Customer Reviews for

The People of Sparks (Books of Ember Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 570 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(325)

4 Star

(138)

3 Star

(68)

2 Star

(20)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

22 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

The People of Sparks

"The People of Sparks" is a novel by Jeanne DuPrau and is the sequel to the "City of Ember". Published by Random House Publishing Company, "The People of Sparks", is a Science Fiction thriller. In this epic adventure, the citizens of Ember leave there dying city and the...
"The People of Sparks" is a novel by Jeanne DuPrau and is the sequel to the "City of Ember". Published by Random House Publishing Company, "The People of Sparks", is a Science Fiction thriller. In this epic adventure, the citizens of Ember leave there dying city and they arrive at a small town called Sparks. Sparks population is around 300, the biggest town within a hundred miles. As Emberities arrive, the people of Sparks don't know what they will do with them, as there is already a food shortage. The main problem in this book is that the people of Sparks want the Emberities out of there town and to go live somewhere else.

The Emberities stay at a hotel; it's filled with mold and broken glass. They're assigned 5 people per room. They work for small amounts of food and that's when issues begin. This book is very interesting because Sparks started from nothing and grew into a town that's finally prospering. Doon Harrow, Lina Mayfleet and Tick are the main characters. Doon wants to know how everything works, while Lina is a lot calmer but wants to see a big city like the one in her dreams. Tick wants to solve the main problem using violence, but Doon and Lina know that violence just leads to more violence. I think this book made me realize that utopias aren't perfect and I really could relate to some of the characters. I recommend this book to all who have read city of Ember and are craving for more...

posted by Eguapo-MCReading on April 26, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

G

This book took away my intrest in the series. It was very boring. The City of Ember was very good so i bought The People of Sparks. I regret it. I am telling u i lost intrest in this book right away, DO NOT GET THIS BOOK! I think u should the city of Ember though- very ...
This book took away my intrest in the series. It was very boring. The City of Ember was very good so i bought The People of Sparks. I regret it. I am telling u i lost intrest in this book right away, DO NOT GET THIS BOOK! I think u should the city of Ember though- very suspenseful and the ending makes you wan't to tell the author to write on.( especially in the writing she used in the city of ember. I took me 7 months to finish this because i went and read another book because it intrested me more. I REPEAT THIS AGAIN, DO NOT GET THE PEOPLE OF SPARKS!

posted by 10744645 on June 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 577 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 29
  • Posted April 26, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    The People of Sparks

    "The People of Sparks" is a novel by Jeanne DuPrau and is the sequel to the "City of Ember". Published by Random House Publishing Company, "The People of Sparks", is a Science Fiction thriller. In this epic adventure, the citizens of Ember leave there dying city and they arrive at a small town called Sparks. Sparks population is around 300, the biggest town within a hundred miles. As Emberities arrive, the people of Sparks don't know what they will do with them, as there is already a food shortage. The main problem in this book is that the people of Sparks want the Emberities out of there town and to go live somewhere else.

    The Emberities stay at a hotel; it's filled with mold and broken glass. They're assigned 5 people per room. They work for small amounts of food and that's when issues begin. This book is very interesting because Sparks started from nothing and grew into a town that's finally prospering. Doon Harrow, Lina Mayfleet and Tick are the main characters. Doon wants to know how everything works, while Lina is a lot calmer but wants to see a big city like the one in her dreams. Tick wants to solve the main problem using violence, but Doon and Lina know that violence just leads to more violence. I think this book made me realize that utopias aren't perfect and I really could relate to some of the characters. I recommend this book to all who have read city of Ember and are craving for more...

    22 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    Strong followup to a strong debut

    At the end of THE CITY OF EMBER, Lina and Doon found their way out of their dying city. Now most of the Emberites have followed them, and are ready to begin a new life in a world they know nothing about. They never knew they were underground, and things on the surface are strange to them. The Emberites are taken in by a village called Sparks, and at first all seems to go well- but soon tensions grow up between the two different peoples. While Doon watches the troubles, tries to help and instead becomes embroiled in the worst of it; Lina wanders off in search of the white city she has so long dreamed of. These are characters you come to care about, to root for. The Ember series has much to say about hopes and dreams, fears and prejudices, and our very instinct for survival.

