BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Pearl Harbor: A Novel of December 8th

Average Rating 4
( 49 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Played close to the historical facts, with enough fictionalization to keep it interesting.

This was the first book I have read by Gingrich, and I'll certainly read more of his work. Even though most of us know the Pearl Harbor story, Gingrich's weaving of believable characters throughout the story keeps the reader turning the pages. The mistakes made by both ...
This was the first book I have read by Gingrich, and I'll certainly read more of his work. Even though most of us know the Pearl Harbor story, Gingrich's weaving of believable characters throughout the story keeps the reader turning the pages. The mistakes made by both the U.S. and Japan in the pre-attack months adds to the human factor that is so well portrayed. The interplay between a Japanese fighter pilot and an Allied pilot was a fascinating twist.

posted by HBWhiteDM on February 23, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Ggfff

Okk

posted by Anonymous on November 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Pearl Harbor from the perspective of Jap

    I used it for educational and entertainment purposes. It was great the way he developed the characters and their perspective of the coming war and success of the attack and, of course, the description of the actual attack. I just finished Pearl Harbor and I have Days of Infamy but haven't read it yet. I'm sure it will take off soon after the conclusion of this book. I'm anxious to get started on it.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2012

    I

    I love newt gingrich!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Pearl Harbor by Newt Gingrich & William Forstchen

    I truly enjoyed this book. Perhaps you must be a history buff to enjoy the detail that Gingrich and Forstchen put into the book.

    Basically, the book follows the lives of 3 men who would be deeply involved in the events that occurred on December 7, 1941. Their account begins much earlier, around the time of the Japanese invasion of Manchuria. The three men are a British naval Commander, retired; an American naval Commander, retired; and a young Japanese pilot who was destined to lead the first wave of the attack on the American fleet anchored at Pearl Harbor. Of these three men, only the young Japanese pilot was a real person. Mitsuo Fuchida's life as a pilot and as an officer in the Japanese naval air force was closely followed through the book. He was probably the most interesting of the 3 characters. His life didn't end with the end of the war. After the war he converted to Christianity and became an evangelist. This latter part was not covered in the book.

    A really great read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Wonderful historical novel

    Pearl Harbor is a very well written novel that captures the heart with facinating characters and plenty of action. I am looking forward to the sequel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2012

    Highly Recommended for any Student of History

    Anyone who has ever read a "What If?" type of book will thoroughly enjoy this well written, well researched historical novel. Students of WWII, and American History will be familiar with the behind the scenes happenings that lead up to the attack of Pearl Harbor. What If books are best when changing the least. The authors managed to present their alternate historical scenario by answering a single question that many historians have asked over the decades since 1941. What if Admiral Yamamoto had lead the attack on Pearl Harbor, rather than the much more conservative Admiral Nagumo? The answer makes for a great read!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2012

    Best movie ever

    Luv tje movie best EVER EVER EVER EVRR EVER

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    I lu pearl harbor

    Hi

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2009

    DVD's Best of Gordon and The Polar Express

    My grandson's 2 very favorite DVD's were left on an airplane while traveling to Tenn. My order arrived very quickly for him to receive DVD's for travel back home. Very pleased with promptness of order sent to him.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2008

    A Great Beginning to a New Alt History Series

    Gingrich and Fortschen have written another triumph. Pearl Harbor sets out the background of the most infamous sneak attack in history, dramatizing some little known details, while telling fresh the more well known parts. The alt.history comes in when the Japanese launch a third wave that was cancelled in real life. This sets up what will likely be a bloodier Pacific War in subsequent books of the series. I can barely wait.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2007

    historical perspective on the pacific war

    'pearl harbor' is newt gingrichs newest and most fasinating military thriller and although it is only a novel all of the details 'like his cival war novels' are factually correct and truly give the reader a great apprieation of history . this awsome publication shows what might have happened had the japanese come back for a third wave on pearl harbor it also gives a serious look at some of the early battles had they gone the other way . the arthur has a doctorate degreee in history and this bestseller really gave me a great perspective on some of the battles we could have won or lost. this page turner showed me some of the early pacific battles and this gave me some intresting lessons that I was able to learn from pearl harbor and possible future wars. great gift idea for a friend, family member or a soldier serving over seas.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Discerning yet entertaining

    The premise of this alternate history is the debate between two competent Japanese naval officials over how many waves of attack would be needed to render the Americans as helpless. Admiral Yamamoto felt you had to keep the pressure up to and including the forty-eight contiguous states while Admiral Nagumo felt Pearl Harbor left the United States helpless and defeated. In this novel, Newt Gingrich and William R. Forstchen explore the Yamamoto theory starting with the Japan of the 1930s until the December attack on much more than just Pearl Harbor.----------- The look at Japanese society and its military invasion of China in the 1930s is fabulous and insightful. The argument between the two admirals over what is needed to beat America is terrific as Yamamoto believes they United States can come back if it is a one or even two punch assault. However, the political leaders, FDR and Hirohito seem one dimensional and that dimension is wordy, pompous and out of touch. Still this strong what if alternate military history account of the War in the Pacific is discerning yet entertaining.----------- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2