Customer Reviews for

Peace Like a River

Average Rating 4
( 232 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(121)

4 Star

(48)

3 Star

(34)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 26, 2012

    Slow and Boring

    Oh Dear! Have you ever read a book that the words, spoken in a monotone voice, lulls you to sleep? That is my synopsis of "Peace Like a River". I did enjoy the spiritual side of this story but was slowly lulled to sleep every time I attempted to read it. I wouldn't suggest you pick up this novel unless you need a good long nap.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2005

    BORING!!!!!

    i hated it, i forced my self to read it because i had to for my english class. the book is too unreal, a nine year writing poetry, and way too many miracles happen. also he goes off topic and talks about the most boring things that could come to mind. dont waste your money or time!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2005

    It's a Struggle

    I am determined to finish the book, although it is tedious reading. I love the descriptions of the sharp cold and snowy Northwest but there's not much of interest beyond that. The characters are flat, undeveloped, with the exception of Roxanne. Written in the voice of an eleven year old boy, this adventure novel may hold the interest of young readers.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2004

    What is the fuss about?

    I am perplexed about the hype surrounding this book. There is an engaging plot line, but the characters are drawn superficially, like the heroes in Swede's poems or the cowboys in the novels she loves. The writing style is difficult to handle, with the constant interruptions of chat between the narrator and the reader. Not something I would read again.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2004

    Boring book

    I think this book is boring. Instead of telling the story by Reuben, which is the main character, they should let Davy which is the older brother tell his story. Davy's story would be more interesting

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2001

    A Major Disappointment

    I had high expectations for this novel, given the preponderance of rave reviews. I was highly disappointed. For one, the story continually stretched the outer limits of my credulity regarding Jeremiah Land¿s ability to spontaneously create miracles. I personally believe in the power of prayer and miracles and in God¿s grace, but to ask the reader to believe that our Jeremiah, a religious man and devoted single father of 3 children, walks on thin air, heals an individual¿s scarred face and repairs a broken horse saddle with a stroke of his hand ¿ is asking too much. Another flaw: The narrative essentially regards Day (Jeremiah¿s son), as an outlaw guilty of the crime of murder for which he is accused ¿ the media, the people of his town, and law enforcement see him as an evildoer; yet the facts of Davvy¿s case, and the circumstances leading to Davvy¿s act of vengeance, belie this conclusion. We are led to believe that Davvy is provoked to commit an act of violence against 2 boys whose intentions against the Land family are clearly nefarious. We are told, after all, that these boys assault Dave¿s girlfriend, assault his sister, vandalize his family¿s house. Furthermore, they meet their violent demise only after illegally breaking and entering into the Land house wielding baseball bats and intent on committing yet another assault on the Land family. While one may question whether Davy was justified in carrying out his act of retribution, he certainly was not an evildoer. Other issues I had with the book: what was the point of Swede¿s long poem that recurs throughout the book? What was the point of the plodding details of Butch Cassidy¿s true history? Finally, the book¿s ending doesn¿t resolve the central plot, and it even further stretches the outer limits of credulity. Mr. Enger, the author, has some writing talent and is skilled with his turns of phrase, but he should have spent more time developing his story before committing it to his first novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2001

    A Major Dissapointment

    I had high expectations for this novel, given the preponderance of rave reviews. I was highly disappointed. For one, the story continually stretched the outer limits of my credulity regarding Jeremiah Land¿s ability to spontaneously create miracles. I personally believe in the power of prayer and miracles and in God¿s grace, but to ask the reader to believe that our Jeremiah, a religious man and devoted single father of 3 children, walks on thin air (literally), heals an individual¿s scarred face and repairs a broken horse saddle with a stroke of his hand ¿ is asking too much. Another flaw: The narrative essentially regards Davy (Jeremiah¿s son), as an outlaw guilty of the crime of murder for which he is accused ¿ the media, the people of his town, and law enforcement see him as an evildoer; yet the facts of Davy¿s case, and the circumstances leading to Davy¿s act of vengeance, belie this conclusion. The way the story unfolds, Davy is provoked to commit an act of violence against 2 boys whose intentions against the Land family are clearly nefarious. We are told, after all, that these boys assault Dave¿s girlfriend, assault his sister, vandalize his family¿s house. Furthermore, they meet their violent demise only after illegally breaking and entering into the Land house wielding baseball bats with the intent of committing yet another assault on the Land family. While one may question whether Davy was justified in carrying out his act of retribution, he certainly was not an evildoer. Other issues I had with the book: what was the point of Swede¿s long poem that recurs throughout the book? What was the point of the plodding details of Butch Cassidy¿s true history? Finally, the story never really resolves itself. Are we to believe that Davvy lives the remainder of his life on the lamb, always one step ahead of, and able to outsmart a nation-wide law enformcement network? Mr. Enger, the author, has some writing talent and is skilled with his turns of phrase, but he should have spent more time developing his story before committing it to his first novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2001

    Poetry

    I did enjoy this book but I felt duped. The author would have us believe that a 9 year old could write the poetry that is scattered throughout the story. It seems to me that Leif is the poet. Near the end, I skimmed pages since there was so much narrative and no dialogue. I would not read it again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1