    20 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Deep meaning

    This is a children's book that all adults should read. It has a deeper meaning of people learning to accept each other's differences. This is a very easy but good read.

    16 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2012

    READ THIS!

    If you read the book of ember......YOU NEED TO READ THIS BOOK! It is the second in the series. It is full of adventure and excitement! Lina and Doon get caught in a fire in Sparks! Check it out.

    14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    Loved it

    I had to do a book
    Report on it and i loved it so much now i have read it 4 times.

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    Awesome

    This book is amazing

    11 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    Love The Series!

    Great books, a must read series.

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2008

    A Book: The Peope Of Sparks

    The People Of Sparks starts off slow, and you may have thoughts of quiting, as I have. The middle of the book is very interesting. That where you start to question what will happen next. Thats one of the things I like about this book, that you will feel you never want to put it down. I've stayed up 'till 2:00am reading the book because it was so intriguing. The closer to the end you get, the more urge you have to read it.If you do read this book, read it all the way through. Just because its not interesting in the beginning, doesn't mean its boring throughout the whole book.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2011

    Great book

    If you read the first book you will love this book it is like the same but a little bit better then the first.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2011

    OMG!!!

    This boook is so awesoe! I'm only on page 27, and I already love it! I just can't put it down! I Luv this series!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! READ IT! READ IT! READ IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! ;)

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2009

    People od Sparks (Good)

    I liked this book. I have to Admit, though, I liked the first one better. But this isn't a bad book. Far from it. Infact, this is a great book, just not as thrilling and adventrous as the first. In this one there is the adventure.. The adventure of the people of Sparks and the Emberites getting through their differences, the mystery of the Weapon, and more that I don't wish to reveal to those who havn't read it. I do ive it a 4 star rating though! Read it! You might like it more than I did! READ!!!!!!
    Yours Truly,
    XxBLxX

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2008

    A reviewer

    ok, this was the most coolest book EVER!!! i really luv science fiction, and the ember series are the best!

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2013

    Mason, 12

    I am only 12 but this book was great. It made total sense and had a lot of suspense. I read the first book of this series and it was great, then this book connected right into the first book. I was told not to read the 3rd book so now im on the 4th book and it is great. This is a must read series by jeane duprau. Awesome book. READ READ!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2012

    What do i do!

    I want to read it but im actually reading catching fire at the moment and cant put it down do you think i should read the people of sparks

    7 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2010

    Awesome! KInda.

    This book is really good and I recomend it to anyone who's patient. I didn't like that the book didn't have any action at all until the mid-end of the book. I liked the suspense of it when it happened. This book has been a very good book. I found myself reading it whenever I had time to. Kinda like how Lina drew on her spare time with the blank pages at the end of the book. I didn't like that at the end Torren didn't admit that he was the one who threw the tomatoes at the wall. This book is espiacally good book to those who are learning about the human footprint. It sends a very clear message of how that might be how we have to live in the future if we do't take action now. I give this book four and half stars. Read this book and I bet you'll agree with me. thanks for reading my review on this book!

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2013

    Awesome

    Our class read the first book and it was amazing. I highly suggest this book to anyone who loves suspense and action.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2013

    Amazing

    In our class we are reading it and already I love it a lot.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2012

    Love it!!!!!

    This is one of the greatest book series I've ever read! A must read for lovers of mystery and suspense, it completely deserves 5 stars!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2012

    G

    This book took away my intrest in the series. It was very boring. The City of Ember was very good so i bought The People of Sparks. I regret it. I am telling u i lost intrest in this book right away, DO NOT GET THIS BOOK! I think u should the city of Ember though- very suspenseful and the ending makes you wan't to tell the author to write on.( especially in the writing she used in the city of ember. I took me 7 months to finish this because i went and read another book because it intrested me more. I REPEAT THIS AGAIN, DO NOT GET THE PEOPLE OF SPARKS!

    6 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2011

    emberlover

    i loved this book all of the books in the ember series are GREAT i reccomend this to allllllllllllllllllllllll ages I LOVE THIS SERIES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 577 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 29