Customer Reviews for

The Pearl

Average Rating 3.5
( 430 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(138)

4 Star

(111)

3 Star

(71)

2 Star

(47)

1 Star

(63)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

A Classic

The Pearl is a classic by the excellent writer, John Steinbeck. A simple story, yet filled with dramatic characters and events that kept me flipping the pages. One of the best aspects of The Pearl is the writing. John Steinbeck's writing is untouchable and classic. ...
The Pearl is a classic by the excellent writer, John Steinbeck. A simple story, yet filled with dramatic characters and events that kept me flipping the pages. One of the best aspects of The Pearl is the writing. John Steinbeck's writing is untouchable and classic. I loved the Pearl and would recommend it to anyone who is looking for a classic book that shows culture and the value of materials and wealth over love.

posted by VanillaBean on November 27, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

15 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

I enjoyed it for the most part

In the book The Pearl by John Steinbeck, the main character Kino faces a dilemma after finding a pearl in the ocean. Kino and his wife live in a little village and, one day while diving, Kino spots something shiny stuck on a rock. Kino realizes it is a pearl and he chip...
In the book The Pearl by John Steinbeck, the main character Kino faces a dilemma after finding a pearl in the ocean. Kino and his wife live in a little village and, one day while diving, Kino spots something shiny stuck on a rock. Kino realizes it is a pearl and he chips it off of the rock. At first Kino didnt believe that there would really be a pearl in such a shell, but sure enough he opens it up and sees the pearl inside. The news spreads around the village and every one wants to see it. Village members, including friends of the family, are willing to do anything to get their hands on this pearl because of the wealth and power it would potentially bring them. Soon after the discovery Kino's son, Coyotito, is stung by a scorpion and soon becomes ill and Kino and his wife take him to the doctor in the city. When the guard at the gate sees the family approaching, he tells them the doctor is not there. The guard says this beacuse he sees that Kino will have no way of paying the doctor, until Kino tells him about the pearl. The doctor goes to Kino's house and "cures" Coyotito. After everyone has heard about the pearl Kino begins hearing things stirring in the night next to his hut and goes out to see what is causing the noise. This occurs twice in the story, and both times, Kino comes back covered in blood. Juanita, Kino's wife, knows that the pearl is no good and may even be evil. One night Juanita becomes so fed up with the pearl that she takes it and tries to throw it back into the ocean but Kino was driven by anger and beats her when he sees this happeneing. Overall, there are lots of tragic incidents in this story and the pearl brings nothing but problems, pain, death and the loss of family itself. The theme I see fit for this story is that basically, money and power can drive you to go to impossible measures, and that in the end, it isnt worth all of the strain it causes a person.

posted by Jay_Battle on January 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 431 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 22
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2011

    So so, but good

    You can really feel the book. There are some parts where you say oh i got to go on, but there are some that you say is so boring. To me it wasnt that bad.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2009

    Yet another Steinbeck classic

    I have to say that the more I read Steinbeck, the more this man is quickly becoming one of if not my favorite author. The story is the definition of greed and the evils that come with it. Kino is a poor diver that finds the fortune of a lifetime in a giant sized pearl while diving during his every day job. Kino at this point thinks he will be rich and all his problems solved. However the pearl brings noting but problems, pain,death and the loss of family itself. It is a short basic stpory some 90+ pages but the story basic and the characters perfect for this setting. Again, another Steinbeck novel I would strongly urge readers(especially Steinbeck fans) to read. I finished it in less than a day. DNC.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2009

    A great piece of literature

    When you read The Pearl, don't read it at face value or you'll be disappointed that it's a frustrating story with a sad ending. I found it to be loosely based on the parable in the bible "The Pearl of Great Price". The Pearl, by Steinbeck is an allegory depicting the many facets of the human condition and the mistaken belief that financial gain is the ultimate road to happiness, comfort and fulfillment in this life. But I found the under-lining story line to be a reminder that when we throw "our nets" out into the world in search of treasure, remember to sift through it and consider where it may take you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A Simple Yet Enjoyable Read

    The Pearl is the first John Steinbeck novel I have read, and Pearl has given me good first impressions on Steinbeck's writing. The Pearl is a a very simple yet amazing book. There are many biblical parallels. Steinbeck does a fantastic job revealing human nature through Kino by his desire for wealth, and the expectations of happiness.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2014

    C,hcjgzgx

    Mgzmgrhfy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2014

    CAMP ABOVE WATER

    PearlClan

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2014

    my name is nick messina and i really enjoyed this book and espec

    my name is nick messina and i really enjoyed this book and especially its meaning. this book is great for anyone who loves what is right, and hates selfishness, evil desire, and prospering at the expence of others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2014

    Help

    Is this just a summuary.?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2014

