Customer Reviews for

Peak

Average Rating 4.5
( 329 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(224)

4 Star

(56)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

Amazing Book

Peak by Ronald Smith is an action filled realistic fiction novel. I liked this book because it made me want to keep reading it from beginning to end because of all the adventure going on in the book at once.This story takes place in New York City and Asia. The major con...
Peak by Ronald Smith is an action filled realistic fiction novel. I liked this book because it made me want to keep reading it from beginning to end because of all the adventure going on in the book at once.This story takes place in New York City and Asia. The major conflict in this book is that after being arrested for climbing a skyscraper, Peak has to live with his father in Thailand and is planning on climbing Mount Everest while he is there. Peak thinks he is going to bond with his father but his father actually wants Peak to be the youngest person to reach the peak of Everest for the fame and fortune. Another kid though is trying to also be the youngest to climb Everest. Him and Peak battle to get to the top and learn a lesson from it. The story is told by Peak in the first person. I liked how the author wrote this book because he didn't make things complicated to understand and it was simple to read. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes a thrilling story. Anyone who reads this book will get an adventure out of it.

posted by 2243188 on November 20, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

I am probably the only one who dosen't like this book

It's not just about mountain climbing. don't get me wrong it was an alright book, but i guess it didn't really get to me. it's relatable to a certain extent. to me the book is very interest oriented. overal it's an okay novel to read.

posted by 3480596 on May 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 333 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 17
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2009

    Amazing Book

    Peak by Ronald Smith is an action filled realistic fiction novel. I liked this book because it made me want to keep reading it from beginning to end because of all the adventure going on in the book at once.This story takes place in New York City and Asia. The major conflict in this book is that after being arrested for climbing a skyscraper, Peak has to live with his father in Thailand and is planning on climbing Mount Everest while he is there. Peak thinks he is going to bond with his father but his father actually wants Peak to be the youngest person to reach the peak of Everest for the fame and fortune. Another kid though is trying to also be the youngest to climb Everest. Him and Peak battle to get to the top and learn a lesson from it. The story is told by Peak in the first person. I liked how the author wrote this book because he didn't make things complicated to understand and it was simple to read. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes a thrilling story. Anyone who reads this book will get an adventure out of it.

    18 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2011

    Great book!

    My daughter was assigned this book in class (7th grade). It seemed interesting, so I gave it a shot. I couldn't put it down. It has adventure, wit and heart. I highly suggest it to any young teen...Moms and Dads should read it as well.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2007

    peak is an outstanding book

    This is an outstanding book. I love the way the author starts out with him climbing the side of a skyscraper.If you are the kind of person that likes an exciteing book that you will hav a hard time putting down, this is the book for you. this book is about an almost 15 year old bok that love climbing things. when he get caught climbing a skyscraper he has 2 choices,1 spend some time in prison and 2 go live with his father. he dosnt want to go to prison so he goes to live with his father. he espects to go to his house but his father has something different in mind for him. he takes Peak to mount everest. This book exceptally showed how much it takes to get to the top of everest.along the way to the top of everest peak finds another 14 year old on his way to the top. only 1 problem.....he is 1 week younger then him. like i said this book is outstanding if you get a chance to read it I would, it is a preaty short book that i read in 2 days. sorry Mrs.Britt it was 3 paragraphs but it got squished

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2011

    Highly Recommened

    When 14 year old Peak Marcello is presented with the opportunity to climb Mt. Everest with his long-lost father, he doesn't even hesitate to say no. You could say Peak got his passion for climbing from his father, who has been gone for more than 12 years of Peak's life, or you could say he picked it up on his own. Either way, if Peak reaches the top of Mt. Everest before his 15th birthday, he will be the youngest person ever to stand 29,000 feet. It's defiantly a step up from illegally climbing skyscrapers to get his climbing thrills. On his journey to the summit of Mt. Everest Peak faces many challenges, such as, altitude sickness, numbing temperatures, and even himself. Peak is an easy read with lots of plot twists that keep the reader entertained from page one until the end. Great Book!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    AMAZING

    My friend read it and thought it was so cool and interesting.
    It your looking 4 a great book with a winding path to the end ... it right here...PEAK.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    Good

    Great book but bad ending

    2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    AMAZING

    Loved it. One of my faves

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2011

    A good book

    This is a very good book it is about a boy named Peak who has to take risks and gets the chance to climb Mt. Everest he experiences on the way friendships and hardships he must overcome so get this book and read it !!!!

