BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Penance: Introducing Detective John Lynch

Average Rating 4
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Read this book!!

I normally do not read mysteries or action based novels. But this one had me hooked from the first page. I read it quickly, but not too quickly. Some books I absolutely cannot put down and read through it so rapidly that I don't retain anything from the novel. I call th...
I normally do not read mysteries or action based novels. But this one had me hooked from the first page. I read it quickly, but not too quickly. Some books I absolutely cannot put down and read through it so rapidly that I don't retain anything from the novel. I call them throw away novels. This is not a throw away novel. I read it thoroughly,and enjoyed every page.

Read this book!

posted by 17661960 on June 14, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Just another sikly conspiracy story

I hate spy stuff. This book should not be billed as a mystery, just another conspiracy in the white house thing. I really, really hate books like this. On the plus side, the book was cheap, and the writer has ability. Just not my genre.

posted by sansmerci on August 10, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    Read this book!!

    I normally do not read mysteries or action based novels. But this one had me hooked from the first page. I read it quickly, but not too quickly. Some books I absolutely cannot put down and read through it so rapidly that I don't retain anything from the novel. I call them throw away novels. This is not a throw away novel. I read it thoroughly,and enjoyed every page.

    Read this book!

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2013

    Good read

    Good mysrery. Look fotward to his next book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    very good book I enjoyed reading this book. A little confusing i

    very good book
    I enjoyed reading this book. A little confusing in the beginning with going back and forth between present day and the 1970s - just understand that the father of the detective was also a cop and the 70s is his story while the present is the sons story = they both tie in together, so just hang in there!

    The other part I had to get used to was the cast of characters page in the beginning of the book - I kept having to switch back to the first page to find out who's who. The author only introduce/explained some of the charaters while reading (didnt like that much in the first couple chapters)

    Overall, its a book mystery book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2013

    Really loved this book!  It was funny while at the same time, ve

    Really loved this book!  It was funny while at the same time, very graphic and realistic.  O'shea takes us on a fast and bumpy ride through
     Chicago politics, race baiting, police department politics; all while watching a serious killer gun down innocent lives.  Throw in the Feds
    doing their clandestine things and you have a book you can't put down.  I can hardly wait for John Lynch to surface again in the next book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2013

    Just another sikly conspiracy story

    I hate spy stuff. This book should not be billed as a mystery, just another conspiracy in the white house thing. I really, really hate books like this.

    On the plus side, the book was cheap, and the writer has ability. Just not my genre.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2013

    Good suspenseful reading.

    First time reading Dan O'Shea. Good suspenseful reading. I will read more by Dan O'Shea!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2013

    Good book

    Excellent read. A thinking person's book as you really have to pay attention to the emerging ( and amazing "gotchas") story. I see where other folks mentioned having to refer to the cast of characters to keep up with the story. I did too, but it allowed the author the ability to really focus on the plot - which is compelling. As far as moving back and forth between past and present, that is integral to the plot line and is not at all confusing. I would highly recommend this book. It made me lose some sleep!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2013

    Great read!

    This was a great detective novel. Suspenseful, fast-paced, exciting. I thoroughly enjoyed it. Definitley worth the read. I've even pre-ordered the next book in the series because I can't wait to see what trouble John Lynch gets into next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2013

    It's OK for reading on a flight, at the gym...

    The first half of the book is OK... weird and unexpected, which is good. The second half, --and no plot spoilers here-- where they resolve the crime, is thinner, plot wise.

    Overall, not bad. Not great, but not bad.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2013

    great read

    First time reading this author. Will watch for more

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2013

    Good Read

    Liked this,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2013

    Entertaining

    Good book. Hard to follow the plot sometimes. Needs better proofreading. Liked the characters and intrigue.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    Highly recommended - a must read

    This is the first book I've read by this author, but I am thoroughly enjoying it. It has a plot full of surprises and twists.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    Very offensive

    I found I could not finish this book as it was very crude and offensive. It's not for everyone.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2013

    E

    Great story and great characters. Lots of action. It isn't a mystery...government group covering tracks and Chicago law enforcement hunting a deranged murderer

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2013

    Loved john lynch

    Enjoyed the plot and different time frames. Please write another

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2