Customer Reviews for

Penpal

Average Rating 4.5
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 9, 2012

    Extremely entertaining, and quite addictive. Really creepy and q

    Extremely entertaining, and quite addictive. Really creepy and quite disturbing at places. Hope this book gets more attention!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2012

    Loved this book!

    I have to admit that Penpal was a little awkwardly written in places and sometimes the actions and thoughts of the kid don't quite jive with his age and what kids his age would actually be like. With that said, this is the best book I've read in a long time. The reason being the storyline as well as the fact that it is not the cookie-cutter plot that other books fall into. I could not put it down, read it in one day and then immediately went searching for an internet forum to discuss it in. Bottom line is that it's a deliciously creepy read.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    Awesome story!

    Awesome story!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    Excellent

    This was an excellent book. It is quite short so I was able to finish it in one night, but long enough to tell the whole story. There were several sentences that made me gasp out loud. I would love to see this turned into a movie! Absolutely terrifying.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2013

    Wow! Just finished the book and my heart is still racing. I have

    Wow! Just finished the book and my heart is still racing. I have never been so terrified in all my life and I am a horror junkie. No this is not your typical horror novel with monsters and demons, Oh no this is something that will stay with you for a long time something that is just indescribable. I don't know what genre this books falls under but I love it! I have never cried while reading a book but this one did it I was almost balling! Dathan took the phrase "I feel like I am being watched", and took it to another disgustingly horrifying level

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    An amazing book!!!

    An amazing book!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2013

    Very Gripping read

    I guess I'm fairly tough to please. I really want to like books and movies but I'm usually disappointed. It seems as though they put all the good stuff in the sample or, in the case of movies, in the trailer. Not this time. This book was awesome. I did kinda wish he hadn't jumped back and forth so much. I understand flashbacks but he jumped from the age of 6 to 10, then back to 6, then he was a teenager then back to 6. It was mildly annoying. Around 155 pages, no outright violence, very little swearing. I recommend with all sincerity.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2013

    this is truly a one of a kind book. like said in previous review

    this is truly a one of a kind book. like said in previous reviews, it is not the typical "monsters and demons" horror. 

    the original story(s) was posted on r/nosleep, which is a sub website dedicated to scary stories. I believe it was five parts, including
    footsteps
    friends, and other short parts. amazing book. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    Wow!

    This book was all I hoped it would be and more!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2014

    Good story, poorly written

    I saw the entry on reddit and was curious eno to buy the book. It was a good story that was completely disjointed and unorganized which meant I was reading the same information more than once as it flashed back then forward in time over and over. I would have liked it more if each flash back revealed new information but mostly it didnt. The ending was horrifying, so well done there, except it's difficult to suspend disbelief that 2 adults would discover a crime scene & not get police involved.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2014

    Creepy

    That was f'd up!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2014

    Not bad

    I loved the creepy aspect of this book, but I wasn't totally thrilled with the style of the novel. As a mother the story made me check my child a few times. It hit home and I will probably have nightmares tonight. I felt like I was reading someones journal, I just wish that it was written with a bit more detail where it matters and less filler. It's a good read for a rainy afternoon in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2014

    So good!

    This story was amazing. I read it on the Reddit thread, so I don't know if anything has been added to this version, but if you like creepy, suspenseful books that are fairly disjointed right until the end, READ THIS STORY.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2014

    A lot left unsaid..

    So.. I liked this book but I didn't love the end. It leaves me scratching my head going "huh?". It did wrap up the story but it felt rushed and bare minimum.. I had a lot of questions about it but overall id give it a 3.5. It was not really scary but sorta "look over your shoulder" ish? I would love it more if I understood it better... like why did this all happen.. and why J and not the main boy? And what about Mrs. Maggie? Hmm...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2014

    Too few thrills

    I bought this based on viewer ratings and was so disappointed There sere maybe 3-4 creepy things happen and the rest of the novel reads like a journal entry for someone with OCD BIG DISAPPOINTMENT The author's friends must have written the reviews

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2014

    Boring & cumbersome writing

    I am amazed at all the glowing reviews. The story is so bogged down by over-writing, and written in a style sounding like that of 1930's. There is a kernal of a good short that is painfully dragged out to novel length. The majority of the material is boring.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2014

    Haunting

    A story that grabs you from the first paragraph and keeps you guessing till the very end. Disturbingly awesome. Not in a gruesome way, more suspense thriller. It was great. Recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2014

    Amazing!!!

    This novel was an amazing page turner! I finished it in one day. The character development was on point. The ending was a chilling one, everyone needs to read Penpal.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2014

    Truly terrifying

    You wont regret this read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2014

    Awsome

    Ive been currently reading this book and i find it one of the best books ive read so far

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2