Customer Reviews for

Peace from Broken Pieces: How to Get through What You're Going Through

Average Rating 4
( 250 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(124)

4 Star

(50)

3 Star

(38)

2 Star

(21)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

22 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

Self-Discovery in Progress

REVIEW



Date: 12-16-10
Title: Peace from Broken Pieces
Author: Iyanla Vanzant
ISBN 10: 1401928226
ISBN 13: 978-1401928223
Pages: 280
Publisher: Smiley Books
Cover: Kindle Edition - E-book
Reviewer: Yolanda M, Johnson-Bryant- Literary Wonde...
REVIEW



Date: 12-16-10
Title: Peace from Broken Pieces
Author: Iyanla Vanzant
ISBN 10: 1401928226
ISBN 13: 978-1401928223
Pages: 280
Publisher: Smiley Books
Cover: Kindle Edition - E-book
Reviewer: Yolanda M, Johnson-Bryant- Literary Wonders! (literarywonders dot com)
Rating: 4 Stars


It has been a while since we've heard from best-selling author Iyanla Vanzant. In her recent release, Peace from Broken Pieces, Ms. Vanzant gets real and personal. Piece from Broken Pieces is Iyanla Vanzant's most intimate book that I have read, to date.
In Piece from Broken Pieces, the author takes her readers on a decade journey of her life, from Oprah to the death of her dear daughter Gemmia. During this time, Ms. Vanzant reveals many heart aches, obstacle and triumphs as she, an adult woman, trying to find herself and rid herself of her childhood haunts.
I was immediately drawn into the book as I always am. Each book that I've read from the author has helped me to get through certain bad periods of my life and encouraged me to continue to fight.
In Peace from Broken Pieces, the reader is able to understand in simple terms the generational curses that men and women continue to fuel and pass on to their children and grandchildren, thus making the cycle difficult to dissolve.
This book will cause many of its readers to re-evaluate the choices they make in their lives, especially those they choose for life mates.
I did, at some point, find myself comparing Ms. Vanzant to Minister Juanita Bynum's struggle with herself and God to receive the lesson that the building of her empire was not for her glory or self-gratification but for the building of the kingdom and to help others. I was eventually pleased with Gemmia's message to her mother that the physical does not matter.
I was deeply saddened by the humility that this author had to endure between Oprah and The Iyanla Show as well as the guilt the she endured when her daughter Gemmia was diagnosed with cancer.
I know without a doubt that my heart would be broken if something were to happen to one of my children but I cannot even begin to pretend to know what Ms. Vanzant went through during her daughter's illness.
I feel that although Ms. Vanzant may have experienced a sense of relief once her daughter transitioned and no longer had to suffer, with the realizations and "aha moments" that Ms. Iyanla experienced, coming a long way in her journey, she does have a long road ahead of her to receive complete healing and self-discovery.
I look forward to the next title from this author, as I feel all the work I have read by her has some kind of life lesson for everyone, including men. This is not just a book for women. Perhaps if men were to read this book, they, too, would realiz some of the generational curses that they carry forth and/or understand the curses that women carry forth, causing them to grow into broken vessels as they search for love, self and self-love.
As people, we tend to put those of a higher stature, income or public figure on pedestals or hold them to a higher standard, but Ms. Vanzant shows and proves that they too, are human. They are people who are just like you and I, with problems and insecurities just like you and I.
Although, in my opinion, Ms. Vanzant's best work to date is "In The Meantime", Peace from Broken Pieces is just as powerful.

posted by Literary_Wonders on December 16, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

NOT FOR THE TENDER HEARTED

I thought this book was a total waste of money. I bought it because a friend recommended it and referenced herself to it in our discussions.

I knew it was about breaking old patterns, in general.

I was disappointed with the reading of this book. It struck me ...
I thought this book was a total waste of money. I bought it because a friend recommended it and referenced herself to it in our discussions.

I knew it was about breaking old patterns, in general.

I was disappointed with the reading of this book. It struck me as tragic, for sure, she as an egotistical control freak, and quite downright crazy near the end.

But most of all, it's not a book to read if your lonely, and hurting, and feeling your brokeness and looking for healing. There are lots of kinder and gentler things you can read or do for yourself, with the $25. you will spend on this book. Go there instead.

posted by spinningroundandround on June 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 252 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 13
  • Posted April 4, 2011

    Great book!

