Customer Reviews for

The Penal Colony

Average Rating 4
( 102 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(35)

4 Star

(43)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Don't be fooled! This is a Great Read for every Gender!

Originally, I got this for my husband thinking it was directed for the gender of a male. I hoped he'd read it on our last trip since he hasn't found too many books that have truly captivated or interested him.

I decided to "preview" this book to see if he would act...
Originally, I got this for my husband thinking it was directed for the gender of a male. I hoped he'd read it on our last trip since he hasn't found too many books that have truly captivated or interested him.

I decided to "preview" this book to see if he would actually read it. I was a little apprehensive since for some reason the book cover and description didn't describe the book as something I would enjoy. Boy was I wrong! I didn't the book to him until after I finished reading it, LOL.


This was an Intelligent- Interesting- Believable exciting story filled with characters that were relate-able and had you rooting for the "good guys." The story and circumstances that developed within the book made you want to read on.

Terrifically written with believable dialogue throughout the story.

I read along and was even interested in reading the technical rhetoric which I felt only made you understand the obstacles the characters face in the book.

Well written!I found it to be a refreshing story all Genders would appreciate! I hope to find another book that can match it!

posted by ArmyMomBookWorm on November 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Didn't finish the book

Had a hard time getting into the story and finally gave up.

posted by goldieinaz on October 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2011

    Don't be fooled! This is a Great Read for every Gender!

    Originally, I got this for my husband thinking it was directed for the gender of a male. I hoped he'd read it on our last trip since he hasn't found too many books that have truly captivated or interested him.

    I decided to "preview" this book to see if he would actually read it. I was a little apprehensive since for some reason the book cover and description didn't describe the book as something I would enjoy. Boy was I wrong! I didn't the book to him until after I finished reading it, LOL.


    This was an Intelligent- Interesting- Believable exciting story filled with characters that were relate-able and had you rooting for the "good guys." The story and circumstances that developed within the book made you want to read on.

    Terrifically written with believable dialogue throughout the story.

    I read along and was even interested in reading the technical rhetoric which I felt only made you understand the obstacles the characters face in the book.

    Well written!I found it to be a refreshing story all Genders would appreciate! I hope to find another book that can match it!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2011

    best book I've read in a long time!

    The story line is intriguing, characters are complex, and the writing is superb. This book is over 600 pages of pure captivating dialogue that will keep you guessing until the last sentence!

    I'm hooked on Richard Herley's writing style and am looking for more of his books...

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2011

    Couldn't put it down

    I got this book since I just got my Nook and it was free. It was so good that I would have bought it and am going to check out the author's other books.
    The plot was good and the development of the main character was well done. If you like thrillers and "what's going to happen?" stories, this books for you.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    Outstanding!

    Excellent read. Well paced and pulls you right in. One of the best books I've read in some time. I wholeheartedly recommend this book. Would make a great movie.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2012

    This was so thrilling. I enjoyed all characters and the story.

    This was so thrilling. I enjoyed all characters and the story. Think I'll read Refuge next.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2012

    Not just for guys!

    I read this book only after reading a woman's review. Without that, I would not have read it. This is an amazing read. There is a flow and you want to happens next. You want to know RIGHT NOW.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2011

    Well Worth it!

    I had been wanting to get a hold of this book ever since I saw "No Escape" (the movie from the book) back in the 80's. The movie was so-so, but the premise was so original and compelling that I knew the book was going to be fantastic. Back the the book went out of print before I could buy it and thus escaped my clutches. Finally after 20 some-odd years, by chance I found it for my Nook!!!
    Upon reading it, it was well worth the wait. Herley transports you directly to Sert and experience it through the eyes and mind of an innocent man cast in to the wild world of the most vile prisoners Brittan has to offer. The solution of ridding the standard jails of these most violent criminals and putting them on a isolated island with no guards, no laws, and no escape was ingenious. Herley is a master of getting into the minds of these men and the societies they create in this wild, unruly place.
    The main character struggles to fit into the main village and find his place among them, while giving them his expertize on the one thing they crave most- escape! All the while the prisoners outside the village are plotting an attack, to re-gain their foothold on belongings, revenge or just for something to kill the duldrum.
    This book is action packed, psychological thriller and I highly recommend it to everyone!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2012

    Fabulous!,

    I could not put this one down! Great story, great writing!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    Really creative!

    Enjoyed the wrting style and really enjoyed how creative the story is....thank you!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2014

    Good book

    This was a well written book, with an interesting storyline. The characters were well developed and the story unfolded at a good pace.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2014

    Interestingly disturbing

    This book caused me to think hard about justice and man's ability to survive with what is at hand. Kind of savage, inhumane but at the same time empathetic and forgiving. Not my usual read, but found it an enjoyable distraction. 200 plus pages

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2013

    Great story

    I wasn't sure what to expect from this book. Like another reviewer, I purchased this book for my husband. I thought I would just read a little of it to see if it was something I might like. Once started I could not put it down. I had to know how this story would end.

    There were some parts that disturbed me, but that is also what makes you keep reading!

    Now hubby, is reading it, and doesn't want to be disturbed. I can't wait until he finishes it, so we can discuss it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2013

    Good read

    Ths is a great survival story it not to violent as you might expect from a book about a bunch of criminals on an island. The book kept my intrest and was easy to follow. The characters are easy to relate to and are descibed in datail. I beleave that this is a very likley possibility for the future of prisons. I highly recomend this book for people over the age of 15 for some violence and rape. Not aappropriate for kids younger than 13!!!!!!!!!!!! Hope you enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2013

    Bios/6's bio

    species :xenomorph.....type:warrior......

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2013

    Great

    Love this author, this is a very good book.
    BrynnS

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2012

    Plus 5

    Excellent want more. What happend

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2012

    Great read

    This book is very well written i know this author has a great hance to become a popular and well known writer best of luck to him

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2012

    Great book

    Great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2012

    Wonferful

    Very well written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    Great read, especially for free

    I loved this book, such an interesting set up. I'd definitely advise reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2