Customer Reviews for

Perchance to Dream: Theatre Illuminata #2

Average Rating 4.5
( 90 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(62)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Excellent Follow-Up to Eyes Like Stars!

Firstly, many thanks to Lisa Mantchev and her publicist for sending me an ARC of this book. How I managed to put off reading Perchance to Dream for so long is beyond me! But I knew I would want to review it right away after reading it, so I made myself wait closer to th...
Firstly, many thanks to Lisa Mantchev and her publicist for sending me an ARC of this book. How I managed to put off reading Perchance to Dream for so long is beyond me! But I knew I would want to review it right away after reading it, so I made myself wait closer to the release date, which is next Tuesday, May 25th. Preorder your copies now, if you haven't already!

The verdict? I loved it! And I loved it every bit as much as I loved Eyes Like Stars, which is not always the case for me and sequels. We do read a darker tale in this book, but there are still plenty of crazy antics from my favorite fairies out of Midsummer Night's Dream to add levity and visions of sweets and treats galore! Seriously, if you don't want to eat a cupcake or pie after reading this book, I would be shocked. I adored the premise of the story--that what Bertie wrote about came to life, and usually in the most unexpected ways--it really made for an enjoyable read. You never know what will happen next! The plot doesn't really take a darker turn until a good way into the book, but it is not so dark that you become bogged down--we simply see another facet of Mantchev's ability to weave an incredible story.

Much of the story from Eyes Like Stars is resolved in this book, though there is certainly an opening for more many possibilities in the future. However, I did like the fact that I'm not totally hanging off the cliff after reading Perchance to Dream. :-) Mantchev's writing is just as enjoyable to read in this book--the words dance off the pages and paint a vivid picture right before your eyes. The dialogues are fantastic--particularly when they are devoted to the fairies and their quirky notions. Hands down, Peaseblossom, Moth, Cobweb and Mustardseed are some of the best sidekicks, EVER! Remember the name Henry... One of my favorite humorous asides in this book involves Henry. There is nothing like a book that makes me laugh out loud and re-read funny passages. And yet, as I already mentioned, this book isn't all fun and games--you really do go through a variety of emotions.

I firmly believe if you enjoyed Eyes Like Stars you will enjoy Perchance to Dream just as much. There's no "sophomore slump" with this book.

posted by Melissas_Bookshelf on June 17, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Lovely

It is a little difficult to understand what or where the characters are and the setting sometimes, but over all is a great and interesting plot. Cant wait to read the third!

posted by 9942616 on January 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 90 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted June 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent Follow-Up to Eyes Like Stars!

    Firstly, many thanks to Lisa Mantchev and her publicist for sending me an ARC of this book. How I managed to put off reading Perchance to Dream for so long is beyond me! But I knew I would want to review it right away after reading it, so I made myself wait closer to the release date, which is next Tuesday, May 25th. Preorder your copies now, if you haven't already!

    The verdict? I loved it! And I loved it every bit as much as I loved Eyes Like Stars, which is not always the case for me and sequels. We do read a darker tale in this book, but there are still plenty of crazy antics from my favorite fairies out of Midsummer Night's Dream to add levity and visions of sweets and treats galore! Seriously, if you don't want to eat a cupcake or pie after reading this book, I would be shocked. I adored the premise of the story--that what Bertie wrote about came to life, and usually in the most unexpected ways--it really made for an enjoyable read. You never know what will happen next! The plot doesn't really take a darker turn until a good way into the book, but it is not so dark that you become bogged down--we simply see another facet of Mantchev's ability to weave an incredible story.

    Much of the story from Eyes Like Stars is resolved in this book, though there is certainly an opening for more many possibilities in the future. However, I did like the fact that I'm not totally hanging off the cliff after reading Perchance to Dream. :-) Mantchev's writing is just as enjoyable to read in this book--the words dance off the pages and paint a vivid picture right before your eyes. The dialogues are fantastic--particularly when they are devoted to the fairies and their quirky notions. Hands down, Peaseblossom, Moth, Cobweb and Mustardseed are some of the best sidekicks, EVER! Remember the name Henry... One of my favorite humorous asides in this book involves Henry. There is nothing like a book that makes me laugh out loud and re-read funny passages. And yet, as I already mentioned, this book isn't all fun and games--you really do go through a variety of emotions.

    I firmly believe if you enjoyed Eyes Like Stars you will enjoy Perchance to Dream just as much. There's no "sophomore slump" with this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A thrilling sequel, but stands alone

    I loved the first Theatre Illuminata book. Bertie is my kind of girl - smart, trouble-attracting, and she has a penchant for radical hair dye. In this charming sequel, she sets off to save Nate, kidnapped by the Sea Goddess Sedna. But Ariel goes with her, a constant temptation. Who does she love more?

    The action is even more fast-paced, and we meet some wonderful new characters. The fairies remain funny and Bertie's wit brings levity to the real danger the world outside the Theatre poses. The world-building expands in scale and scope, and Bertie's character develops well. The plot is tight and the structure, like the first, is nearly perfect in terms of raising stakes and informative reveals.

