Customer Reviews for

The Penultimate Peril: Book the Twelfth (A Series of Unfortunate Events)

Average Rating 4.5
( 300 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(220)

4 Star

(38)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

This hotel is very mysterious

The Baudelaire children are driven off a cliff in a taxi by a volunteer. They go into this hotel on a secret mission. They find out that once again Count Olaf is trying to steal their fortune. The Baudelaire children take jobs as concierges, and are sent to different pa...
The Baudelaire children are driven off a cliff in a taxi by a volunteer. They go into this hotel on a secret mission. They find out that once again Count Olaf is trying to steal their fortune. The Baudelaire children take jobs as concierges, and are sent to different parts of the hotel. Violet gets sent to the roof. Klaus gets sent to 6th floor. Sunny gets sent to 3rd floor. When they get to their floors, they find out that the people they see on their floor are people are people they didn't want to see again. I highly recommend this book because there is a lot of tension in there. The Baudelaire children are trying to keep their fortune away from Olaf. This book is the best book I have ever read.

posted by ratt_mice on February 24, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Awesome must read

Thrilling adventure page turner

posted by 10004688 on January 21, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 220 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11
  • Posted February 24, 2010

    This hotel is very mysterious

    The Baudelaire children are driven off a cliff in a taxi by a volunteer. They go into this hotel on a secret mission. They find out that once again Count Olaf is trying to steal their fortune. The Baudelaire children take jobs as concierges, and are sent to different parts of the hotel. Violet gets sent to the roof. Klaus gets sent to 6th floor. Sunny gets sent to 3rd floor. When they get to their floors, they find out that the people they see on their floor are people are people they didn't want to see again. I highly recommend this book because there is a lot of tension in there. The Baudelaire children are trying to keep their fortune away from Olaf. This book is the best book I have ever read.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    AMAZING

    Lemony Snicket is a writing genius! I loved it and would recomend this book to ANYONE who sounds interested!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2011

    AWESOME SOO GREAT!

    This is one of the best books in the series! Lots of people said it was terrible, but I loved it. It was a great follow-up to the very last book. So please read it, it rocks! (PS it reveals some good secrets!)

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Book

    I love lemony snicket's books and the movie


    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    WHOO!

    love these books!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2012

    Great series

    I finnished reading book 13 almost a year ago and i still stay up some nights trying to solve the mysteries of VFD in my mind. I am going to make sure my niece starts reading these in 4th grade like i did. Lemony Snicket is a awesome writer. These books basically raised me. I did a project on Lemony Snicket and found out his real name is Daniel Handler and i have an actual picture of him!!!!!!!†

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    Anonymous

    This is the best book in the series. A must read book. Once you start you can't finish!!!!!!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2011

    Spectactular!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    By far the best book in the series! I couldnt take my eyes from it. MUST READ!!!!!!!!!!!!! I loved it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2011

    awesome

    i love this series!!! you have to read this!!!!! its really good! in fact, great!!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2011

    great!

    this series is the best of all time!! so captivating. better then the Harry Potter series. They should make a movie out of all of the books!!!!!!!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2013

    Great book

    What does V F D mean?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    Awesome

    Awesome

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2013

    Click this!!!!!!!Hurry!!!!!!!

    havent read it yet :/ Pretty sure its good though

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    Awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I loved this book so much. I think you guys should read it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2012

    Totally. Freaking. Awesome.

    Mr. Snicket's series and writing style just knows how to grab a reader's attention and keep it there until the end of time. A must-read series, absolutely.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2012

    Great books

    I love these books. I've read 11 and Im on 12 i wish the series would never enb

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2012

    Keep it up Mr. Snicket!!

    Whoa, these books are awesome!! Write anothier series, Mr. Snicket! We all luv ur style writing. Owo (=nomnom face) Keep it up! <3 Unfortunate Events series

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2012

    I just wrote the comment below!

    I just wrote the comment below;)
    Vvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvv

    Oh and I started book 6 yeaterday and finished it today thats how much i love thses books<3<3<3

    Wish me luck on my summer plans;)))))))

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    Love

    I love this book

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2012

    AWESOME

    I love this book andd i am not even done with it

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 220 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11