Customer Reviews for

Pecan Pies and Homicides

Average Rating 5
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

This is the third book in the charmed pie series. Ella Mae has r

This is the third book in the charmed pie series. Ella Mae has recently moved back to her home town in Georgia and life has been anything but dull. The firs two books in the series offered up murder and mayhem and In this story we learn more of her magic abilities and w...
This is the third book in the charmed pie series. Ella Mae has recently moved back to her home town in Georgia and life has been anything but dull. The firs two books in the series offered up murder and mayhem and In this story we learn more of her magic abilities and what she does with them. I could not put this book down and read it in record time. I am not a baker but reading this book makes me want to whip up one of Ella Mae's pies. You will also love her friend Reba and Ella Mae's aunts. And of course there is Hugh Dylan the man in her life. Don't miss this one.

posted by the-PageTurner on December 30, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

To Jillian

Piz dont stop its really intrigueing

posted by 18616074 on February 27, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 7, 2014

    Pecan Pies and Homicides is the third book in the A Charmed Pie

    Pecan Pies and Homicides is the third book in the A Charmed Pie Shoppe Mystery series.

    Another wonderful book about life in Havenwood, Georgia and the Charmed Pie Shoppe from Ellery Adams.

    Suzy Bacchus, who owns the Cubbyhole, a book and gift shop, that she has found a reference to book that tells about The Flower of Life. The chances of reading the book on the Gaynor family, who Ella Mae and her family have been at odds with for ages. Ella Mae befriends some people who had their enchanted grove destroyed by an arsonist. She befriends some them and works to find them housing and employment and the use of their grove. But soon one of them is found dead just outside the Havenwood grove. Ella Mae begins to investigate just who might have killed the young lady and why. Foremost in her mind is whether their grove might become a place where the arsonist will strike again. Some of her information points back to the Gaynor family and she uses this to get the missing pages that she needs to be able to find the Flower of Life. Ella Mae's pursuit of the Flower of Life was one of the most exciting scenes I have read.

    Ella Mae's aunts are of course around to support her in whatever she does. Reba, her life guardian, is around once to provide some frivolity. This pistol packing, Swizzle eating woman is a real joy to read about. Of course the adorable Charleston Chew, Chewy to his friends, is around providing his own kind of support.

    In my opinion, Ellery Adams does a wonderful job of storytelling in all her books and this one is no exception. While some readers may take the belief in "magic" and enchantment with a grain of salt, her way of storytelling will make one believe in it.

    Delicious recipes are also included.

    Really looking forward to read what is in store for Ella Mae. And particularly with Hugh.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2013

    This is the third book in the charmed pie series. Ella Mae has r

    This is the third book in the charmed pie series. Ella Mae has recently moved back to her home town in Georgia and life has been anything but dull. The firs two books in the series offered up murder and mayhem and In this story we learn more of her magic abilities and what she does with them. I could not put this book down and read it in record time. I am not a baker but reading this book makes me want to whip up one of Ella Mae's pies. You will also love her friend Reba and Ella Mae's aunts. And of course there is Hugh Dylan the man in her life. Don't miss this one.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2014

    Another charmed tale

    Good mystery, strong relationships... learned so much about the families in this one.... cant wait for more

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    Really enjoyed!

    I always enjoy Ellery Adams Charmed Pie Shoppe books and this was no exception.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2014

    Pecan Pies and Homicides is Positvely Enchanting!!  Ellery Adams

    Pecan Pies and Homicides is Positvely Enchanting!!  Ellery Adams has bewitched us once again with this third installment in the Charmed Pie Shop series...definitely not one to miss!!


    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Ella Mae LeFaye owns the Charmed Pie Shoppe in Havenwood, Georgi

    Ella Mae LeFaye owns the Charmed Pie Shoppe in Havenwood, Georgia. Most of the residents there don’t know that she can add her own special magical enchantment to her pies or that there are several magical residents in town. Ella Mae lost her mom in the last book in a very unusual way and her difficulty to accept her being gone has left her not feeling very enchanted.

    Then she learns of a party being held by Loralyn and her family to welcome other gifted people to Havenwood because their enchanted grove was burned to the ground by an arsonist. Ella Mae quickly realizes that they could be welcoming an arsonist or worst to their community. When one of the new residents is found dead Ella Mae knows she needs to use her own gift to catch the arsonist and a killer.
    Dollycas’s Thoughts
    Ellery has mixed together the genres of cozy mystery and fantasy masterfully. They are perfectly balanced for her cozy readers and may open her stories up to those who like their fantasy on the light side.

    I want to first tell you that this is not the last book in this series. I don’t feel that is a spoiler but I found myself quite worried about that through a good part of this story. I am nowhere near ready to let go of these characters. I am sharing this so you can enjoy the story without any extra anxiety.

