BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Penderwicks on Gardam Street

Average Rating 4.5
( 132 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(101)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

The penderwicks

I loved the first book and this one is just as good. Hope all if you book lovers out there have a chance to enjoy a good book lije this.

posted by Anonymous on February 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Love

LLLLLLLOOOOOOOOVVVVVVVVEEEEEEE IIIIIIIITTTTTTT!!!!!!!!!!!! YOU MUST READ THIS!!!!!!!!!!

posted by Anonymous on January 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 133 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    Love it

    I love the Penderwicks series sooooo much and this book is by far my favorite out of the three.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2012

    The penderwicks

    I loved the first book and this one is just as good. Hope all if you book lovers out there have a chance to enjoy a good book lije this.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2010

    penderwicks review by savannah viereck

    i enjoyed this book because i could not stop reading.ir had a gret ending and if anyone wants to read it go ahead because it has all the qualities for a great book

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A Complete Book Review Of THE PENDERWICKS ON GARDAM STREET

    The book I chose to read was The Penderwicks On Gardam Street. It is a sequel to The Penderwicks. The book takes place Fall 2008 in a town called Cameron, Massachusetts. The prologue starts the book off when their mother was alive but sick. She dies and gives the Penderwick's Aunt Claire a very important blue letter. In chapter one the girls have a new neighbor single mother Iantha and her baby boy Ben and orange cat Asimov. Mr. Penderwick reads the note his wife left him long ago it it says that four years after her death he needs to start dating. In chapter six the girls decide to hold a MOPS (Meeting Of Penderwick Sisters). Rosalind, Skye, Jane, and Batty come up with a "Save-Daddy Plan". Their plan is to set up three more horrible dates for their father so he'll want to stop dating. Throughout the rest of the book lies are caught up to them and the family also becomes good freinds with Iantha and hang out with Tommy Gieger and his football loving older brother.

    I found a lot of positives, and some negatives, in the book The Penderwicks On Gardam Street. One thing I like was that each character is unique in personality and physical traits. I liked the change in Skye throughout the novel, from fiery to bold and truthful. The mysterious ending and how everything works out right and everybody is
    happy. The description throughout the novel was not very creative and didn't grab my attention. I didn't see why the Rosalind and Tommy relationship was necessary. I hated reading about the character Batty and didn't understand what made her four year old adventures so interesting. All in all I liked reading this novel.

    I really liked this author's writing style. It was clear and easy to read and was full of expression, like when she was describing Jane's feelings throughout the book. Jeanne Birdsall wrote The Penderwicks in third person so you could see the outlook of events from different perspectives. She used pretty good sensory vocabulary
    throughout novel, for example, in the first chapter when Rosalind was baking a cake. Her writing is sometimes a little old fashioned, but at the same time casual because she used words like oaf and their adventures.

    I would and would not recommend this book for many reasons. I would because it is descriptive, has likable characters, has a amazing plot and ending. I would say no in some cases because the first original book is better and you wouldn't understand this book without reading the first. If you're ten and up I would recommend it. If you were younger than ten I would not because there is talk about the father dating and also Rosalind dealing with a crush, besides that there is nothing to look out for. Similar novels include The Penderwicks by Jeanne Birdsall, Mysterious Benidict Society by Trenton Lee Stewart, and Savvy by Trenton Law. I would also recommend The
    Mysterious Benidict Society by Trenton Lee Stewart, The Outsiders by S.E. Hinton, and Inkheart by Cornelia Funke.
    I loved reading and reviewing this book.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2012

    I LOVE PENDERWICKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2012

    Love this

    I love this book so far and i loved the first one to :)!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    I love the penderwicks!

    Gr8 book 4 people who like a little adveture!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2011

    Amazing! Great book!

    This book is a great addition to the series. When Aunt Claire comes to visit, bringing a letter from the girls mother saying. that she wants Mr.Penderwick to start dating agian, Skye, Rosalind, Batty, and Jane hatch the Save-Daddy Plan, to prevent having a stepmom. At the same time, Rosalind has some trouble with Tommy Geiger, Jane and Skye swap homewok assignments, causing major problems and lies, Batty gets scared of the Bug Man, and in a new neighbor moves in with her young son, both of which the Penderwicks quickly befriend. This is an amazing sequel, and a great book. I can't wait until the third one comes out!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2011

    Highly recommended

    Jeanne Birdsall captures alll the things you need to laugh all in this book! The Book is to well written to be put down untill you reach the last word in the book! You have to read this not just the whole book but the Epilogue too!!!! But first you might want to read "The Penderwicks".

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    Penderwicks

    I love the penderwicks!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2013

    My favorite book!!!!!!!!!!! Ever!!!""!!!!! My favorite book ever!!!!!!

    I loved this book! It is a great book. It is a great kid friendly book. I recommend it for ages 9-12. I would also recommend reading The Penderwicks before you read this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2013

    Wow

    I love the penderwicks on gardam street because it shows how hard life is with no mom and your dad about to remarry.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2013

    Love it

    I've only read the sample and it already seems awesome!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2013

    I love it

    I read the first and third book. So far i have loved all of them. Thi is one of those series that makes u sad when u finish it. This is a book that is worth buying. U can read it a million times and still love it. Leaves you wanting more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Ha ha

    Jeanne birdsall know how 2 make people laugh! If u r looking 4 a good comedy book then this is the 1

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2012

    11/5/12

    Good book! Started it on a friday and ended it sunday night!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2012

    Grea Love the pendewicks

    Ths book shows the penderwicks life at home. It is very funny.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    Luv

    I luv the penderwick seires read this book 5 times all ready

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    I LOVED THIS BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I LOVE THE PENDERWICKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    Could be better

    This book was good but i.just recently.read the first book and thought that the first book was better and less predicable than this book butbi still enjoyed it and thought it was cute short and refreshing

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 133 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7