Customer Reviews for

The Pearl

Average Rating 3.5
( 438 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(140)

4 Star

(113)

3 Star

(72)

2 Star

(49)

1 Star

(64)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

A Classic

The Pearl is a classic by the excellent writer, John Steinbeck. A simple story, yet filled with dramatic characters and events that kept me flipping the pages. One of the best aspects of The Pearl is the writing. John Steinbeck's writing is untouchable and classic. ...
The Pearl is a classic by the excellent writer, John Steinbeck. A simple story, yet filled with dramatic characters and events that kept me flipping the pages. One of the best aspects of The Pearl is the writing. John Steinbeck's writing is untouchable and classic. I loved the Pearl and would recommend it to anyone who is looking for a classic book that shows culture and the value of materials and wealth over love.

posted by VanillaBean on November 27, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

16 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

I enjoyed it for the most part

In the book The Pearl by John Steinbeck, the main character Kino faces a dilemma after finding a pearl in the ocean. Kino and his wife live in a little village and, one day while diving, Kino spots something shiny stuck on a rock. Kino realizes it is a pearl and he chip...
In the book The Pearl by John Steinbeck, the main character Kino faces a dilemma after finding a pearl in the ocean. Kino and his wife live in a little village and, one day while diving, Kino spots something shiny stuck on a rock. Kino realizes it is a pearl and he chips it off of the rock. At first Kino didnt believe that there would really be a pearl in such a shell, but sure enough he opens it up and sees the pearl inside. The news spreads around the village and every one wants to see it. Village members, including friends of the family, are willing to do anything to get their hands on this pearl because of the wealth and power it would potentially bring them. Soon after the discovery Kino's son, Coyotito, is stung by a scorpion and soon becomes ill and Kino and his wife take him to the doctor in the city. When the guard at the gate sees the family approaching, he tells them the doctor is not there. The guard says this beacuse he sees that Kino will have no way of paying the doctor, until Kino tells him about the pearl. The doctor goes to Kino's house and "cures" Coyotito. After everyone has heard about the pearl Kino begins hearing things stirring in the night next to his hut and goes out to see what is causing the noise. This occurs twice in the story, and both times, Kino comes back covered in blood. Juanita, Kino's wife, knows that the pearl is no good and may even be evil. One night Juanita becomes so fed up with the pearl that she takes it and tries to throw it back into the ocean but Kino was driven by anger and beats her when he sees this happeneing. Overall, there are lots of tragic incidents in this story and the pearl brings nothing but problems, pain, death and the loss of family itself. The theme I see fit for this story is that basically, money and power can drive you to go to impossible measures, and that in the end, it isnt worth all of the strain it causes a person.

posted by Jay_Battle on January 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 72 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted January 26, 2012

    I enjoyed it for the most part

    In the book The Pearl by John Steinbeck, the main character Kino faces a dilemma after finding a pearl in the ocean. Kino and his wife live in a little village and, one day while diving, Kino spots something shiny stuck on a rock. Kino realizes it is a pearl and he chips it off of the rock. At first Kino didnt believe that there would really be a pearl in such a shell, but sure enough he opens it up and sees the pearl inside. The news spreads around the village and every one wants to see it. Village members, including friends of the family, are willing to do anything to get their hands on this pearl because of the wealth and power it would potentially bring them. Soon after the discovery Kino's son, Coyotito, is stung by a scorpion and soon becomes ill and Kino and his wife take him to the doctor in the city. When the guard at the gate sees the family approaching, he tells them the doctor is not there. The guard says this beacuse he sees that Kino will have no way of paying the doctor, until Kino tells him about the pearl. The doctor goes to Kino's house and "cures" Coyotito. After everyone has heard about the pearl Kino begins hearing things stirring in the night next to his hut and goes out to see what is causing the noise. This occurs twice in the story, and both times, Kino comes back covered in blood. Juanita, Kino's wife, knows that the pearl is no good and may even be evil. One night Juanita becomes so fed up with the pearl that she takes it and tries to throw it back into the ocean but Kino was driven by anger and beats her when he sees this happeneing. Overall, there are lots of tragic incidents in this story and the pearl brings nothing but problems, pain, death and the loss of family itself. The theme I see fit for this story is that basically, money and power can drive you to go to impossible measures, and that in the end, it isnt worth all of the strain it causes a person.

