BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Peeps (Peeps Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 222 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(135)

4 Star

(47)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 222 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12
  • Posted June 25, 2011

    vamparasites - a fun new direction

    Peeps. Thus far, it is the only work of Vampire Fiction I've been able to find that approaches the phenomenon from a scientific perspective. And really, that's something I'm aching for; in this last decade, where vampires have broken out like a plague and spawned hundreds of thousands of novels (starting out with that-which-shall-not-be-named which features terribly bland heroines and sparkly vampires), and each and every one of them centering around some cobbled-together cheesy romance, there hasn't been the imagination nor the interest in a more realistic view to the blood-suckers.

    I happen to liken this book to the Zombie Survival Guide, by Max Brooks - giving life and realism to another part of the horror genre. Bringing it down to actual factual possibilities (while, of course, keeping it engrossed in the world of fiction) and branching a story from that starting point.

    There are only a few problems that I have with Peeps, and none of them are very large; the token female says 'Dude' so much you actually hope you'll get a nickel every time she says it (by the end of the book, you'd be filthy-stinkin' rich); the great big evil at the end is kind of a let down (giant worms, anybody? C'mon.); the whole done-before secret agency (for VAMPIRES. ooh, spooky.);and the main character himself was kinda boring ('what's he like?' 'well, he's from Texas.' 'anything else?' 'not a d**m thing.').

    The positives, however, largely outweigh the negatives: the plot is fascinating, the vamparasitic explanations amazingly real, the pace is well-done, style beautiful, wit is just sly enough to be charming. The parasite-filler-chapters are just icing on an already very tasty cake. The way Westerfeld weaves together biology, historic illnesses, and myths dating all the way back to the Egyptians in order to bring his vampires to life is nothing short of astounding.

    Five out of five, definately a keeper.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    pretty good

    Peeps was a very interesting book. It takes place in New York City which is the perfect setting due to the fact that rats are a major part of this book. The rats are infected with a parasite which can infect people, and New York City is full of people. Cal, the protagonist goes through a series of problems that he must solve in order to save the human race from being 100% infected. Scott Westerfeld did a great job connecting the problems of the characters to real life dilemmas.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Made me interested in Science!

    I finished this book in about 2 days and it was pretty good. At first its kind of hard to keep up but once you get the hang of it you will love it. It was really interesting and surprising because well here's 2 things about me 1- I hate Science and 2- I hate rats, but this book actually got me interested in Science (rats are another story)! I know weird right, but it is pretty interesting. This gives you a new perpective about vampires (a more believable one). I actually found this a very good book even when at first you know I was disgusted by the details about parasites and skin mites etc. But then you know I found it very interesting and could actually see this happening I mean it's not like I'm entertained by the end of the world or diseases but this made me realize how exposed to disaster our society is. I really recomend this book even when it will gross you out at first but then you understand the cycles explained here and you are actually entertained by the weird situations. I saw lots of similarities with twilight (and I'm not talking about how they're both about vampires)- the inner conflict between Cal and himself is similar to the one Edward has and also how Cal wishes he were normal so he could be good enough for Lacey is how Edward feels about himself. But even non vampire fans will like this one cause it very different from other books (more believable). Makes you think if there really could be a disease like this going around.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    My Favorite Book

    This book is so amazing. It kept me interested the whole way through. Scott Westerfeld has a way of writing so nothing is boring. The chapters about parasites, which I thought would leave me bored, only left me wanting to know more. I only wish he would write a book fully of parasites. Not to say the story its self is not amazing. The characters are very lovable. I love this book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 29, 2011

    Amazing Book! :)

    Peeps is a great fiction book for any reader, especially the vampire fans. Scott Westerfeld does a great job at making a descriptive plot for the readers. He also does a good job of explaining to the readers the history of vampires and the parasite that started it all. Westerfeld has written many great books but this is my favorite. It got me interested in science, in general. Cal Thompson moves to New York for college. Within the first few weeks, he gets infected by a parasite known by many names, one of which is vampirism, if that gives you a clue. Cal is recruited to work for an unknown group of psych specialists, called the Night Watch, which hunt down vampires. In the process of finding and putting an end to Morgan, Cal's infector, he meets a girl that he really likes but can't do anything about, because if he "messes around" with a girl... You'll just have to read it to find out. Westerfeld makes it seem like vampires are real by giving a few scientific explanations for the beginning of the parasite, and he goes all out to explain it in an understandable manner. I think that the book meets the purpose of entertainment, but you would have to read it to find out for yourself. Peeps is a great book for any reader, but mostly vampire fans. Westerfeld is an amazing writer and makes all of his books good ones. I would recommend this book to anyone really. It is mostly directed at ages 12 and up, though. I hope that you will love this book as much as I did. It has an interesting story, and can really get you thinking.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    This makes into my top and also one of THE most unforgettable books I've read!!!

