Customer Reviews for

People Are Unappealing: Even Me

Average Rating 4
( 34 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Much better than expected

Been reading a lot of books by funny women and ran across this. After reading Tina Fey's and Mindy Kaling's books this looked to be somewhat similar. I had never heard of Sara Barron before but so glad to have happened on to this. She is quite funny and I hope to hear ...
Been reading a lot of books by funny women and ran across this. After reading Tina Fey's and Mindy Kaling's books this looked to be somewhat similar. I had never heard of Sara Barron before but so glad to have happened on to this. She is quite funny and I hope to hear a lot more from her in the future. Keep writing!

posted by vtTX on January 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good summer read

This book was a little different from what i was expecting. It was a chronological history of the author's strange life. If you've ever thought, "Ug, i should write a book about my life because it's so weird!" that's what she did. I know i've thought that before. An...
This book was a little different from what i was expecting. It was a chronological history of the author's strange life. If you've ever thought, "Ug, i should write a book about my life because it's so weird!" that's what she did. I know i've thought that before. Anyway, it was candid and fun, not particularly engaging. I read Trustfund Wives at the same time and that one was better. But was fun and lighthearted, which is a good thing for the beach and all, and you don't have to be super committed to it, either.

posted by flygirlAC on May 30, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    Much better than expected

    Been reading a lot of books by funny women and ran across this. After reading Tina Fey's and Mindy Kaling's books this looked to be somewhat similar. I had never heard of Sara Barron before but so glad to have happened on to this. She is quite funny and I hope to hear a lot more from her in the future. Keep writing!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Very clever

    I took a journalism class once. We were told to write a personal story on a Valentine's Day topic. As a girl to whom the mention of "v-day" set off the gag reflex, my story was decidedly cynical with an edge of amusing. We had to read the story out loud, and everyone there burst out laughing, even the professor. But at the very end, he said my story was "very, very clever, and therein lied my problem. Clever is manipulative, not real, not memorable".

    I'm still trying to figure out if I agree. Certainly, this collection of stories was extremely "clever". I read through them in record time, laughed aloud many times. The people described in this novel are unbelievable, hilarious, and perverse. I liked her writing style, her creative word usage. She definitely is a talented writer, and her intelligence comes through the narration even as she describes actions taken in her youth that are the opposite of intelligent. But maybe being clever about dark, serious things DOES make the entire story more farcical and, as a result, somehow less important, without literary longevity. I don't know what the author was going for--just a light, funny book, or something more? The last note was very dark, belying a light, humorous goal.

    Anyway, I enjoyed the book, and I think others would as well. But I do question whether it is possible to go away with anything other than amusement. I guess when I really love a book, it is because there is some truth in there that gives me a different perspective on life. But maybe not everything we read needs to do that if entertainment is all we're after.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2010

    Absolutely worth EVERY penny!

    Awesome book. Funny! Funny! Funny! I love the stories because they are easy to relate to. Sara is a sweetheart who takes the funny out of bad situations and makes us realize...life really could be worse. Definitely recommend anyone with a sense of humor to pick up a copy of this book. I've made all my friends and co-workers buy it, read and pass it on.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2013

    Hilarious.

    Just an FYI, I'm 99.9% sure that T. Waffle is Michael Stipe from REM.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    So who the heck is T**T Waffle?!?!

    This book was very funny, and I've recommended it to several friends. I loved her gossipy references to "Luigi","not Stella McCartney", and "Madrid Days Inn", but who the heck is T**T Waffle?!? Someone enlighten me before I go nuts trying to figure it out!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    very appealing

    sara barron is actually the best friend of my eccentric hypoconcract high school theater teacher (see chapter "albino") who told us about this book and then banned us from reading it...so of course we all went out bought it.
    its hilerous, witty and barron is as lively in person as she is in print. however we sadly did not get to find out any shocking revelations about "Maggie" (our teacher) except shes exactly the same person only in college, unmarried and not yet medicated.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    Funny Worthhil Worth a re Quite funny!

    Definitely worth a read

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    People Are Unappealing +

    Mentally hilarious. Thoroughly enjoyed this read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2013

    Hilarious

    Hilarious

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2012

    Gotta read

    Hilarious!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2012

    9.99

    9.99

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2012

    Entertaining

    Compulsive reading!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    I loved this book! Recommended for lots of laughs. T...t Waffle

    I loved this book! Recommended for lots of laughs. T...t Waffle still makes me giggle.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2010

    Good summer read

    This book was a little different from what i was expecting. It was a chronological history of the author's strange life. If you've ever thought, "Ug, i should write a book about my life because it's so weird!" that's what she did. I know i've thought that before. Anyway, it was candid and fun, not particularly engaging. I read Trustfund Wives at the same time and that one was better. But was fun and lighthearted, which is a good thing for the beach and all, and you don't have to be super committed to it, either.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Funny Read

    Lots of laugh-out-loud excerpts. Good, entertaining light read complete with a whole cast of dysfunctional characters.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2