Customer Reviews for

Pegasus Bridge

Average Rating 4.5
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2014

    Jordan

    *Stands, leaning on the desk.* I'm willing to offer my help to bring down a tyrant. What more do you want?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2014

    Rainbow Dash

    No more "cool and refreshing" water now! Poops diarrhea into the water.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    Excellent Book!

    If you enjoy Stephen Ambrose's style of writing, or WWII history, this book is a must read. This book is short, compared to his other books, but is worth considering for the dedicated WWII enthusiast! Excellent book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2013

    Good Read

    We always think of the US paratrooper being first in France, but this a great read about how the English practiced for and pulled off the first contact on D-Day. They held to vital bridges that helped make the day a success.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2013

    Mystery Mint/ Hope

    Name: Mystery Mint <br>
    Age: 16 <br>
    Pony Species: Unicorn (you never know if this is useful) <br>
    Group: Rockers
    Skin Color: Cyan Blue <br>
    Eye Color: Magenta <br>
    Eye Style: Rarity, except with only three eyelashes, all at the top <br>
    Hair Color: Violet-red, Violet-blue <br>
    Hair Style: similar to Twilight's; straight, but more scraggly <br>
    Clothes: lavender leopard print scarf; black shirt with short sleeves; violet skirt with cutie mark on it; purple boots (I think with buckles, I'm not sure) <br>
    Cutie Mark: A light violet heart woth a pale yellow lightning bolt through it. <br>
    Other: Her best friend is Cherry Crash, and she is a conon background character. Look her up <br>
    <p>
    Name: Hope <br>
    Age: 16 <br>
    Pony Species: Pegasus <br>
    Group: New girl (but wouldn't mind joining the rockers) <br>
    Skin Color: Light pink <br>
    Eye Color: Bright violet <br>
    Eye Style: Rainbow Dash <br>
    Hair Color: Bright blue <br>
    Hair style: Sweetie Belle style <br>
    Clothes: Bright blue t-shirt; bright blue skirt (but slightly darker); violet boots with pale pink, almost white, swirls on the sides <br>
    Accessories: Violet Messenger bag with cutie mark on it <br>
    Cutie Mark: a red baby bottle with a bright blue top <br>
    Other: came through the portal with her five friends, represents the Ement of Loyalty

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2013

    Vynx

    Human Name: Vynia Sestor <br>
    Pony/Equestria Girls Name: Vynx Silverstorm <br>
    Age: 17 <br>
    Gender: *Facepalms.* <br>
    Skin Color: Navy blue. <br>
    Hair Color: Silver-ish blue-ish <br>
    Eye Color: Blue <br>
    Hair Style: Vinyl Scratch <br>
    Eye Style: Twilight Sparkle <br>
    Clothes: White tee, cuffed button-up denim jacket, gray sweatpants with Cutie Mark on them, and silver Nikes. <br>
    Other Accessories: Gummy bracelets in different shades of blue. <br>
    Cutie Mark: The Aperture Science logo. Except without the words 'Aperture Science'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2013

    Cole

    Name above................grade is 7th.................has verey dirty blond hair and black eyes.........is shy, dosn't talk much and has no friends of a gf.........is normal sized. About 5'1 or 5'0.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2013

    Midnight and Fluttercup

    NAME Midnight Cloud/Melissa Crowley<p>
    GENDER Female<p>
    AGE 17 years old<p>
    GRADE Senior<p>
    DESCRIPTION Midnight blue skin, long and wavy dark blue hair with tiny streaks of white. Wears a white tank top knee length dress with a dark blue cloud in the middle. Black leggings and white hightops with her cutie mark on it. Black scarf and danggle earings shaped like wings.<p>
    CRUSH/BF None yet<p>
    BEST FRIEND Rainbow Dash<p>
    TABLE GROUP Fashionistas<p>
    NAME Fluttercup/ Faith Crowley<p>
    GENDER Female<p>
    AGE shes a sixth grader<p>
    DESCRIPTION Light green skin and long curly light purple hair. Wears a sky blue sweater with her cutie mark ((a purple butterfly with little white stars around it)) over a white tank top. Long blue jeans and purple sneakers.<p>
    CRUSH/BF Fierce Winds my crush....<p>
    BEST FRIEND Scootaloo<p>
    TABLE GROUP The CMC's

