Customer Reviews for

The Penelopiad: The Myth of Penelope and Odysseus

Average Rating 3.5
( 42 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

An excellent retelling!

Margaret Atwood reinvigorates Homer's classic by telling the other side of the story, albeit in a feminist perspective. Well done!

posted by caemin on July 16, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

The Penelopiad

The Penelopiad was a good book to read if you wanted to know the background of the Odyssey. It explained the life of Penelope and Odysseus in their Kingdom of Ithaca. If you are looking for how Odysseus wanted to stay out of the Trojan War, then read this book. Howev...
The Penelopiad was a good book to read if you wanted to know the background of the Odyssey. It explained the life of Penelope and Odysseus in their Kingdom of Ithaca. If you are looking for how Odysseus wanted to stay out of the Trojan War, then read this book. However if you only wanted to read this book just for the heck of it, I would advise you not to. Throughout the whole book, Penelope is crying over how terrible her life is. She keeps living without Odysseus and cries every night about it. This book has way too much crying in my opinion. You read a page. You see crying. You turn a few more pages, you see more crying. This book is like a soap opera, in a book form.

posted by Anonymous on December 18, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted July 16, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    An excellent retelling!

    Margaret Atwood reinvigorates Homer's classic by telling the other side of the story, albeit in a feminist perspective. Well done!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2007

    The Penelopiad

    I found the book to be a good read, Atwood did a good job in my opinion of describing what life could have been like in ancient Greece. The book was an easy read, and had some interesting points on what historical events might have looked like to someone from ancient Greece. Atwood also had some interesting ideas on what Odysseus and Penelope where like, and what really happened those thousands of years ago. Some things i did not like about the book was how Penelope cried about everything happening, and like a person i knew who also read the book said 'She must have drank water all day just to be able to cry like she does!' Over all though, i did enjoy the book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2007

    The Penelopiad

    The Penelopiad was a good book to read if you wanted to know the background of the Odyssey. It explained the life of Penelope and Odysseus in their Kingdom of Ithaca. If you are looking for how Odysseus wanted to stay out of the Trojan War, then read this book. However if you only wanted to read this book just for the heck of it, I would advise you not to. Throughout the whole book, Penelope is crying over how terrible her life is. She keeps living without Odysseus and cries every night about it. This book has way too much crying in my opinion. You read a page. You see crying. You turn a few more pages, you see more crying. This book is like a soap opera, in a book form.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2014

    I HOPE ITS GOOD

    This is my summer reading book I hope it's good!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The Penelopiad is Margaret Atwood┬┐s take on the story of Odysseu

    The Penelopiad is Margaret Atwood’s take on the story of Odysseus and his wife Penelope, but from the perspective of Penelope.  It was a fabulous recreation of the Odyssey, with a slightly modern twist.  I like how Penelope explains how Odysseus’s famous exploits could have been explained by myths, or could have been normal but exaggerated experiences.  

    It kind of reminded me of The Liars’ Gospel in that way, making you think about whether or not the Greek mythology (or Jesus’s legend, if we’re talking about The Liars’ Gospel) is truth or situations that were created.  I highly recommend if you enjoyed The Liars’ Gospel and/or The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller!

    Thanks for reading,

    Rebecca @ Love at First Book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2012

    Piece of shit

    Had to read for my nineth grade summer reading. Just about the worst thin on earth. Hate it more than the odyssey. Now hats saying something.

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2012

    Nothing special

    There is no plot or climax in this book. It's just Penelope talking and maids singing the whole time. It is an easy read, and Penlope's viewpoint is interesting at times, but it is predictable and just so boring.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2011

    de4we8

    A delightful tongue-in-cheek retelling of classic mythology.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2007

    If you love drama you will love this

    The Penelopiad is all about Penelope, the wife of Odysseus. Odysseus is the king of Ithaca which is an ancient Greek kingdom. Penelopy is considered able to get married at the age of 15 so her father sets up the arrangements to get her future husband onto his island. When the many suitors show up, one stands out: Odysseus of course. Odysseus cheats in the challanges to win Penelope and the following events after the marriage are exactly what the quote on the book says, 'Half-Dorothy Parker, half-Desperate Housewives'. The author uses a very interesting method of story transition which, I'll admit, was very refreshing to see something knew. The entire story that you read is a recollection of Penelope. She is dead in the underworld while waiting to see if she will be sent to the good underworld or if she deserves to be sent to the bad underworld. So, the way the story transissions from one memory to the other is that it goes back to Penelope in the underworld and she talks a bit about what is going to happen. I thought this was a neat way to jump from part to part. Now, the downside: there was a bit too much drama in this book for my taste, hence the 3/5 but if you love drama check it out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2007

    The Penelopiad

    The book, The Penelopiad by Margaret Atwood, was an interesting book to read. It was different from other stories I have read. It had a story where the main character told her life story, which is usually not how a book is written. It also connects with the story Odyssey, and this book gives the other side of it. Odyssey was about Odysseus's adventure from Troy and back to where Penelope lives, and this book was about what happenes while Odysseus was gone. I can now connect on these two stories,and know what happened to both Penelope and Odysseus. This book put me excited and amused me the whole time I read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2008

    A Twist on the Greek Epic

    The Penelopiad tells the story of what Penelope did for the twenty years Odysseus was away trying to get home. the story provides good background of the Oddysey, the Greek epic written by Homer. However it tells the story in Penelope's point of view, making it, for me, a far more interesting read. it also tells of the stories of the twelve maids that were hanged.the maids tell their own stories in chapters in the book and songs, which made abetter read than them justing directly telling the reader. However, the story was supposed to explain why the maids were hanged. to me it felt like they never answered that quetion. Overall it was a good book, and I recommend it to anyone who enjoys reading or studying Greek Mythology.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2008

    Good read

    The book was very good, telling who Penelope and the twelve maids really are, in their own words. The maids sing in some chpters was humorous , and told the maid's side of the story extremely well. However, it did not, to me, answer the question of why Oddyseus hanged the maids. overall, it was very good, and I would recommend it to anyone who enjoys studying Greek mythology.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2008

    Very Clever

    Margaret Atwood does a great job of portaying what happened in Ithaca for the twenty or so years that Odysseus was gone. She does a fine job of retelling the saga from the female perspective. This book is, at turns sad, enlightening the reader on what Penelope went through while she awaited her husband's return, and at other times quite funny, as Atwood pokes fun at the exaggeration present in the original Odyssey. Well done.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2007

    A reviewer

    The Penelopiad was my first venture into Greek mythology. I found the book confusing at first but when I became accostumed to the style of writing I found the book very interesting. I liked that the story was told from a female point of view. I found it interesting that women of ancient Greece shared similiar problems and hopes to today's women. Penelope spoke honestly of her insecurites when compared to her beautiful cousin Helen, and how she wondered if her missing husband really wanted to return to her. Penelope also explains her relationship with the 12 hanged maidens whose story is told in a series of songs and dances. I recommend this book to anyone who is a 'new reader' to Greek mythology. Overall I really enjoyed this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2007

    A reviewer

    I really liked this book. It gave you a different perspective: from Penelope's point of view. Sure, most people know the story of the Odyssey, but Margret Atwood desplays how the female characters feel. She also adds some modern-day scenes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2007

    Amazing

    A really well done retelling of the Odyssey. Atwood is satyrical and eloquent through out the entire book. She adds an extra dimension by having the maids 'sing' their side of the story. Even if you hated homer's version, the Penelopaid will make you go weak in the knees.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3