Customer Reviews for

Pemberley Manor: Darcy and Elizabeth, for better or for worse

Average Rating 4
( 29 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

The true Darcy spirit haunts Pemberley Manor

In Pemberley Manor author Kathryn Nelson offers a new twist on the continuation of Pride and Prejudice. The blissful life that Jane Austen alluded to at the conclusion of her novel with the marriage of her characters is quickly shattered on the first day of the honeymoo...
In Pemberley Manor author Kathryn Nelson offers a new twist on the continuation of Pride and Prejudice. The blissful life that Jane Austen alluded to at the conclusion of her novel with the marriage of her characters is quickly shattered on the first day of the honeymoon. Fitzwilliam Darcy, the proud and arrogant man that Elizabeth Bennet married has a troubled past, confirming for me much of his actions in the original novel and why I have never thought that their happily-ever-after could just instantly happen because they declared their love and took vows. Hold on to your bonnets! If you thought that the Bennet family was dysfunctional, just wait until you meet the Darcy's.

We now know what Lady Catherine de Bourgh meant when she bragged about the true Darcy spirit. There is an oppressive presence haunting Pemberley Manor. Mr. Darcy's deceased mother Lady Anne is not the elegant, proper and gracious woman that one would suspect as the Mistress of Pemberley. It is her influence more than his gentle father that has shaped Darcy's adult personality. As Darcy gradually reveals his troubled past to his new bride Elizabeth, she is not only challenged with the demands of becoming the new Mistress of a grand estate, but in helping him discover the missing pieces to his parent's story that will free him from the past and allow him to find peace and happiness in their new life together.

Even though this deep psychological subtext may sound omnipresent, there are other intriguing elements to his novel that lighten it up. The evolving relationship of Darcy and Elizabeth as newlyweds is fascinating to watch. If there were ever two souls of opposite temperaments destined to be better as a team, it was Lizzy and Darcy. Their conversations run hot and cold to downright hilarious. We also see familiar characters such as Caroline Bingley evolve beyond her bitterness and spite, shy Georgina Darcy bloom and catch the heart of a new beau, Jane as angelic as ever, her husband Charles Bingley finally have a revelation, and new characters introduced that blend in and add interesting depth.

Nelson's skill with language is respectfully reminiscent of Austen, but not mimicy. The story is compelling, with a haunting mystery suggestive of du Maurier's Rebecca. However, Pemberley Manor does have its faults. After she starts off well presenting one of the villains as Caroline Bingley, she delivers an unsatisfying thud to the resolution of her character. Though I understood exactly there she was going in showing us the dark side of Darcy, he was a bit too tearful at times for my ideal romantic hero taste. As the novel moved along, I found it becoming more modern in style and progressive in thinking. When more than a ghost comes out of the closet, I was a bit taken aback by the characters 21st-century response to it.

Because Nelson was taken a risk and presented a side of Darcy and Lizzy that we have not yet explored to this depth, there will be those ready to throw a few disapproving bricks through Pemberley Manor's elegantly glazed windows. Regardless, I found her tale charming, intelligent and engaging; uniquely one of the most thought provoking and satisfying Austen sequels that I have ever read.

Laurel Ann, Austenprose

posted by Laurel_Ann on April 6, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

A lover of Darcy

I am a huge fan of all "Austen" books. I have read or devoured many, many sequels and "what if" stories on Pride and Prejudice. This particular novel didn't do a whole lot for me. I didn't appreciate my "hero" to be made out as a "cry baby". This disturbed me greatl...
I am a huge fan of all "Austen" books. I have read or devoured many, many sequels and "what if" stories on Pride and Prejudice. This particular novel didn't do a whole lot for me. I didn't appreciate my "hero" to be made out as a "cry baby". This disturbed me greatly. Darcy was sensitive but not pouting like a small child and crying constantly. At least not the Darcy I have adored and read about and I'm sure not the Darcy Austen created and depicted. I forced myself to finish this book. I enjoyed the writing however it did not keep "Austen-isk". She held me for most of the book. Let's try another Ms. Nelson!

posted by LoveofDarcy on June 30, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 30, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A lover of Darcy

