Customer Reviews for

Paying the Piper

Average Rating 4.5
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Must Read by a Fabulous Writer!

    "Do NOT start this book if you have any intentions of getting anything else done before you finish it! My favourite Simon Wood book to date. This thriller had my heart pounding, my blood boiling, and my thumb sore from hitting the page button. An exciting, electric, page-turning masterpiece, worth every second it takes to fly through it. From start to finish, this book has more twists and turns than a pretzel factory, and the ending will astound you. Well done Simon Wood!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    An Edgy, Suspenseful Must-Read Thriller

    There is a lot of discussion among writers and readers alike regarding the difference between a thriller and a mystery- for anyone who wants to see the distinction in action, Paying the Piper is one hundred percent the definition of a thriller. Although there is a definite mystery in the plot line, Simon Wood's story is part action, part psychological drama, and wholly edge-of-your-seat suspense-driven entertainment. This book is fast paced, with unexpected twists and turns and a surprise ending that gave me one of those aha! moments, realizing the clues were there, but planted so well I didn't put them together to figure out the ultimate truth of the "whodunnit" and "whydunnit." With everyday characters facing extraordinary circumstances- the kidnaping of a child- the writing rings true and realistic while maintaining the drama and suspense of a good thriller. This is the type of book you stay up late reading and then double check that the doors are locked before you go to sleep. Simon Wood is a master of suspense and an expert at the thriller, and, as usual, does not disappoint. If you like pure, unadulterated fear, Simon Wood is an author for you. Holli Castillo Author of Gumbo Justice

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I had so many “ah” moments with this book that I jus

    I had so many “ah” moments with this book that I just have to give it 5 stars! One night I woke up frantically wondering if my own children where in their beds, only to realize they were either sleeping in their college dorm room or living at their own house…. that’s how drawn in I got. This is a first-rate thriller that kept me on the edge of my seat all the way through till the end. It’s a parent’s worse nightmare to have your child abducted from you and the author does a great job playing with the readers emotions with all the various characters as he plays out the scenarios that surround the kidnapping. Who is paying the Piper and who is playing with the Piper? How far would you go to get your child back? Would you let your emotions get in the way? Well done…bravo, bravo!! Looking forward to reading more by this author!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2011

    Suspense at it's best!

    If you're looking to get pulled in and pumped up by a truly kick-ass suspense novel, then this book is for you! Simon Wood's Paying the Piper is a pure adrenaline rush that will have you hanging by the edge of your seat while clawing at your heartstrings. Mr. Wood tells the tale of a parent's worst nightmare, the kidnapping of a child and the unrelenting attempts to get them back! The excitement begins as soon as you open the book, the story moving along at a swift and thrilling pace. The storyline is fantastic and the characters are complex and diverse. I saw and felt this novel come to life as I'm sure many readers have and will! Right off the bat we are introduced to Scott Fleetwood, a crime reporter for the Independent, as he races his way across town to his children's elementary school. His wife had just called with horrible, life-altering news.their son had been kidnapped! Every parent hopes and prays for their children to be kept safe from such a tragedy, but Scott had almost expected it. Just eight years ago Scott had made a terrible mistake and put publicity and a good story above bringing down the bad guy. Scott believed the man on the phone was The Piper, a serial kidnapper contacting him personally to tell his story. This was huge, or it would've been had he really been speaking with The Piper. Scott soon realized he had been duped when the area's highly feared kidnapper became a cold-blooded killer, showing the F.B.I., the news and Scott that they had made a grave mistake in ignoring his demands. A young boy had been killed and Scott has been blamed by all for his death. Now, after eight years his children were being used as pawns in this sick and vengeful game that The Piper had waited long enough to play. Scott wanted his children back and was willing to get them no matter the cost. It was time to pay The Piper. I highly recommend reading this book to just about anyone! I was completely engaged in this story from the beginning and found myself emotionally vested in the main character's course to get his kids back. There were twists and turns I never saw coming, keeping the storyline fresh and invigorating! Loved this book! Hazel O'Shea Written for the Juniper Grove Blog

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This book starte out great. Scott Fleetwood is a reporter who ma

    This book starte out great. Scott Fleetwood is a reporter who made a mistake with a serial kidnapper known as the Piper eight years prior. That mistake caused the Piper to kill a boy he kidnapped. Everybody seemed to blame Scott for the boy's death. Now eight years later and the Piper has seemingly returned and kidnapped Scott's son. Where in the past, the Piper's demands were for cash and he simply released his victims, this time he also wants Scott to do things to pay for his past mistake.

