Customer Reviews for

Peace, Love, and Baby Ducks

Average Rating 4
( 180 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(110)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Reviewed by Andrea for TeensReadToo.com

Carly and Anna are two sisters who are very close in age, but very far apart in personality.

Carly is a sophomore in high school who is very skinny after spending six weeks of the summer working outdoors in Tennessee. She wants to be different than the "Barbies" (as ...
Carly and Anna are two sisters who are very close in age, but very far apart in personality.

Carly is a sophomore in high school who is very skinny after spending six weeks of the summer working outdoors in Tennessee. She wants to be different than the "Barbies" (as she calls them) at her preppy Catholic School. Anna is a freshman in high school who suddenly grew a large chest over the summer, has all the right curves, and is beautiful. All of the boys want her, but she is seen as a sex object.

PEACE, LOVE, & BABY DUCKS deals with their relationship and the trials of high school life.

I read this book in one sitting. I really could identify with parts of both Carly and Anna. I could totally understand how Carly wanted to be different and wanted to be accepted for that. But I could also see how Anna didn't want to be different and wanted Carly to accept HER for that.

This was a great sisterly story (it made me wish I had a sister). I found myself laughing out loud at a bunch of what the sisters said. There was also a great love story with Carly. Who should she choose - the cool, guitar-playing Cole, or the always there for her, Dutch Roger? And I loved all the ducky references.

Overall, a really cute teeny-bopper story!

posted by TeensReadToo on July 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Bad Sample

i downloaded a free sample and the sample ended before the book even started! dont waste your space ! >:(

posted by 5496773 on May 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Andrea for TeensReadToo.com

    Carly and Anna are two sisters who are very close in age, but very far apart in personality.

    Carly is a sophomore in high school who is very skinny after spending six weeks of the summer working outdoors in Tennessee. She wants to be different than the "Barbies" (as she calls them) at her preppy Catholic School. Anna is a freshman in high school who suddenly grew a large chest over the summer, has all the right curves, and is beautiful. All of the boys want her, but she is seen as a sex object.

    PEACE, LOVE, & BABY DUCKS deals with their relationship and the trials of high school life.

    I read this book in one sitting. I really could identify with parts of both Carly and Anna. I could totally understand how Carly wanted to be different and wanted to be accepted for that. But I could also see how Anna didn't want to be different and wanted Carly to accept HER for that.

    This was a great sisterly story (it made me wish I had a sister). I found myself laughing out loud at a bunch of what the sisters said. There was also a great love story with Carly. Who should she choose - the cool, guitar-playing Cole, or the always there for her, Dutch Roger? And I loved all the ducky references.

    Overall, a really cute teeny-bopper story!

    12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    This book was Amazing.!

    I love Peace, Love & Baby Ducks a lot and it was a fast read. It kind of inspired me to appreciate my sister a little bit more. I think the author's purpose for writing this story was to show how everyone is different yet we can get along. Like in the book Carly the older sister is so hippy and has a free spirit while her sister Anna is worrying about boys and her nails. They both do get along at times and depend on each other. In this book Peace, love and baby ducks, I learned that the bond between sisters should be eternal and that sisters everywhere are close. They started drifting apart in the book when Carly came home from working on a farm all summer. She came back to her so called "fake" sister. Anna in this book just wants to be more of an adult while Carly doesn't see her as one yet. They start school and Carly see's a guy of her dreams while she doesn't know that she is the girl of his. Girls get jealous but she doesn't know the first thing about guys. That's where Anna comes in. Anna then helps Carly get normal clothes and be flirty. If you do want to know the end of this book you will have to read it yourself I really did enjoy it and I think you will too. This book I think talked mostly about Carly getting along with people and finding new relationships.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    The best book

    Layren has made this a delightful read with a good plot and introduction this was my favorite book of the year.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Loved. This. Book!!