    16 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2012

    Interesting

    Upon being required to read this book for a school assignment, i was not looking forward to studying this story. After completing this book, I must say it was better than I thought it would be. This is a book you could put on your summer reading list for new things to try. I gave this book a three because it was extremely short and not quite my style.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2011

    So so, but good

    You can really feel the book. There are some parts where you say oh i got to go on, but there are some that you say is so boring. To me it wasnt that bad.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2014

    Kino a poor Indian/Mexican lives with his wife Juana and their b

    Kino a poor Indian/Mexican lives with his wife Juana and their baby Coyotito. Kino is a pearl diver, and lives a simple life.  One day, Coyotito gets bitten by a scorpion, and the doctor won't treat him because he knows Kino won't be able to pay the bill.  Kino goes pearl diving to try to find a pearl so he can pay the doctor. Kino and Juana find a huge pearl and the entire town watches as Kino tries to sell it.  The pearl causes danger to Kino and his family. The people were jealous of his good fortune.  When the news about the pearl spread, the doctor came right over to check on Coyotito.  He just wanted to make some money for himself.  Kino became very protective over the pearl because no one would give him the amount of money that he thought was a fair trade. One day Kino hears a noise in their house and he throws a knife in the dark and hits a robber trying to steal the pearl.  Kino and his wife set out for the capital hoping to get more money for the pearl. When they are along the way they find out that sheep trackers are following them. Kino sends Juana and Coyotito to a cave to hide, and told Juana to keep the baby quiet. When it got dark, Kino stripped naked so he could not be seen in his white cloths, and climbed down the rocks to see who was following him. When he made it to the bottom, Coyotito began to cry. The sheep trackers thought it was a coyote pup and they said this will make it shut up, so they shot at the spot where Coyotito was.  Kino killed the three men and climbed back up to too see if his family was safe.  He soon realized that the only cry he could hear was Juana's death cry, because Coyotito was dead! Kino and Juana carry Coyotito's lifeless body and throw the pearl back into the ocean, hoping to end this bad fortune.
    I would recommend this book because there is a good lesson to be content with your life because it can change quickly. Kino and Juana learned that their greed cost them their child's life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2013

    In the short story The Pearl, by John Steinback, the plot is tha

    In the short story The Pearl, by John Steinback, the plot is that Kino and his wife live poorly in a small village and have little to no money. He comes to find that his baby son Coyotito has been stung by a scorpion and is very ill and nearest doctor wont take him in because they have no money and come from a poor village. When Kino finds a pearl it he hopes that it will solve his problems and bring his family fortune, it does the opposite and creates many tragic problems for him and his family. I think the plot was very interesting and kept me on my toes wondering what could happed next or how the conflict would be solved. The theme that Steinback conveyed through The Pearl is that money and power leads to many problems and tragic devastation and in the end, it is not worth all the stress it gives a person. The writing style that the author used was very dynamic and really showed the stress that Kino had.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    Ok

    Were reading it in school

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    Not quite as entertaining as some of his other work, but it's a

    Not quite as entertaining as some of his other work, but it's a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2012

    Dont listen to the bad comments!

    I had to read this book for a project and i loved it! Tho the ending might not be the best, the book is still as good as Old Man and the Sea, or Whale Rider, or any other ocean classic.
    P.S.
    Read the other books too!
    :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2012

    Sample stinks!

    There is nothing in the sample it only goes to the contents!?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2012

    HM??