    A lot happens in these 300 pages. Creatures appear, secrets are revealed and some wonderful new characters join a cast that was already excellent. There was one plot twist that was so unexpected I almost gave myself whiplash.

    Unlike some series stories you can pick up any of them and get caught up. That is not the case with this series. You need to read these books in order. Start with Pies and Prejudice, then Peach Pies and Alibis, and then this one, Pecan Pies and Homicides. Pecan Pies and Homicides made my Best Reads of 2013 and I think Ellery has topped herself with this one.

    You just can’t go wrong with a story by Ellery Adams or any of her alter egos.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2014

    i've enjoyed miss ellery's book by the bay series, (and i hope

    i've enjoyed miss ellery's book by the bay series, (and i hope there are more to come), but this series is totally different and totally enjoyable. and i have to admit a little magical! ella mae owns a pie shop, where she can and sometimes does inject a little magic into the pie. not always, just sometimes. she is trying to save her mother by breaking a curse in this story. an arsonist is burning down the groves of magic,and ella mae is afraid if their grove burns her mother will also die. her mother is the 'lady of the lake' and being so is entrapped in an oak tree. remenber..magic? so ella mae is working on finding the arsonist before he can burn down their grove and trying to save her mother, and wondering about her boyfriend is he still is, and trying to find the magic again. the writing is excellant and the characters magical. wondering if i can use a little magic and conjure up the next story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2014

    Do not miss this latest installment of A Charmed Pie Shoppe Myst

    Do not miss this latest installment of A Charmed Pie Shoppe Mystery by Ellery Adams. It was another exciting chapter in the life of Ella Mae; the creator of all the delicious sounding magic pies. In this story Ella Mae helps another magical community after tragedy strikes down their source of magic. We are introduced to new very likeable and loveable characters from that community. They are instrumental in helping Ella Mae get to the bottom of figuring out exactly "who dunnit".
    We also get some of the answers we have been seeking through out the series in regards to her love interest Hugh and her nemesis Loralyn Gaynor.
    Wait until you see how her relationship with her mom, The Lady of The Ash changes.
    Okay enough said before I give away the whole story.
    You cannot every go wrong with any book by Ellery Adams who is also JB Stanley and one half of Lucy Arlington.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2014

    Very Good Series!

    I, as well as my parents and sister love this series! Characters are wonderful and you never know what is going to happen in the story. I am excited every time a new one is written. Keep writing them as fast as you can.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Pecan Pies and Homicides is the third book in Ellery Adams' Char

    Pecan Pies and Homicides is the third book in Ellery Adams' Charmed Pie Shoppe Mystery series. Fans of the series will be thrilled with Ella Mae's search for a way to free her mother from the Ash tree and in her amateur sleuthing. But it's not only murder afoot this time in Havenwood, but an arsonist as well. Adams has a way with description that is unparalleled in the genre and she does her homework on the magical aspects of this series. If you are looking for a little magic in your confections, this is the series for you!

    What I liked:

    One of the things I like about this series is Ellery Adams' attention to detail. The magic she writes about in this series is what I would call earth magic. It has a lot to do with the essence of life and that sort of thing. I appreciate the fact that Adams didn't go with a normal type of magic that readers may be over saturated with. The kinds of things she talks about in this series are different and really interesting, my Scottish grandfather would have said this is very old magic. Whatever it is, it makes for a great secondary theme in this mystery series.

    Ella Mae and her family have been feuding with the Gaynor family for years and in Pecan Pies and Homicides readers learn a little more about what caused all the trouble. Apart from each other members of both families seem nice and caring but when put in proximity to the other family, all bets are off. I liked the background touches that Adams provides that only move the plot of this book along, but the story arc for the entire series.

    Ella Mae and Hugh are slowly becoming more into each other, but it looks like there may be a few stumbling blocks ahead. Ella Mae can't tell him about her magic or she'll lose it and now there is a possibility that Hugh isn't quite normal either. I liked the daily life aspects of this book a lot. The romance between these two has had some ups and downs and I think I like where it's going.

    The mystery part of the book was two-fold. First you have an arsonist who tried to burn down a sacred grove. Ella Mae is trying to figure out who it is and if it might happen again, all while looking for a way to free her mother from the ash tree (long story, but if you are a fan of the series you know what I'm talking about). Then you have a murder as well to try to solve. I liked the two-fold approach because it not only allowed the reader to see different aspects of each crime, it also brought in new characters and allowed readers to see old characters in new ways. I certainly didn't have arsonist or killer figured out until near the end of the book. 

    What I didn't like:

    As with any book that employs a paranormal element, the author has to be cautious about letting that element take over. I noticed it a little bit in this one, but then the mystery cranked up and it got better. It was just a little overwhelming in the beginning. Not a major problem with the plot to be sure. This was still an excellent addition to this intriguing series.

