Customer Reviews for

Payback Time

Average Rating 4
( 50 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted December 9, 2010

    you must buy it or cheack it out

    Pay back time Elijah Nguyen
    Book Report
    Period 4
    English

    So the question was why I would recommend the reading of this book to other people.
    And I Chose that you should recommend this book to other people especially teen age
    Boys. Mostly because it's about football, but that's not all, also because there is a lesson,
    It teaches that even though you are the biggest the strongest and the fastest on a football team you won't play if you have something hiding from yourself. Like if you do something bad or your older then your supposed to be you won't play no matter how good you are. So that is the lesson for all you boys out there. Also this book was really good it is the best one I ever read so coming from me I thing you should all read this wonderful book. And if you are a reporter for your school newspaper or something, then I also recommend you to read this great book. Because the main character is a reporter trying to revile a football secret about the best player on the team that never gets to play because of some secret he has. So the reporter is trying to solve the mystery. Also this book was made by awarded wining author Carl Deuker. That is why I recommend you read this great book, because a bet you will love this amazing book. So that should answer your question of why you should read this book I am telling you it is really good, so read it.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2010

    very interesting

    I am reading Payback Time by Carl Deuker. I thought it was very interesting, and I think everyone else should read this. It is about two high schoolers investigating on a new kid at their school. They think he is an undercover cop but he isn't. The main characters were Kimi, Mitch, and Angel. My favorite character was Mitch because he always tried his best. I could relate to Mitch, because he always tries everything to the best of his abilities. Mitch, Kimi, and Angel run into some gang problems which could get them killed. I really do like this book it is very interesting.
    Garrett

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Sally Kruger aka "Readingjunky" for TeensReadToo.com

    Dan "Mitch" True sees his school newspaper as his ticket to a career in journalism someday. He has his sights set on leaving Seattle and heading to college in New York City. What better place to find, write, and report the news of the world! There is only one problem. How is he supposed to become a top-notch journalist when he's being assigned to write the sports column? Mitch can't believe it when Alyssa is chosen as editor for the paper. He was sure he would get the job. To make matters worse, she tells him he will be writing all the sports stories. It should be obvious to anyone observant enough to notice his overweight, out of shape body that sports are not a priority for Mitch. The only thing Alyssa says to encourage him is that at least people will read his stories since the sports section is really the only part of the paper anyone reads. Mitch heads off to the first football game with Kimi, the staff photographer. They both focus on the team's star player, the quarterback, Horst Diamond. His talent looks like the only hope for an interesting season, that is until Mitch and Kimi notice Angel Marichal. Coach McNulty doesn't seem the least bit interested in Angel. Even though Mitch watches the kid throw practice passes on the sidelines that would make an NFL player jealous, the coach shrugs away any suggestions that Angel should be given more playing time. Mitch begins to suspect something is going on when he writes about this new player's amazing potential only to have those sections of his stories removed before they appear in the paper. When he points this out to Kimi, she agrees that perhaps they should do a bit of investigative journalism. They work together to uncover the mystery of Angel Marichal. Is the coach using Angel to cheat his way into a championship position, or is there something else illegal going on? Author Carl Deuker uses his expertise as a sports fiction writer to entertain teen readers with some great football action as well as an intriguing mystery. Readers will follow this high school football team's winning season and at the same time witness Deuker's characters as they encounter slashed tires, gang threats, and physical violence. In an incredible combination of action and adventure, PAYBACK TIME is sure to be a satisfying read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    B-

    B-

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    By anonymus

    This book has pashion and true hearted characters. Dan (mitch) True trys to make dull stories interesting when a new editor comes in comand he is moved to sports. Will Dan take this or will he have his Payback Time?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2012

    To:please help

    Yes u will like it even of u dont like football

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2012

    Great Book- highly recommend

    This is about a reporter named Mitch True. He has been assigned to watch and write about the schools football team. Now Mitch isn't involved in any sports, but because he is such a good writer he can make a dead game seem crazily intense. Mitch one practice sees a player on the field throwing perfect, bullet passes. No chance he wouldn't beat out the already starting QB. But when the coach asks to see him throw, he lobs the ball up and throws soft-rainbow passes? Each game this player called 'Angel' is very involved in the game. He gets interceptions in times of need, and makes tackles to stop open field runs, and for some reason never starts a game. Each game though Mitch is writing an article for the lincoln light (his school paper) and the seattle times (professional business) and each article he writes, the editors always take out anything said about Angel. Mitch is getting frustrated! Read to find out why Angel is being hidden... Why won't the coach ever start him in a game, or even let Mitch talk to him. .. Why does the seattle Times keep taking out everything said about him? Great book for all people. You do not have to like football to like this book, it is more of a mysterious and thinking book, just with football in it. :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2011

    Please help

    Do you think ill like it if i dont like football?

    1 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2011

    Amazing

    Best book i eve read. Couldnt put the nookbook down!!!!!!!????

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2011

    Football!!!!!!!

    I LOVED IT!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2014

    <3<3

    I friggin love thi book!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    Aweme Awesome Story!

    Great book i wou recommend it to any sports fan or if you just want a good mystery! Happy New Year!! #2014

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2013

    Not as good as i expected

    Left me wondering what happened.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2013

    Awesome

    Pretty cool.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2013

    Hey u

    Its gooood!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    Hi anyone there

    Does anyone wont to talk

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    X,j

    Etdx,glyuru olj .jl iuvmhryxj

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2013

    H

    I got the sample then bought the book but it is still the sample # need help

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    0 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2012

    Ya

    Yayaa booooboooooo naka jaka le nikop plon necka t¿

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3