BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Peace Like a River

Average Rating 4
( 231 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(120)

4 Star

(48)

3 Star

(34)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 232 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 12
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2012

    Guthix

    *Sighs*

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2012

    Skylar

    Im juuuust sayin

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2012

    David

    Im going. Walks away

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2012

    Beautiful

    One of the most incredible books I have read in a ling long time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    Unusual

    I wasn't sure I was going to like this book but the more I read, it was hard not to continue. I would give it a 4-star.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2012

    Can't believe this is a first book by the author!

    What a gift this book is! His ability to weave a tale that includes faith, doubt, history, fantasy, love, goodness, evil, innocence, jadedness and hope is simply amazing. This book is on the caliber of "To Kill a Mockingbird" or "Huckleberry Finn".

    The Land Family wrestles with figuring out how to react to one of their own making a grim decision that completely changes their close knit family dynamics. The dad, Jeremiah Land, is a deeply religious man with an obvious moral compass. His eldest son is quiet and confidant. Jeremiah's younger children, 11 yr old Reuben and 9 yr old Swede, idolize both of the elder males in the family and want to take care of both of them. Reuben eventually has to make a decision that will lead him to betray his loved ones, yet put him on a path that will strengthen his own faith and backbone.

    The only part I did not care for was the "sub-story", which is Swede's writings. Most reviewers thought her story of her western characters added to the story, but I didn't care for it. However, I wouldn't let it keep me from recommending it or even reading it again!

    This book would be an EXCELLENT book club pick!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2012

    Slow and Boring

    Oh Dear! Have you ever read a book that the words, spoken in a monotone voice, lulls you to sleep? That is my synopsis of "Peace Like a River". I did enjoy the spiritual side of this story but was slowly lulled to sleep every time I attempted to read it. I wouldn't suggest you pick up this novel unless you need a good long nap.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    five stars

    Loved this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2011

    A great ending

    A very good story! The characters are developed well, you really feel like you are a part of their family, of their lives. Then the ending!! What a great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2011

    Beautiful

    A wonderful story of a father raising his three children. Beautiful and lyrical use of language. A good readalike for To Kill a Mockingbird.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2011

    Loved this book!

    This is an excellent book! Itgives you hope that there is modern fiction out there worth reading. Ariveting story of a true father and his three children. The miracles that follow him and the love of family. It is a must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2011

    Delicious!

    A true gift to the world of the written word. Rich, sweet, smart, tender. Truley special and unique. I lingered over the last few pages as I could not face it coming to an end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2011

    Very enjoyable book

    In a time where finding a well written book devoid of profanity is a tall order, this book was a gem

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2011

    Wonderfully reading, beautiful and touching!

    The author takes us in to the life of an 11 year old boy. Watching the miracles that surround his faithful father, being pulled along in his younger sisters imagination and gift of writing and the heartbreak his older brother brings upon his family through a series of events. Touching and a wonderful read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2011

    Highly Recommend

    This book was brought to my attention by my comp 1 professor in college. After leaving, I had to go and buy the book myself, and went on to buy 2 copies so I could share with a friend! One of the best books I have ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Hard to describe...

    It took me a long time to get through this book mostly because I discovered more interesting books to read. I made myself sit down and finish this book and I ended up liking it. It is definitely slow, but the plot was pretty good. I just wish there was more action in it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2010

    The kind of book that makes you love to read

    I bought this for my Nook based on the "discover" tab BN put on it - glad I did. This is one of the better books I've read in the past few years. A mid-western family is sent on a cross country adventure to reclaim there eldest son after he shot and killed two intruders. Hard to pin-point the time but I would gauge it is set in the 1950's. The son is on the run from the law and the father, middle son and daughter are close behind. The family pushes through several mini-adventures but the true depth of the story lies in bonds that tie a family together - the purpose of family and sacrifice. While the plot may sound a bit thin, the book is very character driven. Each member of the family is stoic in their own right. Once I started this book I couldn't put it down - I looked forward to my morning commute in order to get through it. At just over 300 pages its a good book to get through in a few weeks. I would highly recommend it to anyone. Looking forward to Mr. Enger's next work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2010

    I would highly recommend this book!

    Leif Enger is a wordsmith. The language in this book is beautiful. It was poignant and uplifting. I was sad when it came to an end. I wanted to know more about how this story continues.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2010

    Awful Read!

    I had to read this book for school and it is SO slow and I hate it. So boring. I ended up getting really sick over reading this book. Thanks a lot Leif Enger, for nothing, but your pointless book!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2010

    Book Club

    This book was a great selection for our book club! We had a great discussion about the writing style and character.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 232 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 12