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2011

    One of the best

    This is a book that any teenager would enjoy. I have read it about 12 times. No joke. I have read this book more than anybook i have ever read. I wish they coukd makeba sequek or something. A movie about this would be great. Read it!

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    I am probably the only one who dosen't like this book

    It's not just about mountain climbing. don't get me wrong it was an alright book, but i guess it didn't really get to me. it's relatable to a certain extent. to me the book is very interest oriented. overal it's an okay novel to read.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    dayo

    This is my favorite book. it is a story that you cant put down

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2013

    Great!

    Love this book. It was great thefirst time, but even better the second. Highly reccomended for adventorous liking people.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2013

    ¿A thrilling multifaceted adventure story¿ A winner at every lev

    “A thrilling multifaceted adventure story… A winner at every level.”—Booklist. In this exciting novel, Roland Smith writes the fictional journal of a young 14 year old climber named Peak Marcello who is arrested for climbing tall buildings, and vandalizing property in the streets of New York City. His arrest is made public when another young man is found dead after climbing a tall building, just like Peak. In order to prevent further attention from the media, a judge decides to send Peak out of the country with his biological father, in Chiang Mai, Thailand. After a long flight full of mixed emotions and excitement, his father offers Peak the most exhilarating challenge of his life; a chance to be the youngest person to climb Mount Everest. Though Peak is excited to break a world record and to face this exciting endeavor, he knows that his father has other motives for inviting him to scale Mount Everest. He is put through tough training in order to prepare him for the dangerous summit. Along the way, he meets new people and makes new friends, such as Sun-jo, a Nepalese boy who is also climbing the majestic mountain. As Peak Marcello climbs higher and higher he not only encounters the lack of oxygen as he rises higher and higher, yet he meets new obstacles that help him mature as a person and discovers who he really is. “Peak” by Roland Smith is a very detailed novel that leaves the reader with a hunger to keep reading. This novel is very elicit and will keep the reader’s attention from start to finish as it lures you into a world high above the ground amongst the sky.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2012

    Absolutly stellar

    This action packed book will keep you on the edge of your set until the last page . Read it!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    Over All Very Good Book

    I thought this book was extreamly intresting, i was sucked in by the writers fantastic writing. However i would not suggest to a younger reader some subjects in this book may be bad a example

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Must read!

    I just finished this book and it was amazing!!! It's not too wordy and it's easy to understand. It's a really good adventure story and story of survival, I suggest you read it even if you're in the fence if reading it. You won't be sorry!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2011

    Great book! You have to read this!!

    Peak
    By Roland Smith
    Number of Stars: 5
    Peak, the main character, loves to climb. He got that from his parents who have been climbing since before he was born. However, a horrible climbing accident stopped his mother from climbing and separated his parents. His dad is a mountain guide on Mt. Everest with his own successful business, so he¿s never around. Peak doesn¿t get to climb much living in New York, but a dangerous climbing stunt that almost lands him in jail, sends him away to live with his father in Tibet.
    Little to Peak¿s, or his mother¿s, knowledge, Peak was about to experience the climb of a lifetime. His dad set him up to be the youngest climber to get to the top of Mt. Everest. Peak is happy that his dad is finally taking part in his life, but is it just so he can get the youngest climber to the top of Everest and get the publicity? As the story goes along, Peak faces many different hardships, working hard to get to the top. However, a turn in events and a drastic change makes you wonder if he¿ll get the chance to summit at all?
    This story is jam-packed with dangerous and suspenseful stunts that leave you wanting more. I think teens will like the book Peak because it has drama and action that a lot of other books for teens don¿t have. The main character is a teenager himself, so we¿ll be able to relate to him and some of the things he¿s feeling, like being away from his mom, step dad, and two little half-sisters.
    Overall, Peak is a good book to read because it has just the right amount of drama, humor, and suspense to make a great book. Follow Peak¿s adventure up the tallest mountain in the world, as he learns valuable life lessons and makes long term friends.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2011

    Must Read!

    This was an amazing book! I read it for school and afterwards we had a Skype chat with Roland Smith himself. He really put the book into perspective for us. it's a great book everyone should read!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2014

    Perfect

    This is a great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2014

    Running wolf

    Followed wisiling to his wolf pup who had been quiet

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 333 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 17