Customer Reviews for

The Penny: A Novel

Average Rating 4
( 63 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

A great novel!

I was happily amazed by The Penny. The story was fresh and exciting, and it kept me entertained, and the struggles that Jenny faces are real, and written in such a way that they seem real, even to the reader. This book is a perfect example of how the little things can a...
I was happily amazed by The Penny. The story was fresh and exciting, and it kept me entertained, and the struggles that Jenny faces are real, and written in such a way that they seem real, even to the reader. This book is a perfect example of how the little things can always make a big difference. I highly recommend it!

posted by I_read_books on July 20, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

!

Here goes harriet klausner again revealing everything about the book. I'll bet she stands at the door of the movie theatre and gives away the ending.

posted by 8888649 on August 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A great novel!

    I was happily amazed by The Penny. The story was fresh and exciting, and it kept me entertained, and the struggles that Jenny faces are real, and written in such a way that they seem real, even to the reader. This book is a perfect example of how the little things can always make a big difference. I highly recommend it!

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2012

    Loved this book

    I hate to see a review by Harriet Klasner. I wish she she would put her name at the top of her reviews, instead of at the bottom, so I would not read her reviews. She has ruined so many books for me. If I saw her name at the top, I would never read hers. She spoils all the books. She thinks ruining the stories for others is funny or why else would she persist in doing this? She is a mean, hateful woman and should be ashamed of herself.


    This was a very good book, even if I already knew all about it. I PURCHASED THIS BOOK! I would like to send Harriet K. the bill for spoiling it for me.


    AD

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Excellent

    A great read

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2009

    Great Book. The Penny! I love Joyce Meyers and watch her program every morning. She is a wonderful person and makes the Gospel relate to woman mostly in every day life.

    Held my interest from begiining to end. I just loved the Penny.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Touching and Heartfelt...

    In the beginning I was a little curious on if I wanted to continue to read this book due to the abuse the little girls had gone through. However, the ending is so powerful and it really shows how God is always there in the midst of our troubles and will provide comfort no matter what ther circumstance.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2010

    Definate read!!!

    How can we pass faith along in the everyday? The Penny was a great book about faith and redemption in each day and with each person we come across. I would recommend this to everyone as a great read!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2014

    Awesome

    Awesome book you will not be able to stop reading

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2014

    Worth the read

    † Thank you......

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2013

    Amazing

    Im speachless. You need to read this story. Sad story but u want to keep reading to see if there's a happy ending

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    I am a huge Joyce Meyer fan. I have many of her books and i appreciate her ministry. Although "The Penny" is a work of fiction, it is a spiritually accurate and helpful book because it reveals God's love, grace and redeeming power. I recommend it to everyone, especially the wounded and broken in spirit.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    God is greay

    I cant believe this happend! I also cant belive that her father would want to hurt his own daughter and yet she is still preeching the word of god

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2013

    NURSERY

    &#9786

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2012

    Highly Recommended!!

    This is a wonderful book about forgiveness! The story line is great! I highly recommend this book by Joyce Meyer and Deborah Bedford. I will definitely read other books written by them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2012

    You Don't Want To Miss This!

    This wonderful read reminds us all that a seemingly insignificant event can impact the reaminder of our lives. It also shows us that many times what appears to be true on the surface is a contradiction of reality. This lovely story inspires courage and perseverance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    Eaclark66

    I really enjoyed this book! It was a great read! Makes you think.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2012

    Redemption

    A deeply moving tale of redemption on many levels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2012

    Bbb

    Nql

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2012

    I listened to this on CD, and it was an incredible story with ma

    I listened to this on CD, and it was an incredible story with many
    surprises throughout it. Very inspiring story about a young girl who
    faces many challenges in her life and the people who touch her life in a
    good way. Friendships are formed where you least expect them, and there
    are many lessons for us all in the wonderful story...makes you think
    about your life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    I loved this book. It was as though I was right there in the story. I could see the penny. I was on the airplane traveling for work and reading the book when I looked down and saw a penny and now I always pick up pennies.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2009

    The Penny

    An easy read. You become engrossed in the characters and the story. Now, every time I see a penny I pick it up because you never know....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2