Customer Reviews for

Peace Like a River

Average Rating 4
( 232 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(122)

4 Star

(48)

3 Star

(34)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 122 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2011

    A great ending

    A very good story! The characters are developed well, you really feel like you are a part of their family, of their lives. Then the ending!! What a great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2011

    Beautiful

    A wonderful story of a father raising his three children. Beautiful and lyrical use of language. A good readalike for To Kill a Mockingbird.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2011

    Loved this book!

    This is an excellent book! Itgives you hope that there is modern fiction out there worth reading. Ariveting story of a true father and his three children. The miracles that follow him and the love of family. It is a must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2011

    Delicious!

    A true gift to the world of the written word. Rich, sweet, smart, tender. Truley special and unique. I lingered over the last few pages as I could not face it coming to an end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2011

    Very enjoyable book

    In a time where finding a well written book devoid of profanity is a tall order, this book was a gem

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2011

    Wonderfully reading, beautiful and touching!

    The author takes us in to the life of an 11 year old boy. Watching the miracles that surround his faithful father, being pulled along in his younger sisters imagination and gift of writing and the heartbreak his older brother brings upon his family through a series of events. Touching and a wonderful read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2011

    Highly Recommend

    This book was brought to my attention by my comp 1 professor in college. After leaving, I had to go and buy the book myself, and went on to buy 2 copies so I could share with a friend! One of the best books I have ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2010

    The kind of book that makes you love to read

    I bought this for my Nook based on the "discover" tab BN put on it - glad I did. This is one of the better books I've read in the past few years. A mid-western family is sent on a cross country adventure to reclaim there eldest son after he shot and killed two intruders. Hard to pin-point the time but I would gauge it is set in the 1950's. The son is on the run from the law and the father, middle son and daughter are close behind. The family pushes through several mini-adventures but the true depth of the story lies in bonds that tie a family together - the purpose of family and sacrifice. While the plot may sound a bit thin, the book is very character driven. Each member of the family is stoic in their own right. Once I started this book I couldn't put it down - I looked forward to my morning commute in order to get through it. At just over 300 pages its a good book to get through in a few weeks. I would highly recommend it to anyone. Looking forward to Mr. Enger's next work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2010

    I would highly recommend this book!

    Leif Enger is a wordsmith. The language in this book is beautiful. It was poignant and uplifting. I was sad when it came to an end. I wanted to know more about how this story continues.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Best Book of 2009

    While it was published sooner, I did not stumble onto Leif Enger's masterpiece until 2009 and I awarded my best book prize for the year. A dramatic, poignant, touching, disturbing novel of love and loss that is easily transitions from funny to profound in the blink of an eye. The characters are so well drawn and the tension and emotion so real, I couldn't put this book down and recommend it near the top during any discussion about great fiction. A contemporary classic without parallel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    This book is totally awesome!

    This novel is a heart touching, exciting adventure that makes one want to keep on reading so you can immediately find out what is going to happen. This book is the kind of book you can read in a time of really wanting to be alone with a good book. This story is perfent for that! You would really enjoy this loving, tramatic, and advanturous.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    LOVE this book!

    Couldn't put it down and after 2 years, just thinking of it warms my heart and makes me wonder when his next will be published (But DON'T bother with his second novel So Young, Brave and Handsome - it'd a DUD)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Great narrative in a style reminiscent of Mark Twain

    Wonderful book. A modern day classic.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    I read this book for school...

    And at first, I didn't think I would like it that much. The cover made it look boring. I learned my lesson; DONT JUDGE A BOOK BY ITS COVER. Peace Like a River is beautiful. Enger's use of Metaphors and Allusions is phenominal. Our class project was to use a one of the many references in the book and research it. Lets just say there wasnt a shortage of topics. I would recommend this book to anyone who appreciates a well written story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Beautifully written, I couldn't put it down.

    Peace like a River was so beautifully written that the story line was second to the words and phrases. Enger masterfully creates magic with words.
    I would rate this book in my top 10, along with "Cry the Beloved Country". Both are beautifully written stories with elements of spirituality and tragedy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A story of the love of family and the ties that bind them, even in death, told from the eyes of an eleven year old boy.

    A wonderful, heartwarming tale, told from the eyes of Reuben, an eleven year old boy who suffers from asthma, who sees all the miracles his father performs, even though no ones can see them. They go on a journey to search for his older outlaw brother who has been charged with double murder. A very well-written, poetic book. Set in the early, 1950s of Minnessota. You really get involved with all the characters, and find yourself along for the ride. Hard to put down at the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2008

    Incredible

    I have rarely come across a book that was so well-written, so engrossing, and so moving. I urge you to read it, even if you are not interested in the topic. It will draw you in from the start and you will be changed after reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2008

    A reviewer

    I received this book as a graduation present, and after finishing it today I am a little unsure of what to say. It is a quiet book, I guess some would say slow, but that is exactly why it is the way it is. The quiet, thoughtful, poetic way of writing envoked in me exactly what the title says: peace like a river. -If anyone questions the themes, research the hymn 'It is well with my soul', where the title has it's origins-

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2007

    Extremely well written

    Not what I expected, but that's what good fiction is all about. If you enjoy well developed characters, rich narrative, and a distinctive, original story, give this one a read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2006

    Finally, a book that INSPIRES!

    I'm so thankful for Peace Like A River to have been suggested in my bookclub. Finally, a book that deals with Faith, God, and miracles. Leif Enger did such a wonderful job in his depictions of the after-life that I did not even sob (as I normally do when an endearing character dies) when Jeremiah Land passed away. I was truly convinced that he had gone to a better place. Thank God for Leif Enger!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 122 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 7