Customer Reviews for

The People of Sparks (Books of Ember Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 578 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(332)

4 Star

(138)

3 Star

(69)

2 Star

(20)

1 Star

(19)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

25 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

Strong followup to a strong debut

At the end of THE CITY OF EMBER, Lina and Doon found their way out of their dying city. Now most of the Emberites have followed them, and are ready to begin a new life in a world they know nothing about. They never knew they were underground, and things on the surface a...
At the end of THE CITY OF EMBER, Lina and Doon found their way out of their dying city. Now most of the Emberites have followed them, and are ready to begin a new life in a world they know nothing about. They never knew they were underground, and things on the surface are strange to them. The Emberites are taken in by a village called Sparks, and at first all seems to go well- but soon tensions grow up between the two different peoples. While Doon watches the troubles, tries to help and instead becomes embroiled in the worst of it; Lina wanders off in search of the white city she has so long dreamed of. These are characters you come to care about, to root for. The Ember series has much to say about hopes and dreams, fears and prejudices, and our very instinct for survival.

posted by scottroberts on February 20, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

G

This book took away my intrest in the series. It was very boring. The City of Ember was very good so i bought The People of Sparks. I regret it. I am telling u i lost intrest in this book right away, DO NOT GET THIS BOOK! I think u should the city of Ember though- very ...
This book took away my intrest in the series. It was very boring. The City of Ember was very good so i bought The People of Sparks. I regret it. I am telling u i lost intrest in this book right away, DO NOT GET THIS BOOK! I think u should the city of Ember though- very suspenseful and the ending makes you wan't to tell the author to write on.( especially in the writing she used in the city of ember. I took me 7 months to finish this because i went and read another book because it intrested me more. I REPEAT THIS AGAIN, DO NOT GET THE PEOPLE OF SPARKS!

posted by 10744645 on June 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 586 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 30
  • Posted February 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Sparks vs. Ember

    In my opinion, the book People of Sparks by Jeanne DuPrua wasn¿t that enjoyable to read. Although the book was a mystery it wasn¿t easy to figure out the problem. Every chapter skipped from each characters point of view, so it got confusing. I would not recommend this book to any one from ages 9-12.

    3 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2008

    Pretty Good

    Overall pretty good. The First book was better, but I can't wait to read the third. A lot of new characters, but also many returning characters.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2008

    People of Sparks

    This book was really good I don't remember much of it, but I remember that was really good. I can't wait to read the rest of the series.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2008

    Best Sequal Ever

    This is the best sequal ever and it was just as good as the first one. The author just as good descriptions as in the first book. I really hope that third book is just as good i haven't got a chance to read yet but if I do I am sure I will like it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2014

    Nananana

    Nannananianana im gonna start a fight. Nanananan were all gonna get in a fight. So so what im still a rockstar

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2013

    Amazing

    Best bookever love the sieris

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2012

    Awesome!!!!!

    This book is the best book ever!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    Best book

    I like this because is has a interesting "flow" in it

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    Love it

    This is great book!!!!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2012

    Okay-get the real thing

    The book would not open on my tablet so I suggest buying the real thing. I am pretty sure it would have been a good book if it would have opened but I still think it's better to have the real thing.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2012

    Awesome!

    Id totally read it again.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    Awsome, but 4th book better

    This book was amazing!!! Loved it!!! But the fourth book, the diamond of darkhold, was totally better!!! Read the diamond of darkhold!!!!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2011

    I dont no

    I red the1st book. Should i read this one?

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    In this second installment of the highly acclaimed ¿The City of Ember,¿ Jeanne Duprau explores the nature of conflict and the strength and courage necessary to overcome it.

    This is the second book of Ember, a collection of children books.<BR/><BR/>When Lina Mayfleet and her friend Doon Harrow lead the people of Ember out to the outside world, they are adopted by a town that survived the atomic holocaust ("Four Wars and Three Plagues").<BR/><BR/>Unfortunate the survivors of Ember outnumber the people of Sparks. The Sparks' town leaders decide to adopt them and to share their food in exchange for work. <BR/><BR/>Lina and Doon learn, through two different pathways, that the war that destroyed the world occurred because people got angry with each other and started doing evil things to their fellow men. They learn that the only way to stop the destruction is to eradicate the hate from the beginning. Lina goes on an adventure and gets to see first hand the destruction from an atomic attack.<BR/><BR/>Which is good, because the people from Ember and the People from Sparks start bickering about how food and work should be divided. Doon gets accused falsely of wasting food and a person from Ember foments the hatred.<BR/><BR/>In this second installment of the highly acclaimed ¿The City of Ember,¿ Jeanne Duprau explores the nature of conflict and the strength and courage necessary to overcome it.<BR/><BR/>Even though it was written for children, the themes are so universal and the writing is so good that they will be enjoyed by anyone who loves science fiction.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2008

    Better than the First

    I think People of Sparks was better than the City of Ember because there was more action. In the City of Ember, the action was at the end but with this sequil its all the way through. There were also some interesting and surprising twists at the end. I'm reading the third book now so im still hooked on this series!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2006

    not as great but still good

    This book is not as grabbing as the first book.(The City of Ember)I think it is a great book and you need to find out what happens!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2014

    Awesome101

    This book was great! Can't wait to read the next one " The Prophet of Yonberg"

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2014

    Cool

    This book sounds really good!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!:)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    Awesome

    I read the first book and it took me to a whole new world! And this book has the same effect

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2013

    To people

    Read this book relly good

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 586 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 30