Customer Reviews for

The Pelican Brief

Average Rating 4.5
( 200 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(100)

4 Star

(65)

3 Star

(28)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Grisham Does It Again

I loved the inocent Aura Darby had about her. John Grisham is the most incredible author i've ever read. And he made Darby so inocent and realistic is was mind boggeling. I Loved the quick to start out beginging. Unlike in the firm. Which is by the way my favorite book....
I loved the inocent Aura Darby had about her. John Grisham is the most incredible author i've ever read. And he made Darby so inocent and realistic is was mind boggeling. I Loved the quick to start out beginging. Unlike in the firm. Which is by the way my favorite book. Yet I dind't like how he wrapped up the problem. I still rate this book 4 STARS and hope it the best of luck.

posted by Anonymous on March 30, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

rather watch the movie

This was a SERIOUS law thriller. And I'm not to much of a huge person with law.

I enjoyed being chased down the New Orleans streets with Darby. And that Darby, was a very sexy down to earth, law student and might I add very strong and intelligent.

Darby made the...
This was a SERIOUS law thriller. And I'm not to much of a huge person with law.

I enjoyed being chased down the New Orleans streets with Darby. And that Darby, was a very sexy down to earth, law student and might I add very strong and intelligent.

Darby made the story what it is. Without her as a character this book may not have surivied

rather watch the movie...

posted by MsTiptress on June 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 65 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2000

    Grisham Does It Again

    I loved the inocent Aura Darby had about her. John Grisham is the most incredible author i've ever read. And he made Darby so inocent and realistic is was mind boggeling. I Loved the quick to start out beginging. Unlike in the firm. Which is by the way my favorite book. Yet I dind't like how he wrapped up the problem. I still rate this book 4 STARS and hope it the best of luck.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2011

    Most interesting!

    I am presently reading this book and enjoying the
    twist and turns it makes quite often.
    This is my fourth novel selecting since the purchase
    of my NOOK BOOK and I'm very happy with the online
    quickness of receiving my purchsed novels as well as
    the writings of John Grisham.
    Strickly adult reading,I am quick to select writings
    by this Author.
    I am 83 years old and read at least a chapter each night
    after retiring.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2011

    Great read and better than the movie.

    I love the story line and how it pertains to Louisiana. This book is great for detective type stories.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    In the novel The Pelican Brief, John Grisham pulls the reader in by using a suspenseful style that keeps the reader guessing until the final pages. He has written many other books using this same style such as The Firm. Grisham has done it again with The Pelican Brief, a book that the reader simply cannot put down.
    The Pelican Brief shows the life of a young law student who writes a brief about who is behind the murder of two Supreme Court Justices. Whether it's true or not, there are those who want to keep it out of the hands of the FBI. They will stop at nothing to do prevent this from happening.
    The way Grisham describes the life of a brilliant law student on the run couldn't be better. You will feel like you are thrown into the story and are following Darby Shaw, the main character, as on her journey to help uncover the truth about a murder that may lead back to the government itself. This is a five star page turner to be experienced by readers looking for a suspenseful book to keep them guessing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2011

    If you weren't a Grisham fan throughout his career, read this and his other early books, he is why booklovers are booklovers!

    Suspenseful, fun read. I ran out of breath several times running and feeling the fear with the main characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    "The Pelican Brief" by John Grisham is an exciting novel with an amazing plot.

    "The Pelican Brief" by John Grisham is an exciting novel with an amazing plot.<BR/><BR/>Two Supreme Court Justices, named Rosenberg and Jensen, are murdered and no one can figure out why.<BR/><BR/>In New Orleans at Tulane University, Darby Shaw, an attractive second year law student, writes a thirteen page "brief" on who she thought killed the justices and why. <BR/><BR/>The brief was passed on to the wrong elements and people start dying.<BR/><BR/>Darby was on a date with her lover/professor when he got a little too drunk to drive. Darby insisted that she drive or walk, and to her surprise, he told her to walk. When the professor got into his car and started the engine, the car exploded, killing him on the spot.<BR/><BR/>Darby goes underground and finds a reporter, Gray Grantham,to help her piece together the deadly puzzle.<BR/><BR/>"The Pelican Brief" is a wonderful book that contains a variety of characters and twists that will keep you glued until the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2009

    Amazing!

