Customer Reviews for

Peace, Love, and Baby Ducks

Average Rating 4
( 183 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(113)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

Reviewed by Andrea for TeensReadToo.com

Carly and Anna are two sisters who are very close in age, but very far apart in personality.

Carly is a sophomore in high school who is very skinny after spending six weeks of the summer working outdoors in Tennessee. She wants to be different than the "Barbies" (as ...
Carly and Anna are two sisters who are very close in age, but very far apart in personality.

Carly is a sophomore in high school who is very skinny after spending six weeks of the summer working outdoors in Tennessee. She wants to be different than the "Barbies" (as she calls them) at her preppy Catholic School. Anna is a freshman in high school who suddenly grew a large chest over the summer, has all the right curves, and is beautiful. All of the boys want her, but she is seen as a sex object.

PEACE, LOVE, & BABY DUCKS deals with their relationship and the trials of high school life.

I read this book in one sitting. I really could identify with parts of both Carly and Anna. I could totally understand how Carly wanted to be different and wanted to be accepted for that. But I could also see how Anna didn't want to be different and wanted Carly to accept HER for that.

This was a great sisterly story (it made me wish I had a sister). I found myself laughing out loud at a bunch of what the sisters said. There was also a great love story with Carly. Who should she choose - the cool, guitar-playing Cole, or the always there for her, Dutch Roger? And I loved all the ducky references.

Overall, a really cute teeny-bopper story!

posted by TeensReadToo on July 16, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Bad Sample

i downloaded a free sample and the sample ended before the book even started! dont waste your space ! >:(

posted by 5496773 on May 12, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 113 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted July 6, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved it!!

    I've just graduated high school and am going through a weird book phase where I seem to be reading nothing but books about teenagers. Of all the books I downloaded to bring to the beach, this one definitely had to be my favorite. The characters were vivid and believable, and the writing style made me believe that the story was being told by a teenaged girl. The plot explores both superficial and profound issues that high school girls face such as jealousy, boys, self-esteem, God, and what it means to be sisters. This is such a light and enjoyable read, yet it's laden with such a profound message. It is all around a great book and I can't wait to read more of what Lauren Myracle has to offer!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2009

    LOVED IT!!!=]

    This was an AMAZING book! I really enjoyed it! It was funny and had a great lesson to it!
    Anyone who loves Lauren or not....READ IT!!!
    It was awesome

    Have Peace Love and always carry a baby duck

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    Love it

    This book is a work of art! I absolutly love it! This book has a little something for all readers. It also has what most expearience. Fights with sisters. This book really takes you through the ups and downs of sisterly bond. Lauren is my hero and a role modle to all tweens and teens. No matter who you are buy this book! You WON'T regret it! Lauren i love you so much and you are my hero keep writing! This is one if my favorite peices from you write book 2!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2011

    AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!

    I LOVED this book sooooooo much!!!!!!!!!!! i wish it didn't stop! it is one of my favorite books and i recommed that you read it!!!!!!!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Peace love and baby ducks

    So so so so so good it was a really good book about being sisters and it helps you appreciate you sisters!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    this book is

    very very awsome funny and sweet 5 stars

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    5 stars!

    This book was the most addicting thing ever! I loved the facr,t it was in 3 parts and it was totally addicting! 5 stars!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2011

    Ftr

    Such a good book luv u lauren

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2011

    IT'S DA BOM!!!!!!

    Carly is a 15 year old who is a sophmore in HS. when she returns from a summer camp al of a sudden her lil sis Anna has turned "hot". in this book she endures sister fights and giant crushes all while accepting that her il sis is growing up even though she doesnt want her to.Its an AMAZING book witha capital A. I highly recomend it. PADDLE HARDER LIL DUCKY-WUCKY!!!!!!!!(: <3

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Not what I'd Expected

    This book isn't what I had expected. The only reason I got it was because it had a peace sign on the front. :) But when I got to the end, I thought it was a fun book, and a fast read!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2010

    Absorbing And Fun

    This book was awesome! It was well-written and very interesting with the twists and turns of plot. It was also very sweet because it showed sisterly love and arguments, which made me happy to have a sister and be a sister. I could not put this book down whatsoever! It's about a wealthy teenager named Carly who hates to stick to the status quo. Her little sister Anna, however, is more than enabled to fit in, and Carly is often left wondering how to take care of Anna and herself. On top of all this, Carly is in love with a "dreamy" boy named Cole, but will that work out?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Peace, Love & Baby Ducks...

