Customer Reviews for

The Pelican Brief

Average Rating 4.5
( 199 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(99)

4 Star

(65)

3 Star

(28)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Grisham Does It Again

I loved the inocent Aura Darby had about her. John Grisham is the most incredible author i've ever read. And he made Darby so inocent and realistic is was mind boggeling. I Loved the quick to start out beginging. Unlike in the firm. Which is by the way my favorite book....
I loved the inocent Aura Darby had about her. John Grisham is the most incredible author i've ever read. And he made Darby so inocent and realistic is was mind boggeling. I Loved the quick to start out beginging. Unlike in the firm. Which is by the way my favorite book. Yet I dind't like how he wrapped up the problem. I still rate this book 4 STARS and hope it the best of luck.

posted by Anonymous on March 30, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

rather watch the movie

This was a SERIOUS law thriller. And I'm not to much of a huge person with law.

I enjoyed being chased down the New Orleans streets with Darby. And that Darby, was a very sexy down to earth, law student and might I add very strong and intelligent.

Darby made the...
This was a SERIOUS law thriller. And I'm not to much of a huge person with law.

I enjoyed being chased down the New Orleans streets with Darby. And that Darby, was a very sexy down to earth, law student and might I add very strong and intelligent.

Darby made the story what it is. Without her as a character this book may not have surivied

rather watch the movie...

posted by MsTiptress on June 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 202 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2000

    Grisham Does It Again

    I loved the inocent Aura Darby had about her. John Grisham is the most incredible author i've ever read. And he made Darby so inocent and realistic is was mind boggeling. I Loved the quick to start out beginging. Unlike in the firm. Which is by the way my favorite book. Yet I dind't like how he wrapped up the problem. I still rate this book 4 STARS and hope it the best of luck.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    A few years ago John Grisham wrote a novel The Pelican Brief. I

    A few years ago John Grisham wrote a novel The Pelican Brief. I recently reread it! Is it still as good as before?
    Synopsis:
    Darby is in her second year of Law School at Tulane University. She is having an affair with her professor Callahan. Life could not get any better! Then one day Justices Rosenberg and Jenson are murdered. Darby hears about the murders and thinks she can figure out who did it. Classes are skipped hours are spent figuring out a theory on who did it. One day Callahan takes a look at the brief after Darby dismisses her theory. He offers to show her brief to a friend of his in D.C. who works with the FBI. Little did they know the chain reaction of events that would happen because of this brief? People start dying in order to protect the interests of one wealthy client of White and Blazevich. Who can Darby rely on once these events start occurring?
    My Thoughts:
    I think that The Pelican Brief will have a permanent place on my bookshelf. I don’t know if it is the strong female lead character of Darby Shaw. Don’t get me wrong the other characters are great too!
    To write a good thriller there must be detail. It helps us understand the action later in the story. There are times when I want to say okay this great but why is this important! Then it is revealed later in the story. There were some slow spots in The Pelican Brief but still a great story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2011

    Most interesting!

    I am presently reading this book and enjoying the
    twist and turns it makes quite often.
    This is my fourth novel selecting since the purchase
    of my NOOK BOOK and I'm very happy with the online
    quickness of receiving my purchsed novels as well as
    the writings of John Grisham.
    Strickly adult reading,I am quick to select writings
    by this Author.
    I am 83 years old and read at least a chapter each night
    after retiring.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    rather watch the movie

    This was a SERIOUS law thriller. And I'm not to much of a huge person with law.

    I enjoyed being chased down the New Orleans streets with Darby. And that Darby, was a very sexy down to earth, law student and might I add very strong and intelligent.

    Darby made the story what it is. Without her as a character this book may not have surivied

    rather watch the movie...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2011

    Suspenseful book

    The Pelican Brief by John Grisham is a thrilling suspense murder mystery that keeps the reader enthralled. Grisham captivates the reader with detailed, fast paced sentences that entice the reader to want more.
    Darby Shaw, a law student at Tulane law school, sets out on a mystery to discover the killers of two Supreme Court justices. After writing a very controversial brief, she finds herself running for her life. Will Darby be able to stay alive on the streets of some in some of the toughest cities?
    This is a great book filled with suspense, and mystery that captivates the reader. Grisham does an awesome job of combining law and suspense into a splendid story that grabs the attention of everyone who reads.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2014

    highly recommended

    Great story. I first saw the movie and really liked it. The book is much better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2014

    Highly recommended

    Very good book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2013

    Boring.

    Too much talking.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2013

    Book

    I really liked it. I don't like reading but this kept my interest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    An awesome story

    This story is amazing!!! Though being a teenager i understand and enjoy this story (i know nothing about poltics either, except they all lie of course). Its my tradition to read this in the summer at least once from my library but now i have a nook! Overall thisy is worth your money and time to read it. For those who are going to buy this I hope you enjoy it as well.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2012

    Ok

    Liked it then then there was a gay sex scene and i couldnt read it afyet that

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2012

    Awesome

    I love this book it is really awesome and thrilling. But the best part is that im named darby, after darby shaw!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2011

    Great read and better than the movie.

    I love the story line and how it pertains to Louisiana. This book is great for detective type stories.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2011

    Excellent

    Great book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2011

    Idk if i should read it

    my sister says its a great b??k but me and her have ?pp?site tastes in b??ks and every?ne says its a great b??k........s? idk if i sh?uld read it ?r n?t. please help me decide!!!!

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    In the novel The Pelican Brief, John Grisham pulls the reader in by using a suspenseful style that keeps the reader guessing until the final pages. He has written many other books using this same style such as The Firm. Grisham has done it again with The Pelican Brief, a book that the reader simply cannot put down.
    The Pelican Brief shows the life of a young law student who writes a brief about who is behind the murder of two Supreme Court Justices. Whether it's true or not, there are those who want to keep it out of the hands of the FBI. They will stop at nothing to do prevent this from happening.
    The way Grisham describes the life of a brilliant law student on the run couldn't be better. You will feel like you are thrown into the story and are following Darby Shaw, the main character, as on her journey to help uncover the truth about a murder that may lead back to the government itself. This is a five star page turner to be experienced by readers looking for a suspenseful book to keep them guessing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2011

    If you weren't a Grisham fan throughout his career, read this and his other early books, he is why booklovers are booklovers!

    Suspenseful, fun read. I ran out of breath several times running and feeling the fear with the main characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2010

    highly recommended!

    I chose to read this book for a school project, not really knowing what it was about. Instead of reading this book because I had to for school, I read it because I could not wait to find out what would happen next. The book does get confusing at points, but all the questions are answered in the end. This was a great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2010

    Highly recommend this book

    John Grisham does it again! This book is a definite page turner. I couldn't put it down. There are alot of characters to keep straight but if you have a good memory you will keep up. The suspense in this book keeps you reading night and day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 202 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11