    This book is UNFORGETABLE!!! It makes me laugh cuz I sorta have a thing for freeky, shiver when its like 90 degrees and laugh at the irony tht I find the book funny. PLUS, Westerfeld is one of my favorite arthors and the narrative was INCREDIBLE and sarcastic and funny and real to life and he seems like someone I would LOVE to meet in real life!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Peeps: Scott Westerfeld

    I chose the book, Peeps by Scott Westerfeld, because my best friend read it for her English class, and she told me it was very interesting. I also like a few of Scott Westerfeld¿s other books, so I thought I¿d see what this one was about. Peeps is basically about a guy named Cal who was infected with a parasite that makes its host somewhat cannibal-like. Since Cal is only a carrier of the disease he doesn¿t go around killing people, but he has to capture the ones who do. I liked this book because it has humor, keeps the reader interested, and I learned some interesting facts about different parasites. <BR/> What I really noticed about Peeps was the structure of its chapters. It was almost like when you watch a movie on TV; there¿s the actual movie and every once in a while it cuts to a commercial. In the book the main story was in segments, and there were brief chapters in between in which Cal, the narrator, tells about some particular parasite. These brief little chapters were good because they tell you things about parasites that you may not have known before, and they can help your mind settle down after a dramatic event in the story. Overall this was a pretty good book and Scott Westerfeld wrote a sequel to it that I have yet to read. I would recommend this book to anyone who has any interest in science fiction or parasitology, and who would like to have something to read just for the enjoyment of reading.<BR/><BR/> -Jasmine E.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2014

    Sweet Death

    Hey! You st<_>ole my "useless info" joke!...And that wasn't even useless! XD<p>Put in Sweet Death. Her bio is at one of the st res, at the book "St. Raven" by Jo Beverly, under the heading "TOO MANY PONY BIOS!...Just tap this, okay?" Bear in mind that Sweetie is half dragon, though she's definitely on the ponies' side.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2014

    Dawn

    (Jhony wants to aplly too both of our bios is at fgv res 2 I think or 3.) I might have a rivelry with RD since we are both really fast.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2014

    The Stolen Prophecey part 1

    ((0kay. Here is some non-usefull infomation. This is sorta like a mlp Pacific Rim crossover but instead of Kaju, its different dragons. Told u it was useless.)) -__--_-__--_- Mayor Mare looked over the ruins, half way to tears. Rainbow Dash tried to stick togeather a split in half, scorched Daring Do book back togeather and sat down to try to read it but it fell in half again. Twilight lay stunned over by a nearby scorch mark that almost hit her. The monsters. They destroy. They kill. They steal. They finnaly came to us. It had to be Equestria. It had to be Ponyville. My home. Destroyed.((three character apps and i continue))

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2014

    Nitro

    "I CALL BEING A PILOT THAT MANS ONE OF THOSE GIGANTIC ROBOTS THAT KICK BUTT!!!!!"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2014

    Ryan

    Social Studies!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I lovvvveeeee

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2014

    BrightM&hearts&hearts n Orphanage

    B

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2014

    Amber

    She flys in boredly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

     I've read other Scott Westerfeld books and out of the ones I've

     I've read other Scott Westerfeld books and out of the ones I've read this is the worst by far. I had to force myself to read this book because he tires to tie in too much in the story. For example, he makes the character mentioned that the vampire was an ex on various occasions to the point where it was completely unnecessary. also Mr. Westerfeld attempted to make this book interesting but utterly failed by trying to add in too many factors. Such as trying to tie in rats in relation to the vampires. I love to read books but this book gave me various headaches until i made the decision to pause mid-book. If you are looking for a outstanding book about vampires try Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead,I really hope this helps and stops anyone from reading this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    So what to say about this one? Its a little different than some

    So what to say about this one? Its a little different than some of the vampire series I read. I try to read more but there are some hit or miss. This one was good, weird but good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2013

    Treasurehunt pinkgirilla

    Gorilla res ten

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2013

    Westerfeld does it again

    Every Scott Westerfeld book is amazing in its own right, but the way he writes Peeps is unique and exciting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2013

    Good

    Amaz ballz such a fantstballz bookMUST READ

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2013

    I'm not one to read books but when my mom came home from the lib

    I'm not one to read books but when my mom came home from the library and handed me this book (Peeps), I fell in love. I'm not big on vampires but I can't stop reading the book. I'm close to the end of the book and I don't want to finish it. I love how the author tells the story one chapter and then in the next chapter explains a parasite so that when you continue you get a good understanding to what the parasite is doing. GREAT book :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 222 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12