Customer Reviews for

Peace Like a River

Average Rating 4
( 228 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(118)

4 Star

(47)

3 Star

(34)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    Great characters that you love and relate to. At some (really, o

    Great characters that you love and relate to. At some (really, only some) points the narrative was awkward and clunky.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2007

    Very good fiction.

    This was probably the most creative book I've ever read. The characters and plot are wonderfully unique and original. The language was rich and very descriptive, which helps the reader to just get lost in the book. This was top notch fiction, rather than the typical melodramatic and non-original fiction that is out there. I often forgot that the book was fiction and not a memoir.My only complaints are that the setting is rather dreary (North Dakota in the dead of winter), and the intellect and maturity of 9 year old Swede is hard to believe.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2005

    Good Book

    I liked the book. It was sad when the father died, although I understood why. And to Enrique- a nine year old writing poetry isn't unreal. It's perfectly normal and an extraordinary gift.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2013

    Interesting and fun :D

    I like this book a lot. It really got me hooked on the first page when it talks about how Ruben was born, and from that point on I couldn't put the book down. Even though it was one of the books required for summer reading I would have read it on my own time. Great read! :D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    Unusual

    I wasn't sure I was going to like this book but the more I read, it was hard not to continue. I would give it a 4-star.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2012

    Can't believe this is a first book by the author!

    What a gift this book is! His ability to weave a tale that includes faith, doubt, history, fantasy, love, goodness, evil, innocence, jadedness and hope is simply amazing. This book is on the caliber of "To Kill a Mockingbird" or "Huckleberry Finn".

    The Land Family wrestles with figuring out how to react to one of their own making a grim decision that completely changes their close knit family dynamics. The dad, Jeremiah Land, is a deeply religious man with an obvious moral compass. His eldest son is quiet and confidant. Jeremiah's younger children, 11 yr old Reuben and 9 yr old Swede, idolize both of the elder males in the family and want to take care of both of them. Reuben eventually has to make a decision that will lead him to betray his loved ones, yet put him on a path that will strengthen his own faith and backbone.

    The only part I did not care for was the "sub-story", which is Swede's writings. Most reviewers thought her story of her western characters added to the story, but I didn't care for it. However, I wouldn't let it keep me from recommending it or even reading it again!

    This book would be an EXCELLENT book club pick!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2010

    Book Club

    This book was a great selection for our book club! We had a great discussion about the writing style and character.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2010

    At Peace

    From the time of Reuben Land's miraculous birth, he has witnessed his father's miracles. When his older brother, Davy, escapes from jail to flee a murder charge, Rube and his father and sister set out to find him before the law does.

    Beautifully written, the author envelops you in the story and makes you feel like your at grandpa's house listening to his reminiscent story of bravery, love, hopelessness, and finally peace.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2007

    I'm not so sure about the end...

    I really enjoyed this book. From the very first sentence, it was a very charming book. The characters were people you cared about, that you wanted to know. As the plot further developed there were questions poised that I'm not so sure were answered, and I think in a way the end was taking the easy way out of an otherwise beautiful tale. But, then again, I think maybe a second reading of the story could fix even those doubts about the ending. Other than that, I really loved this book. The themes of faith, love, and family were things that one longs to read about, but are not so often written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2005

    Reading A novel is like getting a peak inside the humanity of the Author

    I was unsure at first if this was a book I would enjoy. It slowly began to take hold of me about 1/3 of the way through that this was a warm and joyful book that touched on themes of life we all ponder at some point. Turning the last page, I felt a warmth settle inside me. Its always nice to read something that brings out feelings and thoughts buried from dealing with the day to day mundane

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2005

    Take time to enjoy this book

    While reading other reviews, it made me realize I really did like this book. Yes, it may move a little slowly, and yes, the miracles may seem unbelievable (but make of them what you will!). Why does there have to be such a predictable plot? One reviewer complained that the story never ended ... does life end? No - it's a story. It's a segment of life. Take your time, read it and enjoy it. I agree there were times that moved a little slowly, and then I reminded myself to slow down and enjoy it. I agree that the poetry Swede wrote was a bit much for an 8 year old, but so what. It is a story - one that was very enjoyable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2005

    Finding miracles...

    ...Leif Enger's story, told through the eyes of young Reuben Land, drew me in quickly. The theme is of miracles - no matter how small - not being insignificant. The Lands' search for Davy leads them to a feeling of completion they weren't necessarily looking for along the way. A meaningful book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2003

    speaks to the heart ..

    at the early stages of the novel, i did not think i would enjoy it. the prose was confusing at times, only because i was not use to this form of storytelling. however, what really compelled me was the ending, especially the last 2 chapters. i had to reread it numerous times to totally decipher what was happening. once understood, i could think of nothing more beautifully written. i thought jeremiah land should have lived, but proving the miracles behind his death and reuben's unharmed lungs was a very strong point as well. enger kept his literary ingenuity up till the end, making this novel so appealing in the long run. truly thought provoking and miraculous in its own way, this novel will stay in my heart for a long time to come.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2003

    Refreshing, Well-Written Ride!

    I had zero expectations of this book as I had not read any of the reviews, but just picked it up in an airport bookstore to have something to read. The wonderful honesty and simple presentation of the world and the miracles of his father as told by Ruben Land kept me hooked. All of the characters were wonderfully created and great to follow (in particular Swede!) As one who gets skeptical around to much brazen religiosity, I found Enger's approach enlightening! Also an asthma suffer, the presentation of this condition was almost too close to reality at times! Well done! looking forward to the next novel and to passing Peace Like a River onto my friends and family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2003

    A great story teller

    This is a great book to read just before bed while snuggling under the covers. It gave me a warm feeling and reminded me of hearing stories read aloud as a child. I met Leif Enger at a reading/signing and he is just as likable as this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2003

    A very lovely book

    This book was wonderful in a quiet gentle way. Well worth reading

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2003

    AWESOME BOOK

    I loved the author's writing style and descriptive phrasing. The characters are well-developed and the plot is believable and enjoyable. I will highly recommend this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2002

    Enger Knows North Dakota

    I have to respond to the reviewer who commented that Enger needed to get his biblical facts straight. Lazarus was actually dead and in the tomb for 4 days, giving off quite a stench I might add, when Jesus brought him back to life. You must have Lazarus confused with the story of Jairus' daughter. As for the rest of this book, the descriptions of North Dakota are very accurate and well researched, obviously by the author's having been there. As a native North Dakotan I was very drawn in by these details. If you like stories about the west, if you appreciate Teddy Roosevelt and his love for North Dakota, and you like a book that includes honorable characters, this is definitly for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2002

    Great book, for those who like adventure and family.

    To the person who reviewed this novel and said it is 'only the second book you haven't been able to finish', perhaps you should have read more clearly. You may have noticed then that the protagonist is not a female but a male. This book was wonderful and engaging. I highly recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2001

    This book is a 'God Send'!!!

    This book was thought provoking. I was never quite sure what would happen next. I loved Swede's character! Read this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3