had it figured out, I was taken to another level of mystery. Patrick Bowers is a great character and I look forward to reading more of Steven James books. Actually, when I saw that the book was free I went into it thinking it would be a boring read, but I was mistaken. I learned to never look a "gift book" on the cover. Thank you for the freebie.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2010

    Great

    What a great murder mystery! Especially greater because it was a free download! Was pleasantly suprised with this one!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome

    Really enjoyed the book...drama, romance...fast paced. will be looking for more of this authors work.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2010

    Fantastic read

    I am not sure why previous reviewers couldn't keep track of the characters in this book. I didn't have that issue at all. The characters are well developed, the plot is intense and all in all it's a very good book. Better still that it was free. I did, of course, have to purchase The Rook as soon as I finished The Pawn. It was just that good...

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Couldn't put it down

    Great book....Highly recommended!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    Good reading.

    Held my attention to the end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Mercy-me

    Just finish this book ana it was great. Great aurthor. I felt I was reading something that James Patterson wrote. Looking forward to reading his other books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Gripping from the first

    The prologue took my breath away! This fast paced thriller reminded me of a Bone Farm novel or even a Bones style mystery/thriller. I didn't guess the killer even though I was sure I had it nailed. I highly recommend this book and am looking forward to reading more in the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2011

    LOVED IT!

    Steven James is brilliant and The Pawn is wonderfully suspenseful, without the sexual content and language that many other authors use.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2010

    Highly Recommended - you really should check it out!

    I'm so glad I downloaded this book. I discovered a new author I never read before and the story was so good I didn't want to put the book down! Because of this book, I'm now reading the Rook and I have the Knight to read next. Try this book, you won't be disappointed. If you like James Patterson, Lisa Gardner or Karen Slaughter, you'll like Steven James.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2010

    Unbelieveably AWESOME!

    Wow, this may be the best book I've read of it's kind. The interwoven plots were enough to have you biting your nails off, but never left you confused. Every single character was brought to life and jumped off the page...I literally LOST sleep over this book!!!! I'm so tempted to go right to Book #2!! I LOVE Patrick Bowers and I also like how James included some of his personal history, which makes him even more likeable! I can't say enought about this book....and it's currently FREE....so PLEASE DOWNLOAD THIS ONE!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2010

    Amazing book!

    This book started out a little slow for me, but after the first few pages I was hooked on it. I only put it down when I could no longer keep my eyes open from lack of sleep. If you like murder mysteries, this is a great ebook to get!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2010

    Really good

    I really enjoyed this book. It was a great way to be introduced to this author since it is a free book. The suspence was great.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 722 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 37