    This was one of my favorite books i have ever read. It had a wonderful plot and after each chapter it makes want to read more. if you are looking for a book with breath taking endins and a lot of excitement then you should read the pelican brief.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2007

    Recommended

    Okay, saw the movie first, then read the book. Ordinarily this would not have worked for me as they don't do justice to books in film, but I liked the pacing and way both media were handled. THE PELICAN BRIEF is truly a page turner, and if you liked THE FIRM, you'll warm to this one right off. Fact is, I think it's even better. Plot: A tulane law student comes up with a theory about how and why to Supreme Court Justices are assinated. Trouble is, it's a good guess. All this is politically linked and you'll find the usual good cop bad cop situations. Car bombs, car chases, escapes, and nail-biting scenes make up PELICAN, and the premise, follow through, and writing are all great. Have read two other books I really liked recently, though totally different from Grisham's style and content, and those were 'Hotel New Hampshire' by Irving, and a wacky southern gothic funny/disturbing book titled 'Bark of the Dogwood.' All are great, but you just can't go wrong with a Grisham thriller.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2007

    A reviewer

    I just finished this enjoyable book, and I would highly recommend it to anyone that's remotely interested in law. This is a great legal thriller that is truly a page-turner. However, be aware that there are quite a few names to remember while you are reading. This is my second John Grisham book, and I am ready to move onto the next. He is a really great writer!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2006

    Finally conlcudes a long story

    Two Supreme Court Justices are dead and the book focuses on who did it, why, and who has what at stake? It makes a long circle to finally give you all the answers. Darby Shaw is pretty much running around from city to city to escape the strike of death from hired asassins, while the political concerns of Mr. President are mentioned. It's my second Grisham book I've read. I thought it was kind of long and the point could have been made with fewer pages. However, I did enjoy knowing where the tile of the brief came from. Very law 'oriented' type of book, that connects all the points of the story. Unlike The Broker, he does not give much description of the cities Darby visits. Recommend it as an enjoyable fiction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2006

    The Pelican Brief is awesome

    What is this story really about? A scandal, a fight to stay alive, or both. Thats the thing about the Pelican Brief. It's that you can't really decide

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2004

    Appeals to the everyday avid reader

    Grisham gives you a connection with his characters that you usually don't get with others. I found myself not wanting to read the last couple of pages just because it would be difficult to part with them. He also leaves open doors and doesn't end his story with a 'there you go thats the end and nothing more happends' kind of thing. As I discussed the book with friends we found ourselves wishing Darby was an actual person because of her drive and willingness to stay alive on her own. No male help is involved in her life and she was just fine and living. Writing about female power was probably my never filled want in books, until I read The Pelican Brief. Grishman has satisfied me as a reader and I look forward to reading all of his books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2003

    a reviewer

    I really enjoyed Darby's character. Finally a female who never becomes desperate and doesn't wait for a man to rescue her. I definately enjoyed the intrique of the politics.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2003

    Good Book

    This was a good book that held my interest. I really like most of the books written by John Grisham. This book was packed with suspense, intrigue, and mystery. My favorite by far though is 'The Firm'. I would definitely recommend this to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2002

    A Very Good Read

    This book was a very good read, my first my Grisham....would definitely recommend....has multiple plots that are all good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2000

    Not To Confusing for an 8th Grader

    I loved it because of the immaculate plot and edge of your seat excitement. I also had much enjoyment from it's great setting and the mixture of deception with the innocents of others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2000

    Legal Thriller in the Big Easy

    Grisham's tale of legal intrigue and suspense makes for a fast read. This story is populated with well-developed characters in the colorful setting of New Orleans. Some non-essential filler-stuff, but overall, a very entertaining book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 65 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4