Customer Reviews for

People of the Earth

Average Rating 4.5
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

outstanding

This is the first book in the People series and I'm hooked. They are well written and you gain historic outlook as well as entertaining story line. I highly recommend it. reading people of the sea right now. I like the blend of historical facts along with a great story ...
This is the first book in the People series and I'm hooked. They are well written and you gain historic outlook as well as entertaining story line. I highly recommend it. reading people of the sea right now. I like the blend of historical facts along with a great story line

posted by Anonymous on February 9, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

good, but. . . .

I picked out this book and People of the Fire. I first read People of the Fire,when I finished it I was highly disapointed-if you read it you will know why. I wasn't sure if I wanted to read this one, but having no other book to read I gave People of the Earth a try. Mu...
I picked out this book and People of the Fire. I first read People of the Fire,when I finished it I was highly disapointed-if you read it you will know why. I wasn't sure if I wanted to read this one, but having no other book to read I gave People of the Earth a try. Much better. I thought the authors did a good job on the characters and I found myself falling in love with Still Water (Bad Belly) This book kept you turning the page. . . So why did I not give it 5 stars? It lost one star because I didn't care so much for some situations and lost #4 because there was just too much voodoo for me. But other than that I would say give this a try o:>)

posted by Anonymous on February 2, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2005

    outstanding

    This is the first book in the People series and I'm hooked. They are well written and you gain historic outlook as well as entertaining story line. I highly recommend it. reading people of the sea right now. I like the blend of historical facts along with a great story line

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2005

    good, but. . . .

    I picked out this book and People of the Fire. I first read People of the Fire,when I finished it I was highly disapointed-if you read it you will know why. I wasn't sure if I wanted to read this one, but having no other book to read I gave People of the Earth a try. Much better. I thought the authors did a good job on the characters and I found myself falling in love with Still Water (Bad Belly) This book kept you turning the page. . . So why did I not give it 5 stars? It lost one star because I didn't care so much for some situations and lost #4 because there was just too much voodoo for me. But other than that I would say give this a try o:>)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2007

    Powerful Novel of History & Magic

    I saw my friend reading another book in the series & it looked fascinating. I bought this one instead. The first time I sat down to read it, I didn't stop until page 325. I've always been interested in Native American history. This is just the sort of version I've always been looking for.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2000

    Musty Basement

    This is the best novel of the series so far. However, once again the Gear's 'feel' it neccessary to project in their writing a a feel good, offend no one, approach to Native American life. If you are looking for happy endings and a 'justice' for everyone, then this is the 90's book for you.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2000

    People of the Earth.........FANTASTIC!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I have read a great many historical fiction type of novels and this book indeed has beat the likes of Coldsmith and a number of others. It surely makes me me feel as if I am there and wanting to be involved. The book makes a person want to see things for more than what they are...to think deeply about the world around them rather than in the usual shallow pools we seem to swim in on a daily basis.....I am looking forward to reading the rest of the books by the Gears (this was my first) and I can only hope to meet them at some point in life...or after life...hehehe. Sincerely, Jeff Ludwig

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2015

    People of the Earth (North America's Forgotten Past #3) by W. Mi

    People of the Earth (North America's Forgotten Past #3)
    by W. Michael Gear, Kathleen O'Neal Gear 
    The story begins with a description of common practice in modern times of project managers wanting to hurry their projects as the consequence of history.




    White ash is a dreamer, who is taken by power from her people to allow her to grow up with love and understanding. In an attempt to change the future he strives to change the path of man from harmony to discord. White ash must face her greatest fears, and learn to love in the impossible areas to learn to dream back the people to the spiral and continue the path of Wolf Dreamer, and Fire Dancer.




    Bad Belly becomes her husband because is uncommon love and understanding is the only way that White ash will be able to balance the world of the One, and the illusion of the world of man.




    Wind Runner a new leader of the people, leaves all his remaining family to be with the woman he loves, only to learn strength and thought and understanding in the arms of another woman.




    Brave Man a corrupt man who finds the edge of power and dreams a way of controlling White ash and power to make his own vision of the world.




    Sage Ghost a grieving man learns that loss can only strengthen you, and love can only fill you.




    Character List:
    People of the Earth
     
    Dreamer: White Ash dreamer, as a young girl stolen from herpeople so that she will have the opportunity to dream. She is called the“Mother of the people”.
     
    BadBelly/ Still Water: cousin and friend of white ash,learns to lover her although he does not think well of himself, has a bad armlost to a snake bite.
     
    WindRunner: in the sun people clan her cousin because ofthe man who adopted Whiteash, love interest
     
    BraveMan: a childhood friend changed by power because of ahead wound, is corrupted and false dreamer.
     
    Singingstones: the old dreamer of the earth people, changedhis view of power after touching the wolf bundle.
     
    Wolfdreamer/ fire dancer
     
    Power object : (wolf bundle)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2015

    Highly recommend

    I have read other bosky this husband wife team and enjoyed them all. Their research is impressive and imaging life so long ago is fascinating.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2013

    Excellent Read

    These two write as though they actually lived in the story. It is so realistic, so engaging, and always, always, they leave you wanting more. I have read most everything they have written and have never been dissapointed. This was true to form, the ceremonies, the cultural beliefs, and the traditions are all so realistic and feel so founded in reality that it is hard to remember you are reading a fantasy. The Gear's books read more like a rememberance than a fantasy. Like the other People of... (the fire, ice, etc.) this is another great one. Cannot wait for more. Never want them to end, just another hundred pages or so please???? Loved it just as much this time as the first time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2013

    Gave up after several Chapters

    Too much character development, and too many characters developing within the stories. I kept waiting for something, although I could see where there pieces were all leading to a junction.... I just couldn't get involved enough and abandoned the book after a while.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    Good read

    I have read everyone of auel's prehistoric novels, was delighted to find another author who is writing about our earlier times the combination of history with a story line of captivating characters makes the history of the journey of all men a wonderful read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2011

    Another good read from the Gear's.

    It's another look at pre historical America and the way life might have been like for people then. Hard to put down. You do end up caring for the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2010

    People of the Earth

    It is a very good book,and you don't want to put it down. It is a little confusing at first where they are pulling all the characters together, but it is worth it. You pull for the underdog and love them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2000

    AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    This book is awesome I have no words to describe excatly how good it is you just have to read it for yourself. If you don't want to buy it at least go to your local libary and check it out!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1