    Excellent read! By esther

    This book has many great lessons to it! Go ahead and read it, i can almost assure you that you will wallk away from this book satisfied with at least one lesson...if not more! This book presents the concept of the good and evil eye, greed, luck, and being content with whatever G-d put into your bread basket.. i also enjoyed this book mainly because it ended sadly. I dislike those books that end happily ever after because in reality, life isn't always sweet like a bar of milk chocolate. It can be semi sweet and at other times like dark chocolate - gloomy and bitter.
    Happy reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2014

    the pearl takes place Mexico where a man finds a pearl and goes

    the pearl takes place Mexico where a man finds a pearl and goes through more suffering than without I really liked the book. when I first picked it up I couldn't put it down and was tuned in all the wayWhen Coyotito, a very young child, is stung by a scorpion, Kino, his father, must find a way to pay the town doctor to treat him. The doctor denies Kino for having no money and it makes him enraged. Shortly thereafter, Kino discovers an enormous, lucid pearl which he is ready to sell to pay the doctor. Everyone calls it "the pearl of the world, "again I loved this book I highly recommend that you read if you are looking for slightly drama and little adventure.
    The man's shot has killed Coyotito, No longer wanting the pearl; Kino throws it back into the ocean. To find out more you will have to pick up the book tune in and read.
    dallas b.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2014

    Kino a poor Indian/Mexican lives with his wife Juana and their b

    Kino a poor Indian/Mexican lives with his wife Juana and their baby Coyotito. Kino is a pearl diver, and lives a simple life.  One day, Coyotito gets bitten by a scorpion, and the doctor won't treat him because he knows Kino won't be able to pay the bill.  Kino goes pearl diving to try to find a pearl so he can pay the doctor. Kino and Juana find a huge pearl and the entire town watches as Kino tries to sell it.  The pearl causes danger to Kino and his family. The people were jealous of his good fortune.  When the news about the pearl spread, the doctor came right over to check on Coyotito.  He just wanted to make some money for himself.  Kino became very protective over the pearl because no one would give him the amount of money that he thought was a fair trade. One day Kino hears a noise in their house and he throws a knife in the dark and hits a robber trying to steal the pearl.  Kino and his wife set out for the capital hoping to get more money for the pearl. When they are along the way they find out that sheep trackers are following them. Kino sends Juana and Coyotito to a cave to hide, and told Juana to keep the baby quiet. When it got dark, Kino stripped naked so he could not be seen in his white cloths, and climbed down the rocks to see who was following him. When he made it to the bottom, Coyotito began to cry. The sheep trackers thought it was a coyote pup and they said this will make it shut up, so they shot at the spot where Coyotito was.  Kino killed the three men and climbed back up to too see if his family was safe.  He soon realized that the only cry he could hear was Juana's death cry, because Coyotito was dead! Kino and Juana carry Coyotito's lifeless body and throw the pearl back into the ocean, hoping to end this bad fortune.
    I would recommend this book because there is a good lesson to be content with your life because it can change quickly. Kino and Juana learned that their greed cost them their child's life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2013

    EWW

    THIS BOOK IS SO CRAPPY AND STUPID. THE BABY SHOULD DIE AND IM SO GLAD IT DID. KINO IS A POOPHEAD HE IS SUCH AN ITIOT. JUANA IS TO LOYAL; EVEN AFTER KINO TRIES TO KILL HER SHE STAYS WITH HIM. ID JUST TRY AND KILL HIM BACK. CRAPPY BOOK. SAME IDEA AS GOLLUM FROM LORD OF THE RINGS AND THE HOBBIT BUT THIS IS WAY WORSE.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2013

    In the short story The Pearl, by John Steinback, the plot is tha

    In the short story The Pearl, by John Steinback, the plot is that Kino and his wife live poorly in a small village and have little to no money. He comes to find that his baby son Coyotito has been stung by a scorpion and is very ill and nearest doctor wont take him in because they have no money and come from a poor village. When Kino finds a pearl it he hopes that it will solve his problems and bring his family fortune, it does the opposite and creates many tragic problems for him and his family. I think the plot was very interesting and kept me on my toes wondering what could happed next or how the conflict would be solved. The theme that Steinback conveyed through The Pearl is that money and power leads to many problems and tragic devastation and in the end, it is not worth all the stress it gives a person. The writing style that the author used was very dynamic and really showed the stress that Kino had.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2013

