Customer Reviews for

Pegasus

Average Rating 4
( 215 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(105)

4 Star

(50)

3 Star

(29)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

great storytelling

No one can deny that Robin McKinley really knows how to write a fairytale novel. This one has plenty of action, a bit of angst, love and romance and loyalties and betrayals.

I was surprised though that it started out so slow for me. Maybe I've become a spoiled reader...
No one can deny that Robin McKinley really knows how to write a fairytale novel. This one has plenty of action, a bit of angst, love and romance and loyalties and betrayals.

I was surprised though that it started out so slow for me. Maybe I've become a spoiled reader, expecting books to just get right into the story. With Pegasus we get a build up, with some history and glimpses into the past before the story really takes off. However, this book is very well written. Robin McKinley is one of those writers that have a way with words. The story always feels polished and finished, never awkward. When I say it started out slow for me, it's the pace - the almost leisurely beginning. The plot is excellent and the storytelling is superb.

The main character is a princess, Sylvi whose family has been ruling within a land that used to be ruled by Pegasi. Hundreds of years ago, the two races came into an accord, a treaty. However, I don't think the two sides look at the treaty quite the same way...

Every royal member of the family gets bonded with a pegasus. The pegasi and the humans need a speaker, a magician to help them translate, since even with sign language meanings don't usually translate well between the two races. But when Sylvi gets bonded with her pegasus, she discovers that she can communicate with her pegasus without a speaker, and not only with her pegasus, but others.....and things become complicated from then on. Sylvi and Ebon, her pegasus, become real friends and do things together that haven't been done for hundreds of years, if ever.

A wonderfully written book - and yet I didn't like the ending. It was a rather sad ending. That's okay - it's not the authors job to write endings that I'll like, but an ending that rings true to the novel. And this ending makes me wonder if there are going to be other novels in the same world..... It's written well, the words and pages flow along.

Get the book - it would make a great Christmas gift for teens and adults - especially those who have a soft spot for pegasus and fairytales that don't always have a happy ending.

posted by rabidreaderWS on November 11, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing

I really loved many of McKinley's other books, so when I saw that she wrote a new one, I jumped on it. But I was terribly disappointed. The plot was slow and boring 90% of the time. I kept reading, in deference to books like "The Blue Sword," thinking that it just had t...
I really loved many of McKinley's other books, so when I saw that she wrote a new one, I jumped on it. But I was terribly disappointed. The plot was slow and boring 90% of the time. I kept reading, in deference to books like "The Blue Sword," thinking that it just had to get better. But at the end, I felt angry - the ending was awful, with no sense of satisfaction at all. In fact, I thought my Nook copy was broken, and that somehow there MUST be more to the story because that can't possibly be the ending!

posted by 3797785 on March 2, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 216 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Posted November 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    great storytelling

    No one can deny that Robin McKinley really knows how to write a fairytale novel. This one has plenty of action, a bit of angst, love and romance and loyalties and betrayals.

    I was surprised though that it started out so slow for me. Maybe I've become a spoiled reader, expecting books to just get right into the story. With Pegasus we get a build up, with some history and glimpses into the past before the story really takes off. However, this book is very well written. Robin McKinley is one of those writers that have a way with words. The story always feels polished and finished, never awkward. When I say it started out slow for me, it's the pace - the almost leisurely beginning. The plot is excellent and the storytelling is superb.

    The main character is a princess, Sylvi whose family has been ruling within a land that used to be ruled by Pegasi. Hundreds of years ago, the two races came into an accord, a treaty. However, I don't think the two sides look at the treaty quite the same way...

    Every royal member of the family gets bonded with a pegasus. The pegasi and the humans need a speaker, a magician to help them translate, since even with sign language meanings don't usually translate well between the two races. But when Sylvi gets bonded with her pegasus, she discovers that she can communicate with her pegasus without a speaker, and not only with her pegasus, but others.....and things become complicated from then on. Sylvi and Ebon, her pegasus, become real friends and do things together that haven't been done for hundreds of years, if ever.

    A wonderfully written book - and yet I didn't like the ending. It was a rather sad ending. That's okay - it's not the authors job to write endings that I'll like, but an ending that rings true to the novel. And this ending makes me wonder if there are going to be other novels in the same world..... It's written well, the words and pages flow along.

