Customer Reviews for

Penelope

Average Rating 2.5
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2012

    I tried

    To like this book. I kept waiting for it to get good or make sense but it never did. And I like alot of books...not fussy usually but i have no idea how this made the hot reads list.dont waste your precious reading time.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2012

    Just awful- don't bother.

    I agree with most of the other reviewers who stated they expected the novel to develop and the characters to form into their own- this doesn't happen. A very lack luster stance on college life and an overall disappointment.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2012

    Save ur $

    Worst book i have read in a long time. No character development she stays naive and undeveloped the entire book despite the situations she is put in or encounters. The book describes what i am saying in one question from Lan when she asks Penelope if she is mentally fragile. Save ur money and skip this book.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2012

    Boring, dull, not worth the read.

    I agree with most other reviews, this book is boring and I kept waiting for the interesting part to come...but it never did. Don't waste your time like I did!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2012

    Really?

    I read this book expecting something to happen, but it never did. The author spent the entire book making fun of Harvard, but the characters that raged against the norm were too boring and similar to the people they were laughing at to cheer for. What a disappointing book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Note: I received a complimentary advance copy of Penelope to rev

    Note: I received a complimentary advance copy of Penelope to review.
    Penelope is a socially awkward young woman who begins her first year at
    Harvard. This is Penelope's story of trying to fit in. While there
    are some issues that are specific to Harvard, most of the book could be
    representative of any college, or in some cases, even high school. There
    are a lot of relationship, social and academic issues that are not
    necessarily unique to any school. I was thinking that maybe this
    book should be read by graduating seniors and discussed. It is a
    light-hearted look at freshman year but it does address situations
    regarding class selection, auditing, parties, making friends,
    extracurriculars, competitiveness, etc. It is not unusual for a freshman
    to become overly stressed about his or her experiences and this book
    looks at the humor of it. I did chuckle in many different places,
    sometimes because I remember going through some of the same things
    during my first year at college, and others just because they were
    really funny: "Penelope was duly awed. Harvard stretched languidly
    and impressively into the rest of Cambridge like a redbrick monopoly. It
    was larger and more obliquely Federalist than Penelope remembered and,
    if she thought about, she was intimidated. To her right she saw a large
    clock tower; to her left she saw a tobacco shop filled with antique
    pipes. In the center she saw a gigantic Au Bon Pain. "Wow,"
    she observed to her mother. "I know," said her mother. "I
    have never seen that big of an Au Bon Pain before either.""
    One negative is Penelope's personality. She is a complete pushover and
    truth be told, has absolutely no personality. She agrees with
    practically everyone, let's people walk all over her and then rejects
    the one really good person in the whole book. It got a little old.
    There are no profound messages in this book. However, Penelope is a
    quick, light read and anything that makes me laugh is worthy of my time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2012

    Depressing

    This book was disapointing..never got good...thought Penelope may get a mind of her own but never did

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2012

    I liked it

    Thought this book was quite funny. I enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2012

    This is one of the worst books I've read in years. I wanted to s

    This is one of the worst books I've read in years. I wanted to stop reading about one third of the way in. You spend the whole time waiting for something to happen, the main character is boring, and the writing is awkward. From reading the overview I thought this would be a fun and easy read about a college girl navigating her way through college. I was sadly mistaken. I would not recommend this book to anybody.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2012

    I'm wondering if I'm just not smart enough to read this book, or

    I'm wondering if I'm just not smart enough to read this book, or something....According to many reviews, it's "hilarious"....I have yet to come across any hilarity, and some of the statements just don't make any sense....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2012

    Loved it!

    Hysterical

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2012

    This book was such a fun read--a look at college life through th

    This book was such a fun read--a look at college life through the eyes
    of a person who doesn't see and interact with the world like the
    majority do. I found Penelope to be a clever book about friendship, love
    and discovering how to live in a world that doesn't quite fit who you
    have discovered yourself to be.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2012

    I did not like this book. I kept thinking there would be some d

    I did not like this book. I kept thinking there would be some
    development that would make it worth reading in the end, but it just
    never happened. Plus I am tired of the girl falling for the weirdo guy
    and then thinking his treatment of her is OK. I would not recommend
    this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2012

    AaWESOME

    HII rad book right.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1