    Bottom Line:

    Pies, magic, murder and arson, that's what this book is about. It's a well written and interesting book that will appeal to those who love mysteries and the paranormal. Ella Mae ain't your average witch. Can't wait to see where Adams takes the gang from Havenwood next.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2014

    Another Great Book in the Series

    I love this series and this was yet another great book within the series. I was drawn into the story very quickly and couldn't put it down for long, because my mind was still caught up in the story. The legends and tasks Ella Mae faced were absolutely fascinating to me. I would love to meet people like these characters (except the Gaynors). Make sure to read the series in order if you're new to the series. I have loved everything I have read by this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Charming and delicious!

    Ella Mae is saddened knowing that her mother is now the Lady of the Ash. Ella Mae goes to a party at the Gaynor estate to welcome transplants from a Tennessee group whose sacred grove was burned and now they need to live in Havenwood. Worried that the same fate may befall their own sacred grove, Ella and her aunts work to be welcoming while protecting the Lady. Ella Mae is also determined to find a way to save her mother while protecting the grove. The story is wonderfully crafted and the new characters blended well while former minor characters are expanded. Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Fun Read! Highly Recommend This Book and Series

    I just discovered and thoroughly enjoyed this series. The characters and plot are well developed, and the premise is unique among the other paranormal/magical books out there. However, that sounds way too formal for such a delightful book. I have read all of the books released in the series, to date (3, I think), and cannot wait for the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2014

    To Jillian!!

    Dang it!!! I don't want you to stop!!! I can understand though that it is hard to write 2 stories at once!! I hope that whoever takes over the story will be as good as you!! I also hope that not haveing this story will make things quicker with your other story!! If it is possble though I still want you to write this story!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2014

    To the Judge story contest plz read

    Love hurts by Alexandria: I am sitting in the top row of the closed up bleachers in this very dark gym. Nobody can see me up here as if i am invisible. There is a very dim light tht shines over the basketball hoop and there is a boy shooting hoops all by himself. His name is Clyde. He has been my huge crush for seven years but he never seems to notice my exsistence. He has perfect qualities and personality in my opinion. I believe that there is nothing about him that isnt perfect except for his lack of noticing me. I have expressed my feelings for him in every way possible, I bought him a remote control helicopter five years ago i wrote him letters made him a lemonade popsicle sent him flowers on valentines day texted him i passed by his house yelled his name in my yard for him to hear me and even told him how much i like himc. He never did anything even close to those things. But there is one last thing I can do for him. I quietly jump off the bleachers with my basketball and walk behind him at the three point line. Then i throw my ball up over him. The ball swooshes through the net and he turns around startled. "Wht are you doing here?" He yells. "I came to watch you practice. You are amazing!" "Uh thanks." Crap i think he thinks of me as a stalker. The real reason why I came was to practice myself but when i saw him decided to watch. "Clyde I have always liked you and if you cant see that then idk what else to do." He looks at me and then i lean in and kiss him on the cheek. He stares at me stuned and suddenly I hear feet running into the gym. We both turn toward the door and there is a man holdig a gun. He points it at Clyde. "You are tresspassing!!" He shouts. i notice him holding a bag and a wad of cash."Well you are too. plus you are robbing!" I yell. Clyde pulls out his cell phone and is pressing numbers on his phone. 91- "Put the phone down or i will shoot you!" Clyde doesnt put the phone down and suddenly i hear the gun go off. This is my chance to proove my love for Clyde. I leap in front of Clyde who is screaming and I feel a lot of pain near my stomach. I fall on the ground and the robber runs but I hear police sirens in the parking lot. I see Clydes knees by my head through the blurred vision. A dark pool of blood is surrounding me. I feel my stomach and wince. thts where the bullet hit me. "Alex! Dont close your eyes! I called 911!" He screams. Through my pain i didnt notice him dialing. He takes his untouched sweat towel and gently wraps it around my stomach. Tears are falling down my face and he wipes them away with the gentle touch of his finger. "Clyde I would take a bullet for you anyday." I manage to say. Tears are starting to fall down his face. I hear more and more sirens in the distance. There is a faint ringing in my ears. "Alex, please dont leave me, please. Stay with me Alex." Clyde is whimpering out. I cant hold on much longer. "Clyde I love you." I choke out. More tears fall down his face. "I have always had a crush on you i was just to nervous to let you know." He cries. I smile. "Alex I love you too." He leans over my head and collides his lips to mine for a few seconds but then The gym doors open and paramedics file inside with a stretcher. i feel something tugging at me. I think ro myself: love hurts. It feels like someone is pulling me away. I see a very pretty light and i imagine myself getting closer and closer until i reach it, and nothing in me hurts anymore.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1