Customer Reviews for

Peaks and Valleys: Making Good and Bad Times Work for You--at Work and in Life

Average Rating 4
( 34 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 5, 2013

    Great read!

    Very easy read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2009

    Great Read

    This book was excellent! simple, very insightful, and a great read. Really enjoyed it, especially the part about how just changing the way we view things can make valleys into peaks and peaks into valleys in our professional and personal lives. What was even more exciting was the part about making professional and personal peaks last longer through learning, great read, recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    THE IDEA WAS NICE BUT IT WAS NOT WRITTEN CLEARLY

    THE WRITING WAS NOT CLEAR AT TIMES CONFUSING.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A very simple read

    This book is timely, very simple but practical read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2009

    I liked it a great deal

    I found it very thought provoking. I have already loaned to my daughter to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 2, 2009

    Peaks and Valleys Book Review

    I was anxious to read this being the latest work of Dr. Spencer Johnson, especially after having read his two previous books "Who Moved My Cheese?" and "The One Minute Manager". Dr. Johnson writes in a parable fashion which is both very easy and enjoyable to read as well. Also his writing is very principle based.
    This book is very timely given the economic situation our country is in at this time, with so many who are out of work.
    Regardless of one's station in life or one's age, each of us face our own ups and downs, and it is how one handles both the peaks and valleys of life, that really makes the difference.
    As the publisher's blurb states the story is of a young man who lives unhappy in a valley, until he meets an old man who lives on a peak, and it changes his work and life forever."
    Dr. Johnson explains that "Peaks and Valleys are connected. The errors you make in today's good times create tomorrow's bad times. And the wise things you do in today's bad times create tomorrow's good times."
    Appreciating what one has and longing for what one is missing seem to be connected to our peaks and valleys, as when you are on a peak in your life you need to appreciate what you have, but not in a boastful manner. Conversely when one is in a valley one always longs for what is missing. This seems to be one of the facts of life each of us faces.
    Dr. Johnson makes one to consider "The most common reason you leave a peak too soon is arrogance, masquerading as confidence. The most common reason you stay in a valley too long is fear, masquerading as comfort."
    We all struggle at times with facing reality, and this was the young man's problem in the story as well. It seems he either believed things were better than they really were when he was on a peak in life, or he thought things worse than they really were when in a valley of life. The key to this is enjoying the moment you are in. That is easier said than done, but one need to look for the good in things nevertheless.
    Having a genuine concern for others well being comes across in Dr. Johnson's writing. This shows through the way the old man listens to the young man, and explains how if something learned is deemed valuable it needs to be shared with others to help them as well. It would seem that too often in the culture in which we live if something works there is a tendency to want to hoard the lessons learned, only for one's personal benefit. Although it is not said in the book, it would seem as if we just don't want to share our toys.
    Dr. Johnson seems to point out through this book that life is a growing process, and in that process it is natural to have peaks and valleys. It would seem that both peaks and valleys are a gift given to us, both to enjoy and to learn from. What one needs to find out is, what the truth of the situation or circumstance they are in at the present time.
    The young man discovered using these principles at work and in life had a calming effect.
    The lessons learned in this book might seem somewhat basic, however when one is going through tough times returning to the basics is always a good thing to do.
    This was a very enjoyable book to read and though the underlying principles might seem basic, as you think about them they are timely and timeless.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2009

    Not much meat but sneaks up on you

    The message was good and something we all know but just don't think about enough. I wish the author would have given it a little more substance like he did in "Who moved my cheese?" Then again, simple stories are sometimes more impactful.
    I was excited to read and apply another inspirational message to my life but was a little disappointed initailly. A few months after I read the book I realize that the Peaks and Valleys message has comes to mind often and I am inspired to apply what I read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1