    This book is raw and gives a very intimate look inside Iyanla's personal thoughts and struggles. Her story begins with the largest broken piece in her life-the death of her daughter. While Iyanla does write about the relationship between her and Oprah and the rise and fall of her career, she also spends a great deal sharing about her childhood and how it shaped her life. Her story provides personal reflection and understanding, while also uncovering the pathology to her behaviors and thoughts.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2011

    Extremely Good Read

    This is details Iyanla Vanzant's emotional journey through her life and the path to her awakening and resolution of emotional, physical, and mental scars that have adversely affected her throughout her life. Her story is a painfully familiar one for those of us who have lived through unwarranted abuse that continues on through a visicius cycle into adulthood. The death of her daughter and the issues surrounding it are heartbreaking and,yet, also joyously affirming with the realization that this is a new beginning for the author. The subtitle of the book, "How to Get Through What You're Going Through", is a little misleading. This is not a book that offers clear and methodical steps through the healing process for those looking for that kind of literature. Rather, it is the telling of one woman's journey to her whole self through a series of approaches/revelations that when read might offer up areas for further exploration using other supplementary materials. The subtitle: "The Journey to Rebirth" might have have been more appropriate. Regardless of this subtitle issue, though, the book is still a very good read and I highly recommend it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2011

    Excellent

    I finished this book within a few days but continued to revisit highlights and bookmarks. This is honest and bare truths that only someone who has learned from their mistakes would reveal. Iyanla has moved on. This is very powerful.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    This book is changing my life!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2013

    The best book every

    This book help me to under stand life. Thank you Iyanla Vanzant.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    This was a great read. I admire her strength and her desire to

    This was a great read. I admire her strength and her desire to share her experiences for the benefit of others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2013

    Excellent book

    I was sorry it ended; I wanted to read more! A fountain of knowledge and a perfect complement to Iyanla's television shows.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2013

    Nard

    Good book and easy read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2012

    Just Pieces

    I'm sad to say this, and I almost started to not write a review because I didn't want to be negative or keep someone else from possibly finding their blessing. Then I remembered, I wished someone had wrote this review. This book was such a downer for me.

    I feel like I paid for someone to emotionally dump on me. There are some good quotes, not so much lessons in this book. It's actually depressing. Unlike her other books, which gravitate back and forth between what happened, what should have happened and what we should do now to live better lives this book is anchored in the past. This one has too much graphic detail of the abuse and not a balanced amount of healing. It almost reads like she is drawing out tragedies as fillers, and then there is like a sentence with some positive affirmation. I think this is the worst book I've ever read by Vanzant. I feel horrible saying it, but its true.


    Light

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2012

    Love it!!!

    As I read this book I felt like she had written parts of my life.. She made me feel like I new things would get better!! Best book by ever!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2012

    I have heard Iyanla Vanzant on many radio interviews and of cour

    I have heard Iyanla Vanzant on many radio interviews and of course on Oprah, but have never read any ot her book until now. "Peace from broken pieces". The excerpt captured my attention but after reading a couple of chapter I truly found this book to more about Iyanla journey and how she has coped. However, I wished there were more details in how she overcame her problems and projected that to her audience. In addition, some of the ancient religion undertones in her book were somewhat disturbing. Overall, the book is well written from personal aspect.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2012

    Awesome!

    Awesome book on how with God you can get through anything as long as you are open and willing to allow your issues to come up and deal with them!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    ?/?

    "A double minded man (or woman) is unstable in all his (her) ways." King Solomon

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    Positive read

    Uplifting one that makes u think

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2012

    Good read

    Though very personal and revealing, I found this read to be most helpful as Iyanla always is. How she jumped back out of her distress is amazing to me and I do feel inspired!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Awesome!

    I couldn't put it down! I laughed, almost cried on several occasions. Mainly it caused me to reflect on my life and my relationships with my grown daughter, my man and family. Thank you Iyanla for sharing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Again

    So far another typical black screwed up black family story with a better out come. Only on chapter5 though.

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2011

    Highly Recommend

    What a great book. I so appreciate Iyanla's insight into family pathology. Trying out to my inroads on my own family pathology.

    Thank you for your encouragement and guidance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2011

    worth reading

    I have not gotten very far into the book but it is very much worth the read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2011

    Worth the money!

    Excellent read! Very interesting from the start to finish. Sharon - Newport News

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 252 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 13