BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

People

Average Rating 4.5
( 12 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2013

    Outstanding

    One of my 3 year old's favorite books. She loves the detailed pictures and picks out something else to ask about each time we read it. A eye-opening book for a young child; one that should teach concepts of differences and tolerance. I'm sure she will enjoy this book for years to come as she grows in understanding of the world around her.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2013

    I can hardly add to what Chrijeff has said (see his Amazon revie

    I can hardly add to what Chrijeff has said (see his Amazon review). I love this book and wholeheartedly recommend it to all age groups. Perhaps if this was translated and shown to children around the world, world peace could come in a few generations (providing we can keep those pesky grownups out of the way).

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2012

    Call it what you will but both my Sister and I had this book gro

    Call it what you will but both my Sister and I had this book growing up. And I am convinced to this day that it is because of this book that I understand all people of the world, except for racist ones.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2012

    Great Book for children and adults alike

    The illustrations in this book are so great, with the few written words, make a great opportunity for adults and children to discuss differences in people both from the USA and other places in the world.

    This book usually makes it to any baby shower/birth present I give, along with 4 others, for the reasons given above. My (now adult) chiildren loved this book - they found my fathers ears and nose illustrated in all their oversized glory! - as well other physical traits in their father's family. This book also allows for discussions on the child's level about prejudice, various cultural differences, and diversity in the world.

    This is such a great book, I recommend it to everyone!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2000

    Raising a Tolerant Child

    People is a book about the kaleidoscope created by differences in the people of the world. Peter Spier illustrates differences in everything from clothing to noses to customs, showing respect for all. Our three children found the illustrations fascinating when they were young. The book provided a platform for discussing diversity and teaching respect. This Christmas, I'm buying the book for my grandaughters to continue the family tradition...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2000

    a lesson in diversity

    I use this book in the classroom as a lesson in respecting diversity in others. Kids find some of the illustrations really interesting.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2014

    Timeless Values

    My granddaughter (age 6) had checked this out from her school library, and fell in love with it. I was sold on the values it reinforces; i.e., respecting the differences in people.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2013

    This book is weird

    It's me the famous poster that does thosands of spaces. This book is weird it shows peoples butts and stuff.





























































    Tons of spaces







































































    Thanks for reading folks





















































































































    I want to get to 0 charters
























































































































































































































































    My finger is starting to hurt at 2788




    Wow














    Call me the spacer



























































































































































































































































    2500 :)





































































































































































































































































































































































































































































































    2000 :)


















































































































































































































































































































    This is the longest post I have ever done


















































































































































    I am at 1500 :)


    Just for you guys



















































































































































































































































































































































































































































































    900













    Lol













    I swear I am not kidding












    Really that's why thisis so long



















    I bet your finger is getting tired of scrolling



















































































































































































































































































    550












































    500







    !!!!!!!!!!


















































































































































































    300















































    Omg







    !!!!!


































































































































    100!!!!!!!!















    Thanks for reading this








    50




















    Bye I am out



    :)



    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2009

    Best book for lovely kids

    No better children's book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1