    I really loved Peace, Love, And Baby Ducks by Lauren Myracle because it was a touching story about two sisters who are about as different as can be, but they come together finally in a really special way. Carly is the older sister, extremely skinny from working out in the wilderness for six weeks in the summer, and feeling the desire to break out of the confines of their suburban Atlanta bubble. Her younger sister Anna is an incoming freshman and over the summer, grown a chest, which gives her attention but not in the right way. The two sisters fight alot, over typical sister issues, but when things get really serious, Anna still turns to her big sis Carly to help out.
    The dialog is real and I think there are so many great scenes its hard to know which ones to include. I have to say the "Buckhead Hillbillies" scenes are laugh out loud funny, and even though she ends up in some hot water with her father over the video, I thought what Carly did was great!! And I think that the tender way Carly cares for the baby ducks is so sweet, and I love the little duck references throughout the book.
    This book is perfect for sisters of any age, even for those of us who dont have a real sister, it gave me insight into the dynamics and bond that sisters have. I even hazard a guess that guys might even learn something from it as well. So guys, even though there are baby ducky-wucky's in the title....go for it!! Paddle harder:)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Peace Love and Baby Ducks

    Wonderful book for tween and teen girls, mostly. There is a very sad bit at the end though. I won't say what it is because I don't want to spoil it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    very interesting story

    i've read almost all the books from lauren myracle, and they were great. so when i heard she wrote a new book called peace, love, and baby ducks, i searched all the bookstores to find it. it started out really cool, and it got into the book right away. it wasn't as good as i thought it would be, i was expecting more since her other books [especially ttyl] were really good, but it is still a very good, very hilarious, very sisterly-love thing, book. :) i would recommend it if u r very close to your sister, have a sister in your life, or just want to read it for fun, like me. it really revolves a lot around Carly and Anna, the two sisters.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2014

    WARNING

    This is a great book but it has some swear words in it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2013

    Awesome not weird!!!

    I loved this book i thougt it was hilarious

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2013

    Great book

    It was a really good book. The only down side is that I think the ending was kind of rushed. It was worth the read if you are interested in young adult realistic fiction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2012

    The book Peace, Love and Baby Ducks was an interesting and hear


    The book Peace, Love and Baby Ducks was an interesting and heart-felt  story. The main idea of the story is that Carly (a high-schooler) is worried about her sister Anna’s (a freshman) good looks, and how she can’t look like her. She is trying to not care what people think, and stop people from thinking of Anna like that. Carly, the main character, can be like a typical high-schooler with a younger sister who looks better than them. some high-schoolers can go through what Carly is right now. The points of the book is to not care about what you look like, and to treat your sister with respect even if she isn’t the best sister in the world. This book would be the most helpful for high-schoolers like Anna and Carly, or people who are like Carly with younger sisters. Other people can read it, but I feel that it is a book for an older middle-schooler or young high-schooler, (for the points of the story, and the language that is used.) I liked this book a lot, and I think it is actually one of my favorites. The heart-felt events that happen to Carly and Anna at the end make the book so interesting. The climax, however, is when you will get the point. This book has some pointless chapters as well as the most exciting or heart-felt chapters you will ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2012

    Good!

    Its kinda inappropriate for younger ones but its still really interesting!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2012

    GO DUCKYWUCKY!

    I thought that the book had a certain flair to it. It really did describe the bond between sisters. Almost all of the time, no matter what kind of problem your stuck in your sister will be there for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2012

    Really interesting and humorous

    I defintely reccomend this book! It has its slow parts, but if you stick to reading it, it gets better again. There were a ,ot of events that made me laugh, cry, and want to scream at the characters. Definitely get this book, its worth the $9.00.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2011

    Love this book!!

    It's funny and sweet.Recomended for people 13 and up.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2011

    Amazing book!

    I read the first chapter about five times. It was the sample, and my mom didn't have enough money at the moment to buy the whole thing for me. From the first sentence you'll be interested. Trust me, you'll finish it in like a couple minutes. You will want to keep going! It's another one of lauren's great fiction stories!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2