Customer Reviews for

Peak

Average Rating 4.5
( 336 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(230)

4 Star

(57)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

19 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

Amazing Book

Peak by Ronald Smith is an action filled realistic fiction novel. I liked this book because it made me want to keep reading it from beginning to end because of all the adventure going on in the book at once.This story takes place in New York City and Asia. The major con...
Peak by Ronald Smith is an action filled realistic fiction novel. I liked this book because it made me want to keep reading it from beginning to end because of all the adventure going on in the book at once.This story takes place in New York City and Asia. The major conflict in this book is that after being arrested for climbing a skyscraper, Peak has to live with his father in Thailand and is planning on climbing Mount Everest while he is there. Peak thinks he is going to bond with his father but his father actually wants Peak to be the youngest person to reach the peak of Everest for the fame and fortune. Another kid though is trying to also be the youngest to climb Everest. Him and Peak battle to get to the top and learn a lesson from it. The story is told by Peak in the first person. I liked how the author wrote this book because he didn't make things complicated to understand and it was simple to read. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes a thrilling story. Anyone who reads this book will get an adventure out of it.

posted by 2243188 on November 20, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

I am probably the only one who dosen't like this book

It's not just about mountain climbing. don't get me wrong it was an alright book, but i guess it didn't really get to me. it's relatable to a certain extent. to me the book is very interest oriented. overal it's an okay novel to read.

posted by 3480596 on May 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 230 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 12
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2014

    COOL

    I DO NOT KNOW HOW TO MAKE LOWER CASE

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2014

    As a middle school teacher, this is quite simply the most engagi

    As a middle school teacher, this is quite simply the most engaging "guys book" I have ever read for this age group.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2014

    Review

    Amazing book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2014

    Awesomly awesome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2013

    highly recommended you must check it out.

    It was a great book with a lot of twists and turns.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2013

    AWESOME BOOK

    We are currently reading this book aloud at school during 7th p

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2013

    Pp PEAK

    This book is wicked

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2013

    Boss

    Love the book my friend can never stop talking about it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    This is awsome

    I have never read a book as interesting as this one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2013

    A story that will keep you as close as a climber and their ropes

    A story that will keep you as close as a climber and their ropes. This book provides a first person view of what a young climber goes through as he climbs the highest peak in the world. It is a very wonderful story line and it is always changing to keep the story interesting.


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2013

    perfectly paced adventure book thats a great read for ages over

    perfectly paced adventure book thats a great read for ages over 12

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2013

    Peak Marcello is given two choices after illegally climbing a sk

    Peak Marcello is given two choices after illegally climbing a skyscraper in New York City: to go to a juvenile detention center or to move to the other side of the world with his father in Thailand. After making the decision to move with his father, he soon finds out that he will be climbing Mount Everest to help save his father’s failing business. As Peak embarks on his journey, striving to be the youngest to reach the summit of the largest mountain on the earth, he faces many challenges with new friends and realizes what is most important in life.
    Peak’s story has much more to it than the struggle of extreme climbers fighting to the summit of Mount Everest. It highlights the complexity of a nonexistent father/son relationship and showcases all of the obstacles that they encountered during this feat. Roland Smith does a great job explaining and expressing how the characters were actually feeling. For example, in one scene, Peak has almost reached his breaking point and he is feeling exhausted and very sore. Instead of just saying Peak was hurt and tired, he said, “My head throbbed. My arms and legs ached. And I had four fingernails split all the way down the middle. It felt like some had set them on fire." Roland Smith took this book to the next level with the amount of details.
    Peak is all about the journey of a boy becoming a man and his relationship with his father. It is a thrilling and suspenseful novel that leaves you on edge at all times. It is exciting and stimulating for everyone to read, however, it is more geared towards teenage thrill seekers. With an unpredictable twist ending filled with action, it will leave your mind wondering about why the only thing you’ll find on the summit of Mount Everest is a divine view, and why the things that really matter lie far below.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2013

    To so bad

    Your a retard this book was great

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2013

    Great Book!!!

    I had to read this book for school, and do a project on it. Peak is a very good book. At first I didn't want to read it but once I started I couldn't put I down! I recommend this book if your looking for something good to read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2013

    Peak

    Very well writen. I was hooked the whoole time!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2013

    Idk

    Peak is a very good book, it's about a boy who climbs and has this dream to one day climb mount Everest. His father is a famous climber and is making a trip to concour everest. Thats when peak falls into play because he is sent to live his father beacause he attempted to climb a new york sky scraper. After that peak,his father, and a bunch of ther people take the journey up everest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2013

    Inspr Inspiring

    An amazing book with an important lesson

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2013

    School

    I have to read this for school and so far it is really good!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2013

    Icekit

    A white tom kit slwly padded in "can i join" he squecked

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2013

    Jayeyes

    Evedently not...she growled...oh well...she jumped up on the high rock...LET ALL CATS OLD ENOUGH TO CATCH THEIR OWN PREY GATHER BENEATH THE HIGH ROCK FOR CLAN MEETING!!! Waits as the cats gather...as you know this clan is pretty much ddeeaadd...but we can rebuild! As soon as you see this post go advertise! Im locked out of all the warrior books thanks to banning so im counting on you! Next post i will have my nine lives and star name so please please pppllleeeaaassseee trust i can bring this clan to glory!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 230 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 12