Customer Reviews for

Pawn of Prophecy (Belgariad Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 119 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(96)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 119 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted July 5, 2014

    Finally!  Its being released on ebook!  Please release the rest

    Finally!  Its being released on ebook!  Please release the rest of this series and the Sparhawk series!  

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2014

    Great series

    So excitded to see it finally coming to nook

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2014

    Hooray for the nook book release!  I re-read this series at leas

    Hooray for the nook book release!  I re-read this series at least once a year.  It has such great character development.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2014

    WOW, WOW, WOW!!!! I have been waiting for YEARS to be able to f

    WOW, WOW, WOW!!!! I have been waiting for YEARS to be able to find this as an eBook. Thank you whoever is responsible for bringing this to the e-public!

    Now...I have three. I just need the last two and my trip to Riva, Mallorea, and all the other kingdoms can be completed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2014

    Finally

    Love this series . Please release the rest of the Belgariad and Malloreon series. In addition, the Sparhawk series also please.
    I grew up reading this series and it ignited my fascination with both fantasy and sci-fi . I have the series in paperback and have read them so many times the books have fallen apart. Glad to see the books are finally in e format.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2014

    One of the best!

    Wonderful 3 dimensional characters, with good traits and bad; humorous dialogue; a grand story of gods and world-changing deeds accomplished by unexpected people. Eddings has a simple, spare style of writing, but NOT childish. He uses enough words, the right words, and lets the reader do the rest. I first read this series over 30 years ago and I'm so glad it's finally coming out in digital! I've already started reading it again!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2014

    Finally as an ebook

    I have loved this series for years. Very happy to see it released as an ebook. Now please release the rest of the series. Great story. Wonderful characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2014

    i love this series.  i read it when i was young and i am re-read

    i love this series.  i read it when i was young and i am re-reading now.  it is just as good as 25 years a go

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2014

    The entire series....

    Will the entire series ever be released for the nook?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2013

    I wish Random House would release this in E format. I originall

    I wish Random House would release this in E format. I originally read this 30 years ago, along with the other 3 following, but lost them moving. This series got me fully into the "sci-fi fiction fantasy" genre. It is an entertaining story and I would love to re-read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2013

    i would love this whole series of books on Nook Please!  i have

    i would love this whole series of books on Nook Please!  i have them in hardback and paperback but for day to day i would love to have the digial version. makes it easier to read on a day to day basis.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2012

    This whole series is one of the best fantasy stories ever writte

    This whole series is one of the best fantasy stories ever written i have read the belgariad and mallorian five times. And i will read them again.i am really hoping that both series will be available in ebook format.i have the nook tablet and am very happy that i bought it.it would be better if all books are in ebook format especialy this series.David Eddings is on of the best writers i have read. Please RH put in ebook format mote people will enjoy this series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Garion lives the life of a simple farm boy until the day a story

    Garion lives the life of a simple farm boy until the day a storyteller comes to his village and convinces Garion’s aunt that they must leave immediately. As their quest continues, Garion grows confused and must question everything he ever knew about himself. Why do his aunt and this storyteller seem to have powers that Garion doesn’t believe in? Why do they have such powerful friends? This story of sorcery and adventure begins the Belgariad, an epic fantasy in which Garion must fight against the powers of evil in order to save his world. This book was quite enjoyable. It had fantastic characterization (to the point that I was actually getting angry at characters along with Garion). It had an interesting mystery to it because although I could make an educated guess, I don’t know the plot of the Belgariad so I don’t know exactly where it’s going. Quite a good introduction to the characters, land, and problem-to-be-solved.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2011

    Not very good

    People who actually consider this book to be 4 or 5 stars must not be that bright. I seriously would love to lock you in a room and debate your 4 or 5 star rating and I guarantee I would come out the victor. Anyhow, not much, actually nothing really happens in the first book. The main characters go on a quest and your introduced to characters. Pretty much sums it up.

    0 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2011

    Awesome Book!

    Great book. Really easy to read and has a great story line. Kind of reminds me of Lord of the Rings.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2010

    BEST SERIES EVER!

    I read this book in 6th grade, It sort of confused me so i reread it a few days ago. This book was the first in the Belgariad, it's not the best one in the series but it is deffinately a very good book. All 4 of the sequels are excelent and i recommend them to anyone that's looking for a good read. I also recommend the author, especially if you enjoyed this book. Some of his books include The Elenium, The Tamulia, The Redemption of Althalus, the sequal to this series The Mallorean, Belgarath the Sorcerer, and Polgara the Sorcerer.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    One of my favorite authors

    My teacher recommended this to me, and i could never let go of it!

    Among my favorite authors- R.A. Salvatore, Brian Jaques, Micheal Crichton, David eddiings is one of them!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2009

    Fantasy Epic

    Truly one of the best fantasy books (series, actually) that I have ever read. Truly astounding, especially considering the fact that it seems to transcend generations.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2008

    My all-time favorite!

    This is the greatest series ever. Honestly, I have a special place in my heart for it. The first five are beyond belief amazing, the best ever. David Eddings has a special talent for writing human interaction in a heartwarming way. I read these when I was young and I have since become a very serious literature enthusiast because of it. Belgarath is most certainly my favorite character of all time please read these they are an easy read.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2007

    The Best

    Tis is the best book I have ever read! It's full of action and mystery. It makes you feel like you are in the book. I reread this book a billion times.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 119 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6