BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Penelopiad: The Myth of Penelope and Odysseus

Average Rating 3.5
( 42 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

The Penelopiad

I found the book to be a good read, Atwood did a good job in my opinion of describing what life could have been like in ancient Greece. The book was an easy read, and had some interesting points on what historical events might have looked like to someone from ancient G...
I found the book to be a good read, Atwood did a good job in my opinion of describing what life could have been like in ancient Greece. The book was an easy read, and had some interesting points on what historical events might have looked like to someone from ancient Greece. Atwood also had some interesting ideas on what Odysseus and Penelope where like, and what really happened those thousands of years ago. Some things i did not like about the book was how Penelope cried about everything happening, and like a person i knew who also read the book said 'She must have drank water all day just to be able to cry like she does!' Over all though, i did enjoy the book.

posted by Anonymous on December 17, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

The Penelopiad

The Penelopiad was a good book to read if you wanted to know the background of the Odyssey. It explained the life of Penelope and Odysseus in their Kingdom of Ithaca. If you are looking for how Odysseus wanted to stay out of the Trojan War, then read this book. Howev...
The Penelopiad was a good book to read if you wanted to know the background of the Odyssey. It explained the life of Penelope and Odysseus in their Kingdom of Ithaca. If you are looking for how Odysseus wanted to stay out of the Trojan War, then read this book. However if you only wanted to read this book just for the heck of it, I would advise you not to. Throughout the whole book, Penelope is crying over how terrible her life is. She keeps living without Odysseus and cries every night about it. This book has way too much crying in my opinion. You read a page. You see crying. You turn a few more pages, you see more crying. This book is like a soap opera, in a book form.

posted by Anonymous on December 18, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 16, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    An excellent retelling!

    Margaret Atwood reinvigorates Homer's classic by telling the other side of the story, albeit in a feminist perspective. Well done!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2014

    I HOPE ITS GOOD

    This is my summer reading book I hope it's good!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The Penelopiad is Margaret Atwood┬┐s take on the story of Odysseu

    The Penelopiad is Margaret Atwood’s take on the story of Odysseus and his wife Penelope, but from the perspective of Penelope.  It was a fabulous recreation of the Odyssey, with a slightly modern twist.  I like how Penelope explains how Odysseus’s famous exploits could have been explained by myths, or could have been normal but exaggerated experiences.  

    It kind of reminded me of The Liars’ Gospel in that way, making you think about whether or not the Greek mythology (or Jesus’s legend, if we’re talking about The Liars’ Gospel) is truth or situations that were created.  I highly recommend if you enjoyed The Liars’ Gospel and/or The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller!

    Thanks for reading,

    Rebecca @ Love at First Book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2007

    Amazing

    A really well done retelling of the Odyssey. Atwood is satyrical and eloquent through out the entire book. She adds an extra dimension by having the maids 'sing' their side of the story. Even if you hated homer's version, the Penelopaid will make you go weak in the knees.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2005

    A Twist

    Penelopiad offers a twist to the classic Homer epic, the Odyssey. Penelope is the focus and the murder of her handmaides is the mystery that lingers through the pages and tortures our main character. Fans of Homer's Illiad and Odyssey will welcome this new twist on a very old story, as most fans have probably, like the author, wondered why those handmaids were hanged in the first place. The Penelopiad goes deeper into a character that before was only a part of Odysseus, and shows us what she is doing and what she is thinking all that time she is waiting for her husband. Very interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1