    Scott needs to manuveur around the FBI led by Detective Shiels, who had worked on the previous Piper cases, to do things he will later regret to get his son back. This story definately had me hooked from the start and guessing who the Piper may be. And things seem to break pretty fast, holding the reader in place. The book started to lose it in the last third of the book. We have characters doing really stupid things like dumb people who end up getting killed in slasher films and other things that unfold that just had me shaking my head. This is the third thriller I have read by this author and most of his books do have good tension throughout. However, the last third of this book prevents me from giving it more than 3 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The tension starts on page 1 of Simon Wood┬┐s wonderful new novel

    The tension starts on page 1 of Simon Wood’s wonderful new novel. Scott Fleetwood, a crime reporter with the San Francisco Independent, has been told by his frantic wife that one of his twin sons has been kidnapped. When the next call he gets is from the kidnapper, Scott’s horror only increases: The Piper, as he calls himself, has a history with Scott. As we soon learn in the first of several flashback scenes, eight years back it appeared that a serial kidnapper had called Scott at his desk and began a series of communications with him. Spurred on by the thought of saving the latest victim as well as by the attendant fame surely ahead of him, Scott ultimately is horrified when he learns he has been ‘played’ by a phony, the whole thing a hoax, and the kidnapped boy is killed when the real kidnapper fails to receive his demanded ransom. Scott receives the blame for the boy’s death from the public, his wife, the FBI and, not least of all, himself. This time, the kidnapping of Scott’s son appears to be personal: The Piper also holds Scott to blame, for his lost ransom and forced ‘retirement.’ And Scott doesn’t yet know the full extent of what will be expected from him in order to gain his son’s freedom.

    As difficult as it would seem for the author to keep up the suspense generated from the first pages, he has accomplished this in skillful fashion, maintaining and amping up the tension as the tale unfolds. The complex characters and intricate plotting make this much more than just a page-turner – it’ll keep you right on the edge of your seat till the final page.

    Recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2012

    Paying the Piper is full of twists and surprises. It was hard t

    Paying the Piper is full of twists and surprises. It was hard to put the book down, right from the very first page. What a fabulous author. Can't wait to read more of his books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    Really good read

    Wonderful story. A real page turner. Great characters and twist and turns.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2012

    great book must read

    a page turner from the first page it will keep you on the edge of your seat

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2010

    Wood Writes!

    I really enjoyed this book! Great suspense, great twist! It kept me page turning, which is what you want in a good read. I had the pleasure of meeting Simon Wood (very funny and quite charming as only an Englishman can be I must say)at a book signing in San Diego, which my writing group attended. I'll admit I'd never heard of him...but after enjoying the event and hearing him tell how he got into writing novels and about his vast interesting background, I just had to experience his writing. I asked him what book was his fave of the bunch (cuz I was only buying one!) and he recommended Piper. Well...guess I have to go out and get all his books now, cause this man can WRITE! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2008

    Constantly accelerates until the finish line

    Can anyone truly imagine the horror of having their child kidnapped? Especially knowing that it is their fault? This novel starts at a break neck pace and constantly accelerates until the finish line. Wood¿s multi-faceted characters are engaging and the plot lines twist and turn and loop around again until the reader is not sure what else could possible happen¿. and then it does! Definitely a name to be kept on the TBR (to be read) list!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2007

    Enjoyed Paying The Piper

    I thought that the plot had a lot of suspense. It was a fast pace moving book. I did not want to put the book down. In the future I will read the book again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2008

    Enjoyable.

    I enjoy suspense and thriller mystery novels and Simon Wood hits a homerun with this one. It is fast paced and edgy without being brutal. I did guess his plot twist early on in the book, BUT, I didn't care. I wanted to see how his characters were going to work it out and 'get there in time.' Thanks Simon for this fun little read!! K.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    an action-packed thriller that never slows down

    Eight years ago the Piper kidnapped preadolescent Nicholas Rooker demanding two million dollars in ransom from his wealthy father, a successful bay area realtor. The serial abductor began calling San Francisco Independent reporter Scott Fleetwood leaving clues for the cops to track. However, by the time the police realized that the caller was a fake, the Piper changed is MO of retuning the kids unharmed once remittance occurred this time he killed Nicholas.------------- In the present, after a hiatus the Piper abducts one of Scott¿s children, Sammy. He feels Scott owes him more than just the money he lost he blames the reporter for his killing Nicholas, the first time he committed murder. Nicholas¿ father Charles Rooker puts up the ransom money hoping that this time the FBI, led by Agent Shiels, captures his son¿s killer. The cat and mouse game has just begun on the streets of San Francisco with the Piper warning Scott to play by his rules because of ACCIDENTS WAITING TO HAPPEN.----------------- Although an action-packed thriller that never slows down even when the cast climbs the hills, the story line belongs to the four male protagonists who make up a macabre square with each feeling strong degrees of guilt over what happened to Nicholas. Fascinatingly the Piper regrets having had to murder Nicholas although he holds Scott culpable Scott feels the same way and to a degree so does Charles and even Shiels. PAYING THE PIPER is a terrific thriller as the quartet knows that they all fall down on this one.------------------ Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1