    I have to read this for school, cant get past the first page. YAY.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2012

    The Pearl is a short, but very dramatic story written by John St

    The Pearl is a short, but very dramatic story written by John Steinbeck. The book is a classic and is also very entertaining. The short length is perfect for the intensity of the novella. Steinbeck is very descriptive helping one get clear pictures of what is going on in the story. I recommend this novella to any one that wants a short, but very entertaining read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2012

    The Story dragged on, but the writer described situations very w

    The Story dragged on, but the writer described situations very well. I could see the image in my mind when John described things. The book is good to pass the time and is a good story.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2012

    The pearl was a pretty good book if you like violence and some m

    The pearl was a pretty good book if you like violence and some mystery. Its filled with many dramatic characters. The Pearl is very detailed so if you like a lot of detail you will love this book. Steinback is a very good writer and because of the Pearl i think i will read another one Steinbacks books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2012

    I that the book has a good beginning, but it seemed to drag on a

    I that the book has a good beginning, but it seemed to drag on and on. The end was terrible for me. Not a huge finish or a happy ending. The baby dies. That made me personally dislike the book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2012

    I am reading this book for school

    At my school we have been given this book to read and the kids in the grade above me said it was bad i personaly love to read but all the kids at my school hate reading i think the book was a good choice for a school project but i am more of a fiction reading-7th grader ;)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    Very Symbolic

    This very symbolic story by John Stienbeck is one that is sad, yet sends a message using a most captivating method of describing good and evil.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2011

    The Pearl is a great book

    This book is about a man,his wife,and his baby. The man was named Kino and the wife was named Junau,and the baby was Coyotito. Kino was a farely wise man and one day he found a pearl and he thought it had value so he would get lots of money for it. But at the end the pearl gave him great trouble and he throw the pearl back into the sea,and Coyotito the son of Kino got stug by a scorpion at the begaining of the story and he got very sick. If you like adventureous books you should really read The Pearl. also if you like books with high twists in them then you should read The Pearl. :):):)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2010

    The Pearl

    John Steinbeck did a great job on emphasizing the theme of his book, The Pearl. The lesson was about greed and how it can change people. In the beginning of the book, Kino was content and proud. However, after finding the pearl, he became greedy and ambitious. The setting of the book is in a poor village in the Gulf of Mexico in the late 19th or ealy 20th century.
    In the beginning, Kino's son is stung by a scorpion. Being so little and young, he is not expected to live. Kino's wife suggests that they take him to the doctor, but once they get there the doctor will not see him ,since they have no money to pay him. While Kino goes diving for pearls, Juana, his wife, prays for a miracle. Kino finds a giant pearl and immediately begins fantasizing about what he will buy with his new riches.
    The plot was well developed, with conflict that changes throughout the book. The relationships between the characters were not very complex. The characters themselves were purposefully portrayed as simple, unsophisticated people, but the relationships were disappointing. For example, Kino shows no real love towards his wife or son, only pride and respect. The purpose of the book, teaching the theme, was completed very well.
    Overall, it was an okay book. At times it dragged, but it had enough suspense to keep the reader interested. The theme was very important in the story, and the author did a good job teaching about the theme. The relationships and emotions shown by the characters were disappointingly simple. One especially interesting detail of the book was the way it included the culture of the people. It was not my favorite book, but it teaches a good lesson.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2010

    Very detailed, but boring

    The Pearl is about a man named Kino who has found "The Pearl of the World."Kino and his child's mother Juana are trying to find a wat to pay for a doctor for their child's scorpion sting. They go to look for pearl to pay for the doctor when they find a large pearl that they believe will change their lives forever by making them richer and being able to do and buy things that they've always wanted.Personally I think that most of the setting detail was not necessary. The actual story began to get interesting towards the end of the plot when the plot sped up a little.Kino goes to the pearl buyers to see what he can get for his magnificent pearl. The price for the pearl is not what anyone expected. Kino and Juana decide to run away and find the capital up north and to hopefully sell their pearl for what they want, but what they do with the pearl after this journey is crazy.In all honesty I somewhat liked this book. Personally there was too much detail. I skipped several pages and didn't miss any of the actual story, but aside from the lasting setting detail the story is actually quite interesting. I would recommend that people who like to know exactly what's happening in their book buy this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    How Depressing

    I have enjoyed Steinbeck's writing style and this book did not disappoint. It was easy to read and it is short, took me no time at all to finish it once I started. I found myself enthralled in the story of Kino, hoping for a particular ending. At one point, I thought to myself that if they didn't get a good price for that damn pearl I was going to through myself off my deck! The ending was not exactly what I wanted to happen, but knowing Steinbeck's style, I wasn't at all surprised, but still a good book, still a great lesson to learn.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 72 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4