Customer Reviews for

The Pelican Brief

Average Rating 4.5
( 200 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(100)

4 Star

(65)

3 Star

(28)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Grisham Does It Again

I loved the inocent Aura Darby had about her. John Grisham is the most incredible author i've ever read. And he made Darby so inocent and realistic is was mind boggeling. I Loved the quick to start out beginging. Unlike in the firm. Which is by the way my favorite book....
I loved the inocent Aura Darby had about her. John Grisham is the most incredible author i've ever read. And he made Darby so inocent and realistic is was mind boggeling. I Loved the quick to start out beginging. Unlike in the firm. Which is by the way my favorite book. Yet I dind't like how he wrapped up the problem. I still rate this book 4 STARS and hope it the best of luck.

posted by Anonymous on March 30, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

rather watch the movie

This was a SERIOUS law thriller. And I'm not to much of a huge person with law.

I enjoyed being chased down the New Orleans streets with Darby. And that Darby, was a very sexy down to earth, law student and might I add very strong and intelligent.

Darby made the...
This was a SERIOUS law thriller. And I'm not to much of a huge person with law.

I enjoyed being chased down the New Orleans streets with Darby. And that Darby, was a very sexy down to earth, law student and might I add very strong and intelligent.

Darby made the story what it is. Without her as a character this book may not have surivied

rather watch the movie...

posted by MsTiptress on June 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 100 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2013

    Book

    I really liked it. I don't like reading but this kept my interest.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    A few years ago John Grisham wrote a novel The Pelican Brief. I

    A few years ago John Grisham wrote a novel The Pelican Brief. I recently reread it! Is it still as good as before?
    Synopsis:
    Darby is in her second year of Law School at Tulane University. She is having an affair with her professor Callahan. Life could not get any better! Then one day Justices Rosenberg and Jenson are murdered. Darby hears about the murders and thinks she can figure out who did it. Classes are skipped hours are spent figuring out a theory on who did it. One day Callahan takes a look at the brief after Darby dismisses her theory. He offers to show her brief to a friend of his in D.C. who works with the FBI. Little did they know the chain reaction of events that would happen because of this brief? People start dying in order to protect the interests of one wealthy client of White and Blazevich. Who can Darby rely on once these events start occurring?
    My Thoughts:
    I think that The Pelican Brief will have a permanent place on my bookshelf. I don’t know if it is the strong female lead character of Darby Shaw. Don’t get me wrong the other characters are great too!
    To write a good thriller there must be detail. It helps us understand the action later in the story. There are times when I want to say okay this great but why is this important! Then it is revealed later in the story. There were some slow spots in The Pelican Brief but still a great story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2011

    Suspenseful book

    The Pelican Brief by John Grisham is a thrilling suspense murder mystery that keeps the reader enthralled. Grisham captivates the reader with detailed, fast paced sentences that entice the reader to want more.
    Darby Shaw, a law student at Tulane law school, sets out on a mystery to discover the killers of two Supreme Court justices. After writing a very controversial brief, she finds herself running for her life. Will Darby be able to stay alive on the streets of some in some of the toughest cities?
    This is a great book filled with suspense, and mystery that captivates the reader. Grisham does an awesome job of combining law and suspense into a splendid story that grabs the attention of everyone who reads.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2014

    highly recommended

    Great story. I first saw the movie and really liked it. The book is much better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2014

    Highly recommended

    Very good book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    An awesome story

    This story is amazing!!! Though being a teenager i understand and enjoy this story (i know nothing about poltics either, except they all lie of course). Its my tradition to read this in the summer at least once from my library but now i have a nook! Overall thisy is worth your money and time to read it. For those who are going to buy this I hope you enjoy it as well.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2012

    Awesome

    I love this book it is really awesome and thrilling. But the best part is that im named darby, after darby shaw!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 1, 2011

    Excellent

    Great book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2011

    Idk if i should read it

    my sister says its a great b??k but me and her have ?pp?site tastes in b??ks and every?ne says its a great b??k........s? idk if i sh?uld read it ?r n?t. please help me decide!!!!

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2010

    highly recommended!

    I chose to read this book for a school project, not really knowing what it was about. Instead of reading this book because I had to for school, I read it because I could not wait to find out what would happen next. The book does get confusing at points, but all the questions are answered in the end. This was a great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2010

    Highly recommend this book

    John Grisham does it again! This book is a definite page turner. I couldn't put it down. There are alot of characters to keep straight but if you have a good memory you will keep up. The suspense in this book keeps you reading night and day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    The pelicans are in flight

    Grisham's "The Pelican Brief" is an exquisite legal thriller. A very original and creative idea. Well-written, dramatic and thrilling, it is a page-turner that, at times, keeps you on the edge of your seat. Overall a great story, but some parts are just too slow. Too many characters to keep track of. Dialogue is sometimes flat. But still a great read, highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    "The Pelicans!"