    Get the book - it would make a great Christmas gift for teens and adults - especially those who have a soft spot for pegasus and fairytales that don't always have a happy ending.

    15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2011

    Disappointing

    I really loved many of McKinley's other books, so when I saw that she wrote a new one, I jumped on it. But I was terribly disappointed. The plot was slow and boring 90% of the time. I kept reading, in deference to books like "The Blue Sword," thinking that it just had to get better. But at the end, I felt angry - the ending was awful, with no sense of satisfaction at all. In fact, I thought my Nook copy was broken, and that somehow there MUST be more to the story because that can't possibly be the ending!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2012

    Dont. Judge. A. Book. By. Its. Cover.

    This book was boring, confusing, and had the worst ending ever!! Dont judge this book by its cover!

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great idea, but fell short

    All right, this could have been an epic book. I absolutely loved the idea of a princess and a Pegasus and a whole different world! However, the over-detailed parts, the confusion of it all, were just too much for me. At first I thought the detailed beginning was just to start the story, but I came to realize it was throughout the book, which would not have been so bad if the story would not have taken so long to get to the heart of the plot. The dialog is really choppy, and the use of the word "dad" in the book threw off the tone for me. I just wasn't expecting a princess, her brothers as well, to call her father who is a king "dad." I think it just seemed too modern for me and broke the magic of it all.

    Even though I read through it all I'm not sure I grasped everything that had happened. There were too many flashbacks, which in my opinion were very confusing. One minute Sylvi is talking to her Pegasus and the next moment she is talking to her father. I'm not sure where the jump from twelve to sixteen came from. Also the names, I had the hardest time trying to remember who was who, there were a lot of characters and then most characters had a matching Pegasus.
    Overall this story was very slow. In fact nothing really happens till the very end of the book. This story had potential to be really good but was very disappointed with how very little action there was.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    review taken from One Book At A Time

    I haven't read Robin McKinley before. This one sounded interesting and the cover really drew me in. But sadly, I didn't enjoy this book nearly half as much as I had hoped. And I was sadly disappointed in the ending.

    I wasn't sure what to think of the human characters. I liked Sylvi for the most part. I think it's because she's a princess that she acts way older than her age. I really enjoyed her relationship with Ebon. I wish we got more of it. I also like Ebon because he was different in so many ways from the other Pegasi. But, I also liked all the other Pegasi that we get to know in this story. Their history and differences were really fascinating. I really liked Sylvi's father. He's regal and displays all the attributes necessary to running a kingdom, but I also liked the love he shows to his family.

    So were did the story fall for me? It was in all the details. I was bored beyond belief for the first 100 pages or so. There was too much information on the alliance and the history between the Pegasi and humans. There wasn't enough interaction between the two. I wanted a story about the relationship between humans and Pegasi, and not the reasons behind it. The last half of the book was better, but I still felt like the story was too complex.

    My last problem was the ending. I was just getting into the story around 300 pages or so and realized, I don't think this problem is going get resolved. And spoiler or not, I wish I had known before had that it doesn't. The book ends in such dramatic fashion that I flipped through the pages again just to make sure I wasn't missing something. I was not happy. Less happier still when I go online and realize that the author doesn't always write sequels to her story. I am happy to say though that a Pegasus II is slated for 2012 (according to the author's website). I'll read the damn thing because the author left me hanging so badly.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    Enchanting.

    A wonderful story about a friendship that transcends every barrier. Beautifully written, and as captivating as only a McKinley novel can be, Pegasus is a must-read for fantasy lovers. Impatient readers might want to hold off for a bit though, as the book ends with a cliffhanger that isn't due to be resolved until sometime in 2014, according to McKinley's blog.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 22, 2011

    Rating says it all

    Dont waste ur money

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2011

    do not waste your money

    i wish i hadn't!

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2011

    Sadly disappointed

    I was so excited to read this book because of all the great reviews and because, let's face it, the IDEA of Pegasus has such amazing potential. Sadly, I was disappointed. It was all I could do to get through the first two hundred pages of historical and background mumbo-jumbo! It seemed to me that there was too much "information" and not near enough character development. The glimpses of character development I did see were great, but so few and far between that it all just felt like a tease. By the time the book did pick up and actually become interesting and exciting, I knew there would never be enough time left to conclude anything! You wade through 200+ pages of boring background story, get about 100 pages of excitement and the oh-my-gosh-this-might-actually-turn-out-good feeling, and then it ends. Apparently there is a sequel coming out in 2012 and I will probably have to read it just to feel like I have gotten some closure. Hopefully the next book will suceed where this one did not. The story of a princess and a pegasus is too exciting to have been told so poorly.