    I am a huge fan of all "Austen" books. I have read or devoured many, many sequels and "what if" stories on Pride and Prejudice. This particular novel didn't do a whole lot for me. I didn't appreciate my "hero" to be made out as a "cry baby". This disturbed me greatly. Darcy was sensitive but not pouting like a small child and crying constantly. At least not the Darcy I have adored and read about and I'm sure not the Darcy Austen created and depicted. I forced myself to finish this book. I enjoyed the writing however it did not keep "Austen-isk". She held me for most of the book. Let's try another Ms. Nelson!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The true Darcy spirit haunts Pemberley Manor

    In Pemberley Manor author Kathryn Nelson offers a new twist on the continuation of Pride and Prejudice. The blissful life that Jane Austen alluded to at the conclusion of her novel with the marriage of her characters is quickly shattered on the first day of the honeymoon. Fitzwilliam Darcy, the proud and arrogant man that Elizabeth Bennet married has a troubled past, confirming for me much of his actions in the original novel and why I have never thought that their happily-ever-after could just instantly happen because they declared their love and took vows. Hold on to your bonnets! If you thought that the Bennet family was dysfunctional, just wait until you meet the Darcy's.

    We now know what Lady Catherine de Bourgh meant when she bragged about the true Darcy spirit. There is an oppressive presence haunting Pemberley Manor. Mr. Darcy's deceased mother Lady Anne is not the elegant, proper and gracious woman that one would suspect as the Mistress of Pemberley. It is her influence more than his gentle father that has shaped Darcy's adult personality. As Darcy gradually reveals his troubled past to his new bride Elizabeth, she is not only challenged with the demands of becoming the new Mistress of a grand estate, but in helping him discover the missing pieces to his parent's story that will free him from the past and allow him to find peace and happiness in their new life together.

    Even though this deep psychological subtext may sound omnipresent, there are other intriguing elements to his novel that lighten it up. The evolving relationship of Darcy and Elizabeth as newlyweds is fascinating to watch. If there were ever two souls of opposite temperaments destined to be better as a team, it was Lizzy and Darcy. Their conversations run hot and cold to downright hilarious. We also see familiar characters such as Caroline Bingley evolve beyond her bitterness and spite, shy Georgina Darcy bloom and catch the heart of a new beau, Jane as angelic as ever, her husband Charles Bingley finally have a revelation, and new characters introduced that blend in and add interesting depth.

    Nelson's skill with language is respectfully reminiscent of Austen, but not mimicy. The story is compelling, with a haunting mystery suggestive of du Maurier's Rebecca. However, Pemberley Manor does have its faults. After she starts off well presenting one of the villains as Caroline Bingley, she delivers an unsatisfying thud to the resolution of her character. Though I understood exactly there she was going in showing us the dark side of Darcy, he was a bit too tearful at times for my ideal romantic hero taste. As the novel moved along, I found it becoming more modern in style and progressive in thinking. When more than a ghost comes out of the closet, I was a bit taken aback by the characters 21st-century response to it.

    Because Nelson was taken a risk and presented a side of Darcy and Lizzy that we have not yet explored to this depth, there will be those ready to throw a few disapproving bricks through Pemberley Manor's elegantly glazed windows. Regardless, I found her tale charming, intelligent and engaging; uniquely one of the most thought provoking and satisfying Austen sequels that I have ever read.

    Laurel Ann, Austenprose

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2012

    For those who have wished for a sequel...

    This novel was not a bad read, somewhat predictable but entertaining, especially if you've wished to witness Caroline Bingley's comeuppance. I read the entire book in one dreary weekend and thoroughly enjoyed myself.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Pemberley Manor Dazzles and Impresses

    Calling all Jane Austen fans! Read all about the first year of married life for the beloved characters Fitzwilliam Darcy and Elizabeth Bennett. Just when you thought their story ended and they lived happily ever after, a novel comes along to show you that relationships take work. Fitzwilliam and Elizabeth Darcy are no exception. If you liked Pride and Prejudice, you'll enjoy Pemberley Manor by Kathryn L. Nelson as much as I did.

