Customer Reviews for

Peaks and Valleys: Making Good and Bad Times Work for You--at Work and in Life

Average Rating 4
( 34 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 16, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Perfect read for these times!

    Book gives a simple yet powerful message on how to minimize your time in the "valleys" of your work and life and how to sustain your time on the "peaks." At so many points in the book you will find yourself bringing your own situation to the story-and making applications on how to do something different next time to prevent or at least minimize the "down times" in your work and life. Excellent read for organizations as well because it gives a framework from which to view current problems, issues and successes.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    PEAKS AND VALLEY REVIEW BY MEGAN BERTRAM!

    I thought this book was really good, and i am only twelve. I liked how it described this wonderful theory in life that people of all ages can understand. I really found this book very helpful. I even can take this advice very well at my age. I think I will become a better person growing up in general. I would recomend it for kids and adults to readand discuss. I would also recomend Who Cut My Cheese. It is also writen by Spencer Johson. Make sure to read all nis amazing books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2013

    Great read!

    Very easy read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    I LOVED this book.

    I really LOVED this book. It really made me think about a lot of things differently. It made me feel like I had or could take control of my life. Short, easy reading with lots of thought provoking messages. I read Who Moved my Cheese ALso a WONDERFUL book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    To help you through the rough times, Spencer Johnson has another helpful guide.

    When you ar ein bad times, how do you react? Well you can react in the worst of times to be prepared for the best. This guide is helpful and I think everyone will like it just as much as "Who Moved My Cheese".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2009

    A new way to navigate

    A great read for students who may have "peaked" in highschool and now are moving though their higher education and coming to grips with their first real valleys ... Where do I really go next in a world that has recently changed so dramactically -- how do I alter my normal navigation system which I thought worked so well for me in order to adjust to new realities that were never on my radar screen and set a new course.

    This may be the "dialog" that parents would like to have with their children but are unable to express -- or provide to a child who can not communicate their deep concerns and certainly will not communicate to their parents.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2009

    Great Read

    This book was excellent! simple, very insightful, and a great read. Really enjoyed it, especially the part about how just changing the way we view things can make valleys into peaks and peaks into valleys in our professional and personal lives. What was even more exciting was the part about making professional and personal peaks last longer through learning, great read, recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2009

    Peaks and Valleys

    Good advice for organizations.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2009

    OH, YEAH! THE MOUNTAIN'S COME TO MOHAMMED!

    When I didn't even know I needed it, this book found me. And it will find you too because it was meant for you. I read it in 45 minutes. What better way to tell a story than the way this one has been told. Its clear and simple message transcends age, religious bias, and political caca-nonsense. But, it's really not that simple for the thought-provoking story grabs you and you begin to see yourself first in the young man and then the old, the old then the young until you come to understand you are both - you when in the valley and you when at the mountain peak. You can relate to this "story" for it is your very own.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    THE IDEA WAS NICE BUT IT WAS NOT WRITTEN CLEARLY

    THE WRITING WAS NOT CLEAR AT TIMES CONFUSING.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A very simple read

    This book is timely, very simple but practical read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2009

    I liked it a great deal

    I found it very thought provoking. I have already loaned to my daughter to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2009

    Peaks and Valleys Book Review

    I was anxious to read this being the latest work of Dr. Spencer Johnson, especially after having read his two previous books "Who Moved My Cheese?" and "The One Minute Manager". Dr. Johnson writes in a parable fashion which is both very easy and enjoyable to read as well. Also his writing is very principle based.
    This book is very timely given the economic situation our country is in at this time, with so many who are out of work.
    Regardless of one's station in life or one's age, each of us face our own ups and downs, and it is how one handles both the peaks and valleys of life, that really makes the difference.
    As the publisher's blurb states the story is of a young man who lives unhappy in a valley, until he meets an old man who lives on a peak, and it changes his work and life forever."
    Dr. Johnson explains that "Peaks and Valleys are connected. The errors you make in today's good times create tomorrow's bad times. And the wise things you do in today's bad times create tomorrow's good times."
    Appreciating what one has and longing for what one is missing seem to be connected to our peaks and valleys, as when you are on a peak in your life you need to appreciate what you have, but not in a boastful manner. Conversely when one is in a valley one always longs for what is missing. This seems to be one of the facts of life each of us faces.
    Dr. Johnson makes one to consider "The most common reason you leave a peak too soon is arrogance, masquerading as confidence. The most common reason you stay in a valley too long is fear, masquerading as comfort."
    We all struggle at times with facing reality, and this was the young man's problem in the story as well. It seems he either believed things were better than they really were when he was on a peak in life, or he thought things worse than they really were when in a valley of life. The key to this is enjoying the moment you are in. That is easier said than done, but one need to look for the good in things nevertheless.
    Having a genuine concern for others well being comes across in Dr. Johnson's writing. This shows through the way the old man listens to the young man, and explains how if something learned is deemed valuable it needs to be shared with others to help them as well. It would seem that too often in the culture in which we live if something works there is a tendency to want to hoard the lessons learned, only for one's personal benefit. Although it is not said in the book, it would seem as if we just don't want to share our toys.
    Dr. Johnson seems to point out through this book that life is a growing process, and in that process it is natural to have peaks and valleys. It would seem that both peaks and valleys are a gift given to us, both to enjoy and to learn from. What one needs to find out is, what the truth of the situation or circumstance they are in at the present time.
    The young man discovered using these principles at work and in life had a calming effect.
    The lessons learned in this book might seem somewhat basic, however when one is going through tough times returning to the basics is always a good thing to do.
    This was a very enjoyable book to read and though the underlying principles might seem basic, as you think about them they are timely and timeless.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2009

    Excellent reading

    The book can easily be read in one sitting and follows the pattern of the One Minute Manager Books as well as the Ken Blanchard books. In story format, the book allows the reader to visualize the characters in the book and make direct practical application to every day life. In our current economic situation that we face, we need to be able to focus on positives and not continue to dwell on the negatives in every day life. We know that we will have highs and lows but how we handle them is what is important. This book coaches the readers to do that. When finally putting the book down, I was refreshed with a positive outlook. I bought several copies of the book as required reading for the employees in my company.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2009

    Not much meat but sneaks up on you

    The message was good and something we all know but just don't think about enough. I wish the author would have given it a little more substance like he did in "Who moved my cheese?" Then again, simple stories are sometimes more impactful.
    I was excited to read and apply another inspirational message to my life but was a little disappointed initailly. A few months after I read the book I realize that the Peaks and Valleys message has comes to mind often and I am inspired to apply what I read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2009

    A nice read to help you to move ahead in this troubling time

    I enjoyed the book. It was a positive motivator. Would recommend it to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2