    On a side note I will say that the cover art is absolutely, amazingly beautiful. Kudos to the artist!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2010

    AMAZZINNNGGG!!

    I'm a real fantasy princess type of chick so this book was just right for me. If you share my love for another world then read this! I know who i really am now. A PRINCESS OF PEGASI!

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2014

    Warning! This book is only he first of three books it is going to take to tell his story and it ends in a sad and shockin place in the story and the next book is already two years late from the original planned publishing date.

    Warning! This is not a stand-alone book! It is only the first of three planned books and his first book ends in the middle of a paragraph (literally!), and a really sad and shocking one at that. The second book is already more than 2 years past its original publishing deadline and the author has admitted publically that she is really struggling to continue the story. The writing is brilliant and the story (so far), engaging, but given the high probability that it will be years (if ever) for the story to be finished, there is no way i would spend $15 for this first enstallment!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2014

    Don't read this book.  At least not until you have its sequel i

    Don't read this book. 

    At least not until you have its sequel in your immediate possession. 

    I am a fan of McKinley's work and this book does not disappoint--until it abruptly ends. Unresolved.

    McKinley has a rambling style of storytelling that I find engrossing and apparently some others find boring or confusing. I supposed you give in to it and you like it--or you don't. Her books are more like experiencing the dream of a fairytale. Trying to make mundane sense out of her books is like trying to analyze your flying dream while you're having it. Just fly. 

    I did feel that what happened at the very end of the book should have been an event much earlier on, say, a third into the book. I wasn't bored with the other stuff, just thought that particular event needed to be moved up and then I wanted to read the rest of the two-thirds of it, dammit. It's not even anti-climactic as an ending, it's just not an ending. 

    I just spent this whole Sunday in a feverish daze (finally getting a break from work) to read this book in one sitting. When I came to "the end" I kept trying to load the next page. I thought there was something wrong with the digital nook copy I had purchased. When I realized that that was not it, I frantically went on the internet in search of the sequel. 

    There isn't one. 

    This book was released in 2010. I found a blog post in 2012 saying the author had (been forced to?) split what was originally one book into three parts. This is the first. That explains a lot. The bad news she announced (in 2012) was that she was having trouble rewriting the second section into a second book. 

    Today it is December 21st, 2014 and I found a blog post from two days ago saying no updates on a sequel. I want to tear my hair out. 

    I. Want. To. Tear. My. Hair. Out. 

    Many of her books have a slow (sometimes too slow of a) buildup, and then an abrupt (sometimes too abrupt of an) ending but this is on another level. 

    Do yourself a favor and don't start reading it until you know you can finish it (when all the sequels are out). 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2014

    Bios

    Name audrey looks dark brown hair tht falls down my back blue eyes tan blue tank top dark faded skinny jeans brown boots godly parent aphrodite age 16 weapons a braclet that morphs into a sword powers charm speak. Personality fun creative funny hobbieslove to sing and dance.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2014

    Rainbow Dash

    Poops and the poop turns into pony food.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2014

    Night blossom

    ~~A dark navy blue mare slowly steps out of the shadows•••
    She neighs and lifts her chin held high with her dark pink tail swinging side to side. Her green eyes narrowed at swallow dreams. Satern crush and aura bright standing alone~~~~~~~~

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2013

    hated it

    It didn't seem thought out, there was no real plot, no happy ending, and it often "rambled." Very disappointing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2013

    Marigold

    The golden Pegacorn trots around. Her golden wings gleam. Her white goat lver. Her man tail d horn all pure gold.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2013

    A foal

    Trots in. ( she will grow up to be an alicorn.)

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2013

    Moonlight

    The rainbow pegasus neighed at the newcomer wamly a smile on her muzzle

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2013

    Broken Heart

    Im from the old rp... im also in another mlp rp too... Vynx i think your in it

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 216 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11