    Peace, Love, & Baby Ducks was a great book with lot's of thrilling angst. It's perfect for teens and young adults. The plot has lot's of twists and turns, but that's what made it an amazing book. In the recommended I put most of lauren myracle's books. She writes around the same topics and puts nice spins on them and makes the reader feel like they are right with the characters like they are family! I personally enjoy her writing for it makes me connect to my life and how I can change things, or don't do things like for example, I wouldn't be mean or a bully because things bad happen in the end. I hope everyone enjoys her books and the rest of this series. (:

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Such a Wonderful Story, You Won't Put This One Down - I Guarantee It!

    Lauren Myracle did a wonderful job writing this novel. The cover caught my eye at the local library, so I decided to give it a try, not expecting anything too tremendous. Yet, when I began reading, I became so attached to this, I was very upset when it was over. Towards the end, the biggest surprise occurrs, and let me tell you - you WILL NOT see it coming!!! Carly tells her story through her jealous green eyes of her now-popular, attention-grabbing sister whom she used to be close to. Easy rainy-day read. Enjoyed it thouroghly.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I laughed, I cried.

    Peace, Love, and Baby Ducks is my new favorite book. I can relate to Carly so well- friends, boys, just typical life problems, everything. The book is very addicting and once you start it's hard to stop. It was very funny throughout, although towards the end, a boy (finally) confronts Carly with his feelings for her and I started to cry. Later, Carly confronts her father and I started to bawl. The ending was just adorable and made me wish my school had a pool. I wouldn't recommend this for younger kids because it IS about high school, so there are some more mature themes going on. But it was an amazing book and I'd recommend it to anyone and everyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Peace, Love, and Baby Ducks!! Yay!

    Peace, Love, and Baby Ducks is an amazing book about two sisters who are in High School at the same time. They have to get threw not just their High School problems but the problems sisters go threw. There are boy problems (there always will be), family problems, and friend problems. If you don't read this book... then you don't know what you are missing out on! Oh ya... there are crazy teacher problems!!!! To add to everything!!! Read it!!! It is soooo good that they should make a movie!!!! Hint Hint Movie people!! lol!

    L8r G8r :D

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I love Baby Ducks!!

    This book was great. It was little hard to get into but i eventually got into it. Carly is such an awesome character and i really liked how she cared for her sister so much. It would be awesome if a sequel came out for this book. I would definetly read it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2009

    Peace,Love, and Baby Ducks

    This book provides a fun and quirky read and proves that even very different sisters can keep each other afloat. The summary does indeed,sum it up pretty good. I give it two thumbs up and It's my favorite book now. I totally recomend this and all of the rest of Myracle's books. All together now "Praise Lauren!" Excellent writing and message. Yay!! I also would love a sequel so keep writing!
    P.S. peacelovebabyducks.ning.com is a great fan website with tons to do!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Myracle's BEST book yet!

    Myracle's characters in "Peace, Love and Baby Ducks" are so real, you feel like you've known them your whole life. Reading "Peace..." brought back vivid memories of the pain and the joy and friendships of high school. What fun! I just loved loosing myself in this book. It's a MUST READ! (especially if you have a sister).

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    AMAZING!

    Lauren Myrical really outdid herself this time. This book could actually be a reality when it comes to sisterly love, life long friendships, and boy drama. She uses descriptive writing to get you entreeged into this wonderful world of teenage drama. A page turner that you will hate to put down because you are amazed. With all journeys that Anna and Carly experience you always want to know what happens next.A book great for all ages, both boys and girls. Buy Peace Love and Baby Ducks...you wont regret it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2009

    This is a winner

    Myracle's writing is so fresh and unpredictable, you can't go wrong with any book of hers you pick up, but this story about sisters who share and compete, love and deprecate, is truly a winner. Of course the story is not just about sisters Carly and Anna, but the other characters play between their scenes to tell us more about who the sisters are, and, primarily, to help Carly along the path to better understanding herself and her relationship with Anna. Peace is a heart-warming read for any parent of teens and for any teen girl with a sister she doesn't quite understand. And to all you fellows, read Peace for the insight.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 113 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6