    John Steinbeck¿s famous novel,The Pearl, is without a doubt, one

    John Steinbeck’s famous novel,The Pearl, is without a doubt, one of the most boring books I’ve ever read. I read the book in 6th grade, loathed it, gave it another chance this year in 9th, and my opinion of the book remains the same. The theme of the story expresses how greed can destroy and change someone as well as their life. I will admit that Steinbeck made a fascinating plot told from a third-person point of view: a poor couple with a sick infant stumble upon a fortune(the pearl), become treated differently by their town where others manipulate, use, cheat, and harm the family, the family goes on a journey to sell the pearl for what it’s really worth, and with all of the chaos surrounding them, people get hurt, the infant dies, and the parents throw this “evil” pearl back into the water it came from. It sounds like a fascinating story, doesn’t it? With the plot, it had the potential to be a marvelous tale, however it was Steinbeck’s writing style and characters that did not convince me to see it as anything other than another boring 90 pages. It felt as though everything was dragged out through too much detail and dramatization; as if paragraphs could just go on and on about canoes, the water, and irrelevant characters in the story. The main characters of the story were just not interesting. There was nothing special or intriguing about them. Kino was just a poor man who wanted the best for his family; sweet, but uninteresting. Juana usually just did whatever Kino told her to. The baby was probably the most interesting character just because it created the conflict! All in all, I would rate the book 2 stars. 




    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2013

    The Pearl by John Steinbeck was a rather interesting buy. Not i

    The Pearl by John Steinbeck was a rather interesting buy. Not interesting in a good way, but in a way that makes you think, “I’m so interested in why I would have ever thought of reading this book”. In this sad excuse for a book, Steinbeck makes a lower-class couple find a shiny, great big pearl that could save their baby’s life, or get them nearly anything, all the riches they want. Coincidence? I think not. After their child is bitten by a deadly scorpion bite, they find that the only doctor in town is so much of a punk that he refuses to save his life without the proper pay. After finding the pearl, the child ends up okay, but the main character, Kino becomes very greedy with the pearl. Steinbeck then tries to show us that his central idea is people should cherish what they have and make the most out of it, the more you want, the less someone gives. After turning down many great offers to buy the pearl, Kino turns them all down, saying he could get more. That only leads to less people wanting to buy, and saying “It’s not worth it”. More bad luck comes when the child still ends up in fatal injury, and evil arises from the pearl. I desperate needs to give themselves more bad luck, Kino tosses that “sacred” pearl back where he found it, in the ocean. What makes this story terrible is the constant detail. Now, everyone loves detail, but Steinbeck turned 3 second in time into 50 pages of uselessness that no one bothers to read. This random story of a poor family and their trip to what could have been richness does not catch the readers eye. Watch out, he makes it seem interesting by starting it off sad and a crying, stung baby, but the rest of the book is more of boring plot that drags on forever and ever. it may only be 100 pages long, but I would rather pull my eyeballs out right from their sockets. One other failure in interest is once again, the plot. All it is, is a man running around with a pearl and trying to sell it with no luck. Yeah, he’s trying to save his kid and they are trying to get out of lower-class status, but c’mon, that’s pretty much the lives of most people. And this guy, turns down all his offers, up at around 1000 dollars. This Is exactly why you want to stop reading because all you think, is “Why in the world would you do that you imbecile,” His greed shows off that no one wants to buy a rip-off. Great theme, but poor execution.  2 stars, 3 ½ out of 10. Terrible book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2013

    Really Good

    It was really good, but the ending was very sad. Be warned.


    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2013

     Jordan Delfosse   My book is called The Pearl it is about a man

     Jordan Delfosse 
     My book is called The Pearl it is about a man named Kino that lived in mexico. He has a hard life. He lives in mexico and he go pearl diving for a living. Then one day they found the pearl of pearls and he went to sell it and the dealer said it was fake. So then he went on a journey going to sell it at the capitol because he Knew it was real and He ends up throwing it into the ocean.
     The strengths of the book where the action parts. I really liked it when Kino had to fight people and ended up killing them. And another strength was at the end when he through the Pearl into the ocean because all it did to him is bring him bad luck. 
    I think that the weaknesses of the book were that it took too long in the book to get to some of the main points. It kind of made me lose my interest. And I think another weakness is that Kino always was the bad guy no matter what happened and he always had to kill the people. Other than that there wasn’t anything about the book that i didn't like.
     I personally thought that this book was good but it needed more action in the middle of it because there was a point in the book that there was no action at all. But when it got to the end the action started up again.  It got really good at the end and i thought it had a really good ending to the book. What I liked about the book was that It had a really good story line and it was very well played out. I think the best part is when he went diving and brought up the pearl and Kino acts liked nothing was going on and when he opened the shell with his knife and saw the Great pearl it was probably the best part in the book. I think that the middle of the book was the most boring and the end of the book was the best. 
    I would recommend this book to 6-10th grades. 6-10th grade because if you are younger that 6th grade you won’t be able to understand the book and if you are older that 10th grade you would probably get bored. Yes, I would recommend this book to a lot of my friends and family overall I liked this book. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2013

    Box sux babby dyed no monny 4 perl

    Lol

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2013

    What i want

    I want this book because i am reading this for school

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2013

    The Pearl

    This book was sooooo sad...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 431 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 22