    The Pelican Brief is one Grisham's best works. It's gripping and quite the page-turner. We follow Darby Shaw, a law student who playingly creates a brief that might just actually be on point with a crime that connects a lot of power people to it. From the President to professional assassins, Darby can trust no one and it seems, to her, that everyone is out to get her. The story is fast-paced and very thrilling. I definitely recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Supreme Court Murders -- No Clear Motive

    Clear Motive<BR/> Reader Rating See Detailed Ratings<BR/>Posted December 29, 2007, 12:50 AM EST: Washington wakes up to the gruesome news that two members of the Supreme Court have been murdered overnight. The shocking part was in their diversity. The old, should have retired years ago, Democrat Justice Rosenberg and the younger Republican Justice Jensen. The fact that they were almost always on opposite sides of any issue left law enforcement with no clear political motive. The only clues left behind seemed to be ones of the killer¿s choosing. A nylon cord used to garrote Jensen as he sat in a movie house watching a porno film. The Rosenberg affair was messy ¿ three people dead, three 22-caliber bullets to the head of each victim Rosenberg, a guard and an aid. Down in bayou country Tulane University law professor Thomas Callahan on hearing the news got roaring drunk to ease the pain. Rosenberg was one of his idols and he couldn¿t believe the end had come. While the whole country pondered the reason behind the killings Darby Shaw, a bright law student and bed partner of professor Callahan turns sleuth. Ms. Shaw pores over the current Supreme Court docket and eventually comes up with a promising case. And for the next four days she shuffles through pages of affidavits detailing lies and abuses by lawyers and their clients. In the end Darby Shaw writes an eight-page draft of what will later be called the Pelican Brief. Shaw is only half convinced that she is on to something, however, in spite of her skepticism she turns the pages over to Callahan. Callahan attends the Rosenberg funeral in Washington and passes the brief along to a colleague. And once copies of those pages get into the wrong hands Darby Shaw becomes the hunted. John Grisham takes us through a fast paced cat and mouse investigation, and in the end solves the puzzle to everyone¿s satisfaction. Tom Barnes author of: `Doc Holliday¿s Road to Tombstone.'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2008

    One of the best books I've read outside of the classics (Hemmingway; etc)

    In the book a Tulane law student, Darby Shaw writes what she calls the "Pelican Brief" after her law professor sees it in the trash he reads it then hands it to a few friends after that a few mysterious deaths happen and that's when Darby realizes she's being chased with a bounty on her head

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2008

    good overall story

    The characters in The Pelican Brief adventure to many different places and John Grisham makes you see hear and feel every place they went. John Grisham sends the story through twists, turns and when you think you know how it will end you¿ll find out how wrong you are. This book has crime in it, mystery that will confuse you until the end on who the culprit of the story is and law to put it together. This story is about a young smart female college student named Darby Shaw who takes a guess on how she believes why and who killed two justices which cause her to get into a lot of trouble. Darby Shaw normal life turns into a whole mess of her running from the people that want her dead and watching people around her die for her legal guess on the justice¿s murders. ¿The shock of it all, the fatigue, the fear, the pain and Darby buried her head in the pillow. She hated crying and this would be the last of it for a while. Mourning would only get her killed.¿(Grisham 137) The book keeps you turning the page even if there¿s something else you need to do it with its rushing suspense and interesting story line. This book is an excellent read but if the book was about 100 pages shorter it would have probably been better then it already is. The beginning of the story also is really boring making you wonder if you should keep reading but after about 50 pages the story has you completely hooked. Darby¿s trouble with her relationship and her traveling all over the place to avoid being killed by men that wishes to keep her quiet. The Pelican Brief is really only for people that like an excellent read about mystery and crime not really people that like comedy. This book creates a clear image of how the justices died and how the people that try to investigate get killed. If you don¿t mind long books then this will be an adventurous book that sends you into the life of a young girl whose life gets completely twisted around from a simple guess.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2006

    TERIFFIC!

    It was wonderful and was the best book about law. It was fun and made me think more of the government. This was my first John Grisham book and I hope to read more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2004

    ...Amazing

    This was the first book from Grisham that I read, and I couldn't put it down. As a highschool sophomore I really enjoyed his style of writing. Perfect tone, pace, perfecte everything. I highly recommend anyone who likes the law/espionage genre to purchase this book and give it a try.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2004

    The Best Book Ever

    Keeps you on the edge of your seat. Never predictable! Anyone who loves law and criminal justice will love this book. Its a book that has everything love, thrill, suspence, and its just wonderful. I would recommend this book to anyone!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 100 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5