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2013

    Misty

    Name: Misty Cloud. <br> Gender: &female <br> Skin color: a misty gold. <br> Hair color: shades of blue. <br> Eye color: a misty tealish blue that seems to glow. <br> Clothes: usually wears a teal t shirt with a cloud of mist and rain that says 'the mist walker's watch' and a pair of turquise shorts with green pockets and sapphires on the buttons. Other times, she wears a longsleeve green thirt that says 'I am a proud member of S.T.O.M.P' with blue pants. <br> Talent: can easily see through hard sheets of rain, and is the best swimmer in the school. <br> Table group: I think she would be put in the athletes... <br> Alltime wish: to be the best swimmer ever!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2013

    Rainbow Dash, Twilight Sparkle, and Scootaloo

    If you don't know us, you are a dumbnut.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2013

    Good read

    The author does a great job of highlighting the real life character in this WWII operation. The fact that the pepole and events are real makes the book that much more exciting

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2004

    Personal and real

    I love the way that Ambrose gave the background on British unit members, French civilians and the Germans. This is a good combination of writing and editing. The reader is given enough to understand the characters and their positions to make this a human story, more than a historical event, but it doesn't become bogged down in either military or personal history. The writing is lively and crisp, which I think helps gives a voice to the characters. Another interesting aspect is that Ambrose doesn't stop at the end of the action, but brings the readers up-to-date on survivors. I enjoyed reading how Madam Gondree refused to allow film makers of 'The Longest Day' to say that she allowed any German soldiers to be billeted in her cafe. It's interesting that she claimed that she was so ill, that she couldn't share a bedroom with her husband, therefore, there wasn't any room for Germans. Of course, it's amazing how the British trained and managed to hold onto the bridge in spite of the odds. Ambrose points out their success in being a fast moving strike team for special operations but, sadly, the British ignored this success, and the British 6th Airborne was chewed up and and decimated through the attrition of infantry action. I can only admire the bravery of these British who faced overwhelming obstacles.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2003

    D-day envisioned in a new whole way.

    This book took place in the beginning of June 6th, 1944. The British (along with the Americans) were at war with the Germans. In the beginning of the book, the British were planning to invade Germany and take over Pegasus Bridge. It was called the coup de main operation. Pegasus Bridge was a riveting saga of world war dos. In the end of the book it showed love, emotions, and grief. It was a good book, read it, and don't forget, Good Luck, and Have Fun!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2000

    I wish that I had read it before visiting the bridge...

    A gripping drama of the brave soldiers who liberated the first patch of land (the bridge and a nearby cafe)of the occupied continent - and in doing so protected the flank of the entire D-Day Invasion! I became more interested in Pegasus Bridge after visiting the site several months back. There we met one of the British soldiers who landed with Howard in the first glider - although the local stores were sold out, he recommended this title as the best account of the early-morning June 6th events. Indeed they were a brave, heroic group of young men - I am pleased that their story has been told.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2000

    An Insight into the Lives of a Few Brave Men

    This is a very good book. It's the only one I know that goes into detail about this famous bridge and its capture. Almost every war movie with a 'David and Goliath' seen features a scene from this real life drama. I felt I got to know many of the people personally and wish I could. I plan to visit the bridge next month. I am a military historian and found the book a good blend of detail and action. My only reservation is in Mr Ambrose's writing style. Like a good wine, but not great, he's just a little too dry for my palatte. But I highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2000

    Pegasus Bridge

    I thought this was a very good book about a lesser known event in the invasion of Europe. Before I read the book I had no idea that there were any soldiers in France before the bulk of the invasion. It's a fast paced book and it keeps you on your toes. It deserves every one of those five stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2