Customer Reviews for

The Penderwicks: A Summer Tale of Four Sisters, Two Rabbits, and a Very Interesting Boy

Average Rating 4.5
( 203 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(154)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Young summer love and parents who just don't get it.

The Penderwicks was an amazing book. When I first read the long title, I thought, how in the world with all that fit together to make an interesting story. I really enjoyed the sisters and their 'love' interests. Rosalin and Cagney planning ways to meet each other, J...
The Penderwicks was an amazing book. When I first read the long title, I thought, how in the world with all that fit together to make an interesting story. I really enjoyed the sisters and their 'love' interests. Rosalin and Cagney planning ways to meet each other, Jeffrey and Skye or Jane just playing together and having fun. Mrs Tifton, Jeffrey's mother, was a huge snob just because the girls were not as rich as herself. The adventures these characters find themselves in truely makes you feel as if you are a character in the background participating. The soryline is certainly one that keeps you trying to figure out what could possibly happen next.

posted by Anonymous on June 25, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

Purchased this book to give to my 11 year old niece. Liked the basic story, but was disappointed that the author chose to use words like 'murder' and 'serial killer' in her book. One character talks about going insane and murdering her siblings, then later tells her s...
Purchased this book to give to my 11 year old niece. Liked the basic story, but was disappointed that the author chose to use words like 'murder' and 'serial killer' in her book. One character talks about going insane and murdering her siblings, then later tells her sister to get out of her room or she'll kill her. Then at the end of the book the kids talk about how one of the characters could have been a serial killer. Just found it odd that in this book that type of language was really necessary to get the author's point accross. I'm sure some kids might talk that way, but just didn't think such negative words/images needed to be used in a children's book. I gave it to my niece, but not without some hesitation.

posted by Anonymous on July 13, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 206 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2008

    Young summer love and parents who just don't get it.

    The Penderwicks was an amazing book. When I first read the long title, I thought, how in the world with all that fit together to make an interesting story. I really enjoyed the sisters and their 'love' interests. Rosalin and Cagney planning ways to meet each other, Jeffrey and Skye or Jane just playing together and having fun. Mrs Tifton, Jeffrey's mother, was a huge snob just because the girls were not as rich as herself. The adventures these characters find themselves in truely makes you feel as if you are a character in the background participating. The soryline is certainly one that keeps you trying to figure out what could possibly happen next.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2010

    Fantastic Book

    Alot of stories have terrible tragedy, but this was a wonderful break from stories of sadness. It is pure playfullness.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2011

    Great book!

    The Penderwicks is a really good book! It is filled with adventure. The Penderwicks is never boring. Everybody should read it!

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2008

    A realistic, awesome story!

    This book is one of my all-time favorites! I loved the plot, with its unexpected twists and turns. It reminded me a lot of a modern Little Women, and it was such a pleasant book. I loved the way the characters were developed, Rosalynd with her motherly attitude and her love of cooking, Skye with her fiery temper and a tomboy, Jane with her imagination and love of writing stories, and Batty with her playfulness and cute butterfly wings. I liked their little adventures, like when they were being chased by the bull, burning brownies, spying on Mrs. Tifton and Dexter, and trying to catch the rabbits. After reading the book, it just gives you a cozy, familiar feeling. I thought it was very realistic, and it wasn't a story that was too perfect, like things went wrong, and then everything is alright again. Awesome book!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2013

    Best book!!!!!!!

    This book is a great story for children ages 9-12.
    It was one of my favorites as a kid and is very family friendly. I would highly recomend this book. I loved this book.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2013

    You have to read this book.

    This is my all time favorite book and recommend this to everyone. Young and old will love it, you get to know and love he four penderwick sisters. And to all the jeanne birdsall fans out there: jeanne is making 2 more books 4 the series, one of which is coming out in 2014!

    MusicLover345

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 24, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Everyone should read this book!!!

    I really enjoyed this book because it was full of adventure. It was a really fun book. I might read it again and again and again. I hope all the readers will like this book too!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2010

    Quality Book

    This book will make you laugh, over the sisters and their adventures and how much you can relate to them, whether one is like you or someone you know. This is a great book for kids and adults alike. It was very enjoyable!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2013

    B

    The penderwicks is awesome. Just finished the 1st book and loved it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2013

    The Penderwicks

    This book is very absorbing with each character having a different point of view, and suspension at every page turn. The Penderwick family currently consists of 5 people. The dad,, mr. Penderwick who loves plants, Rosalind the oldest and most sensible, Skye, an adventurous girl with a toungue that should be bit more often, Jane, a writer who thinks outside the box, and Batty, the youngest who wont go anywhere without her beloved black and orange butterfly wings. Their mother passed away of cancer 2 weeks after Batty was born. I reccomend this book to anyone who loves a book with adventure, humor, and suspense, all stirred up in one fabulous book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2013

    Woe

    This is a awesome book sooooooogoood

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    READ!!!!!!!!!!

    I read this series and is probably one of the books i recomend to people most. The series ccontains very valuble lessons about friendship, and sisterhood. I would reccomend this book/series to fourth and fifth graders! BEST BOOK EVER!!!!!!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    Great book

    This is a awesome book!!!!!!!!!! You should defenitly read it!!!!!! I loved it!!!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    TOTS AMAZING!

    This book was an awesome read! I really loved this book! It was so well written that i read it 4 hours on end. When Jeanne Birdsall wrote this book she really knew what she was doing and she knows how 2 make people laugh! I totally recomend this book 2 u. If u r looking 4 a book 2 read then im saying this is the book 4 u 2 read.remember what i said... its really well written!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2012

    Read this

    This is a great book. One thst the whole family will enjoy. The other three are greatvas well and I'm really excited about the fourth.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2012

    Love

    GREAT, AMAZING

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2012

    AWSOME BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    a book kids are sure to love!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    Amazing!

    In this well written book there are 4 girls and a dad and there vaction. Oops! I can't forget the dog, hound, who is constantly chewing things! Well, out of the four girls, Rosalind is the oldest and likes to bake and care for her youngest sister Batty. Skye is next and is adventourois and definetly a tomboy. She is my favorite character. Third, we have Jane. She absoultly loves writing, but is very messy. And last but not least of the sisters, we have batty. She is also my favorite character. She likes to expore and play with hound. And has a good imaganation. As we start the book, the penderwicks are in the car, driving to a cottage to stay the summer. They have never been there before

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2012

    I LOVE THIS BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I loved this book & so did most of the girls I know.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2012

    Cool book

    I love this book, it deserves the Newberry award! I hope it doesn't end here! This novel is a great tale that I can relate 2! :D

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 206 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11