    The story begins on the wedding day of Mr. Darcy and Lizzy Bennett. Trouble ensues when some rather "high and mighty" guests make casual, but insensitive comments about the happy couple. Unexpected turns and misunderstandings plague the wedding night, and a year of ups and downs visits the newlyweds.

    The novel's rich dialogue and masterful descriptions make Pemberley Manor a delightful read. Unexpected transformations will cause the reader to smile with joy. Readers will also be happy to run into old friends - Charles and Jane Bingley and Georgiana Darcy - and meet new ones - the Alexander family and Mr. Trevor Handley. However, ghosts of the past, as well as the meddling ways of the Hursts and Miss Caroline Bingley, will haunt the Pemberley household. A grave mistake of pride will also threaten to destroy the Darcy's young love.

    After reading various novels where writers tried to give us a glimpse of what Mr. and Mrs. Darcy's life might be like after Pride and Prejudice, I discovered none have been so wonderfully told as Kathryn L. Nelson's Pemberley Manor.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2013

    enjoyed

    i enjoyed the story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2013

    I've read quite a few of the Pride & Prejudice follow up boo

    I've read quite a few of the Pride & Prejudice follow up books & this was one of the best because the characters didn't stray too far outside Austen's comfort zone. I would like to see another sequel to this offering with a bit less crying by Mr. Darcey & laughing by Elizabeth. They were in some state of hysterics most of the book. Not sure why all the crying by Darcey was necessary. The Elizabeth character also took on way too much of the blame for everything but overlooking these flaws - the read was still enjoyable. I like the characters - especially Edward & Trevor - who was about 200 years ahead of social change. (more 2013 than 1813)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2012

    Okahana

    *knocks* knock knooooocckk can i come in?*she says through the door* i brought oceaaaannnn

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    Kekoa

    He grabs the petsmart bag and grabs out a blue collar" i dont think youll like this but you need it just in case you get lost"

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I have read many variations and continuations of the P&P sto

    I have read many variations and continuations of the P&P story. Some I've liked, some I've loved and some have been pretty awful. This one started out so great that I thought I was actually reading a work by Jane Austen. Then Darcy becomes unstable, moody and one of the biggest cry babies I have had the displeasure to read. In fact, most of the men were very sensitive and weak. Tears came to them too often for my liking. I'm sorry I wasted my time on what had the potential to be a great book....not P&P (Darcy as Dr. Jekyl and Mr. Hyde).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2012

    Highly Recommended for the reader of all books Jane Austin

    This book isn't set in the early 19th century but at the time after WWII and its the story of an American woman's serch for true love. It is also the story of "real" Bingley and Darcy families and how JA came to find out about their family histories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2011

    One of the most enjoyable Austen-related works out there

    As a voracious reader with a special love for all things Austen, it is always with a guarded enthusiasm that I pick up any of the many sequels and variations available. Pemberley Manor was easily one of my favorites. I read it in a single night and was very sorry to have finished it. I sincerely hope Ms. Nelson will reward us with a continuation of her lovely story. And soon, please!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2010

    AMAZING!

    I am a huge fan of Jane Austen and Pride and Predjudice. I thought that this book was incredibly well written. This book has everything; drama, romance, action, and of course, those "aww!" moments. I believe that Katheryn Nelson did a fantastic job of bringing Elizabeth, Mr. Dacy, and the rest of the characters to life, and that Jane Austen would be very pround of this rendition of her classic tale.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Not original or very creative!

    This is NOT the best Pride and Prejudice sequel I have read. There are a lot that are much better. This just seemed to drag on and what is up with my Mr Darcy becoming such a cry baby as soon as he says I do. Author missed a perfect opprotunity to tell a great story and sort of let it slip through their fingers. Would not recommend this to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2009

    Jane Austin is back.

    It's as if Jane Austin picked up her quill and continued the tale of the Darcys herself. A very good read for old and young.

    Regarding the cover, it would be nice to see Fitzwilliam's eyes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2009

    Better than some PRIDE AND PREJUDICE follow-ups.

    This book is written somewhat in the style of Jane Austen and prvides a seamless follow-up to the book. My only real criticism is that the agony is piled on somewhat heavily, but otherwise I enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2