Customer Reviews for

Peace Like a River

Average Rating 4
( 231 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(120)

4 Star

(48)

3 Star

(34)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 232 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2006

    amazing

    My AP English class had to read this book, and the entire class absolutely loved it. The characters are extremely realistic, likeable, and enjoyable. The book mixes an adventureous tale of a boy with the heart felt loss of a family. There is also great symbolism and humor. I highly reccomend it!!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2006

    Miracles

    When I think of miracles, I think of biblical stories and getting out of difficult situations against overwhelming odds. A small miracle to me is receiving an undeserved A on a test because the teacher decides to grade on a curve. Another is making it to the bus on time despite oversleeping. For the Land family in Peace Like A River the miracles are much greater. Miracles occur throughout the adventures in this novel by Leif Enger. From an early age, Reuben Land watches his father Jeremiah, perform miracles as if they were normal. The very first miracle took place when Reuben, who is born breathless, is healed by his father. ¿Reuben Land in the name of the living God I am telling you to breathe.¿ At the moment, Reuben fills his lungs with air and survives. Although he survives, Reuben is tormented by asthma. Still, Reuben is grateful to be breathing at all, and decides that his life is by his father¿s side. There are other miracles that Jeremiah Land performs. He walks on air, and even heals Reuben¿s school superintendent by touching his diseased face. Unfortunately, miracles are sometimes illusive when the Land family needs them the most. When Jeremiah breaks up a horrible fight in the locker room, the furious boys swear revenge on the Land family. The thugs break into the Land¿s house one night and Davy, Reuben¿s older brother, shoots them to death. At first the public believes that Davy is a hero dispensing old-fashioned justice with his shotgun. Eventually, the public decides that Davy was a brutal criminal who lures the hoodlums to his house with the intent to kill them. Davy is arrested and put in jail, but eventually breaks out and starts his life on the run. FBI agents arrive at the Land¿s house, and Jeremiah decides that it is time to take his children out of school and go wandering the country, following ¿signs¿ of God in search for Davy. While on their search, the Lands meet a friendly stranger, Roxanna, a widow and gas station owner. She has a personality that makes the Land family feel whole again. Occasionally the story feels like a folktale or a country western ballad mixed with complex grammar and expressions. There is also consistent talk of God and miracles. Fortunately, Reuben being no miracle worker himself, and making many mistakes along his journey, makes the story more believable. Peace Like A River is a story of family love, religious faith, and the huge amount of effort and trust required for both. Leif Enger¿s first novel is an amazing piece of writing and should be shared with anyone who wants to read about an amazing adventure.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2005

    Book Club Reading

    Entire Bookclub loved it. So heart warming and rich in the language and ideals. What we need to hear more about today. Well written, and always moving. Character development is continuous, and you feel like you are present in every situation.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2004

    My Favorite Book of All

    The story is wonderful, the characters full and earn your heart...but what I really love about this book is the language. My husband rarely reads, but I kept saying to him, 'Listen to this!' and I would read aloud a description or a conversation. The author has a true gift of words...he will create amazing images in your mind. This is a book I will read again and again!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    Great characters that you love and relate to. At some (really, o

    Great characters that you love and relate to. At some (really, only some) points the narrative was awkward and clunky.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2012

    Silena

    Im gonna b in my cabin tesult 9 if u want me

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Exquisitely beautiful, with palpable love reminiscent of To Kill A Mockingbird.

    This is a family with simple characters, beautifully drawn. There is intelligence and humor and simplicity and joy. These are honest people who are struggling, but have the profound gifts of love, and joy and words. They fiercely care about each other and will go to any lengths to prove it. There is elegance in the prose, there is laughter and you care so much about them. The sister is a hoot. The use of the Western style melodrama of her poetry is hilarious and yet foreboding. The voice of the 11 year old narator is realistic about who he is, what he can and cannot do, and tells the story in such an assessible manner. You feel the cold, smell the coffee, worry about his breathing. You love this family. You will love this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A Must Read

    This book made me remember what I loved about reading. Peace Like A River is an adventure like going down a river rapids. Swede reminds me of Scout from To Kill A Mockingbird. If you do nothing else this year, read Leif Enger's first novel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Peace Like A River

    I came across this book in class, no one was choosing it for an independent reading assignment so I choose it just for that reason - and still to this very day, I don't know why nobody was choosing it - this book was wonderful, thrilling - and I'll admitt, I am not a religious person AT ALL, but the religious touches in this book were alright, they were more magical, and it was so easy to love all the characters and there wasn't a chapter that wasn't filled my eagerness and thrill to see what would happen next - definatly a great read!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2007

    Very good fiction.

    This was probably the most creative book I've ever read. The characters and plot are wonderfully unique and original. The language was rich and very descriptive, which helps the reader to just get lost in the book. This was top notch fiction, rather than the typical melodramatic and non-original fiction that is out there. I often forgot that the book was fiction and not a memoir.My only complaints are that the setting is rather dreary (North Dakota in the dead of winter), and the intellect and maturity of 9 year old Swede is hard to believe.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2005

    Good Book

    I liked the book. It was sad when the father died, although I understood why. And to Enrique- a nine year old writing poetry isn't unreal. It's perfectly normal and an extraordinary gift.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2014

    Powerful story

    I never get tired of re-reading this book. A friend recommended it to me and I pick it up every couple of years and re-read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2014

    Still my favorite

    I have been looking for 10 years to find a book I enjoy more than this, and have not found one. Do yourself a huge favor and read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2013

    ???

    Do only grown ups post here? Are there any kids?
    ~ a 9 year old~

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2013

    Interesting and fun :D

    I like this book a lot. It really got me hooked on the first page when it talks about how Ruben was born, and from that point on I couldn't put the book down. Even though it was one of the books required for summer reading I would have read it on my own time. Great read! :D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2013

    Great! Could hardly put it down.

    This book was interesting and exciting from beginning to end. I would recommend it to others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2013

    So-so

    It wasn't great, but it wasn't terrible either

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2013

    One of my all time favorite books!

    I have been an avid reader for 30 years and Peace Like A River is among my top 10. It's about love, it's about perseverance and it's about to make me cry just thinking about it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2012

    Loved this book!

    Felt very connected with the characters. It had an emotional ending for me. Best i have read in a while.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2012

    Kaydence

    Gtg bye

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 232 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12