Customer Reviews for

The Penal Colony

Average Rating 4
( 101 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(43)

3 Star

(15)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Don't be fooled! This is a Great Read for every Gender!

Originally, I got this for my husband thinking it was directed for the gender of a male. I hoped he'd read it on our last trip since he hasn't found too many books that have truly captivated or interested him.

I decided to "preview" this book to see if he would act...
Originally, I got this for my husband thinking it was directed for the gender of a male. I hoped he'd read it on our last trip since he hasn't found too many books that have truly captivated or interested him.

I decided to "preview" this book to see if he would actually read it. I was a little apprehensive since for some reason the book cover and description didn't describe the book as something I would enjoy. Boy was I wrong! I didn't the book to him until after I finished reading it, LOL.


This was an Intelligent- Interesting- Believable exciting story filled with characters that were relate-able and had you rooting for the "good guys." The story and circumstances that developed within the book made you want to read on.

Terrifically written with believable dialogue throughout the story.

I read along and was even interested in reading the technical rhetoric which I felt only made you understand the obstacles the characters face in the book.

Well written!I found it to be a refreshing story all Genders would appreciate! I hope to find another book that can match it!

posted by ArmyMomBookWorm on November 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Didn't finish the book

Had a hard time getting into the story and finally gave up.

posted by goldieinaz on October 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 101 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2013

    Bad

    Cant understand all tge glowing reviews. Found thisvdull, boring and dry as dust. Made it to pg 107 before giving up. Jyst to boring to continue. Would not recommend at all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2013

    I decided to read this book based on some of the reviews, even t

    I decided to read this book based on some of the reviews, even though it is not my "typical read." Prison setting, criminal mind, disturbing acts... that is what I thought it would be. This is really more of a survival tale of an innocent man thrown into extraordinary circumstances... an island of criminals, some of whom work together to create a community in order to survive. The characters drew me in, the unique circumstances kept me curious, and the desire to discover the outcome of this unusual story had me hooked. The ending was a little abrupt, but not unexpectedly so. An enjoyable tale for many different types of readers. Give this one a chance to surprise you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2013

    A source of internal strength

    A good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2013

    Enjoyed.

    Well written story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2013

    P

    Xzdpxuppimp

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2013

    Very good read

    First book I have read by Richard Herley. Very good plot. Dont miss this one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2013

    Enjoyable Read

    I really enjpyed this booK. Although a bit predictable in some areas, nevertheless, the story line held my interest throughout. I would definitely read more selections by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2013

    Just ok...

    Had to finish the story... sorry, there are more interesting reads than this. Not a good ending either.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2013

    Good read

    I really enjoyed reading this book. Although I must say, it left me wanting more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    A marvelous book. Much more than I expected from a freebie. It i

    A marvelous book. Much more than I expected from a freebie. It is indeed,as another reviewer has said, something like an adult Lord of the Flies, but one in which outcasts manage to construct a successful and humanity-preserving self-government. This book has stuck in my mind, and I fully intend to return to it for a reread. I am trying to give it 5 stars, but the website keeps erasing my rating and then saying I must give a rating. I will see if it will accept 4 stars, but I really wish to give 5 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2012

    Plus 5

    Excellent want more. What happend

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2012

    good

    Long book but good read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2012

    Exciting!

    kept my attention through the whole book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2012

    Overall really liked.

    Overall I really liked the book but I was a little disappointed with the ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2012

    Great read

    This book is very well written i know this author has a great hance to become a popular and well known writer best of luck to him

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2012

    Great book

    Great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2012

    Very good. Would read this author again.

    Very good. Would read this author again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2012

    Very good read, and unusual

    Great story, great characters

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2012

    Wonferful

    Very well written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2012

    nice read

    ..

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 101 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 6