    The tension between characters needs to be highlighted. Mantchev does a wonderful job of showing the relationships between characters, especially Bertie and her boys, and also Bertie and the Mysterious Stranger.

    I was delighted with the weaving in of back story, including the events of the first book. A reader need not have picked up EYES LIKE STARS to enjoy PERCHANCE, but I recommend one do so anyway!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Lovely

    It is a little difficult to understand what or where the characters are and the setting sometimes, but over all is a great and interesting plot. Cant wait to read the third!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    Bhh

    Who does she choose? Im dying here! I dont care if u spoil it someone just tell me!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2013

    Great read

    Amazing book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Flaws with the book: There are more scene changes than there wer

    Flaws with the book: There are more scene changes than there were in 9 to 5: The Musical (which had a scene change roughly every seven minutes) and the characters dropped in rather abruptly, with a scene or two that didn't seem to fit.

    Why the flaws don't matter: Mantchev is the YA Shakespeare - she writes lyrically and with such memorable characters that if the plot had been a hunt for a telephone book, I would have read it.

    Seriously. Bertie, the fairies, Ash, Nate, Sedna, all of the characters - they're so very original, despite the fact that many stem from characters already created. They're just fun to read about and connect too - I would read their escapades no matter what the plot was.

    The plot? It's fast paced, yes, with sometimes rather abrupt scene changes, but it's followable, enjoyable, and comes together very well. I'm excited to see how the next - and last *sniff* - book in the trilogy plays out. (I would rather like this to be like the Bloody Jack series - Bertie would just keep going and going and going and being awesome.)

    And the BOYS. In Eyes Like Stars, Ariel lurred me in and Nate caught my eye. Here, the focus is on Ariel - and yet, somehow, the second Nate stepped back into the picture, it became hard to focus on which boy to like better! They're both so amazing and different and sexy. I know which character I want in every other book - Team Gale in The Hunger Games, Team Puck in The Iron King - and yet, when it comes to these two boys, I can't choose. And I understand why Bertie can't, either.

    Another reason Lisa Mantchev is such an amazing author. She makes a love triangle like this work - and that's hard to do.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2012

    Perchance to snore.

    This book was rather disappointing. I had read the first one with high hopes for this one. I found muself lost in large words, confusing scenes and cheracters that were left at a "blonde hair, peering eyes" then discontinued OR ones that had an overload of detail. I found the book extremely hard to finish, or even read at all. The only reason I intertained reading this book was because of the first one. I have never given this bad of a report on any book at all, but I have also never read this bad of a book before. I really did like the first one, this one though.... an utter disappointment. :(

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2012

    Amazing!!!

    I love this book! It is so amazing and can't to get the next one. It is called Silver Dream i think

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2012

    nothing special

    The first book was so original and great that this story seemed dull in comparison.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Act Two

    Act Two, Scene One
    Enter Bertie And Company

    Setting: The world outside the Théâtre

    Beatrice Shakespeare Smith (Bertie):
    Our charming and talented heroine

    Nate: A suave, swashbuckling pirate in grave danger

    Ariel: A brooding, seductive air spirit whose motives remain frustratingly hidden

    Peaseblossom, Codweb, Moth, and Mustardseed: These fairies are indispensable if you need help dispatching with a pie or pudding

    Growing up in the enchanted Théâtre Illuminata, Bertie learned everything about every play ever written. She knew the Players and their parts--but she didn't know that she had a role to play, too. Now that she's discovered her own magic, she is the Mistress of Revels, the Teller of Tales. And she's ready to write her own story, outside the productive walls of the Théâtre. But which way will her story go? Toward Nate, who's being held captive by the Sea Goddess, and loves Bertie dearly? Or should she write Ariel into her narrative? He's by her side every day, and she's finding his charms so very hard to resist . . .

    Beatrice Shakespeare Smith's search for her stolen companion, Nate, has brought her traveling company far from the stage of the Théâtre Illuminata. With the power of her words, Bertie can reshape reality, but the magic is wild and defies her attempts to control it. The Pirate's time is running out and the Sea Goddess will not give up her prize willingly.

    No matter what, Bertie is hell-bent on getting back Nate, dragging her crew through tough terrains and dangerous situations. Along the way, they meet some interesting characters that become pivotal figures in Bertie's current adventure and many secrets of her past become known. I was excited to check out book # 2 in this series, but unfortunately, this was a so-so read for me. It was VERY dramatic and kind of all-over-the-place. Plus, it was almost too much fantasy for my taste, esp. with the whole "words = reality" problem (in which Bertie became stubborn in using!) There is a big adjustment for the "Company" in dealing with people/places in the "modern" world compared to being inside the Théâtre, so that in itself was fascinating to read about, but overall it was entertaining and theatrical.

    Likes: Bertie's "triangle" relationship with Nate & Ariel truly heated up in this story and I don't see it simmering down for awhile until Bertie finally makes a decision between the two.

    Dislikes: The fairies come off to me as more annoying than comical!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2012

    Amazin but Confusing

    This book has such a fantastic plot with awesome characters but I had trouble following along.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2012

    Good but not as good...

    The book was a little difficult to understand at times and wasn't as strong as the first. Definitely worth a read and I can't wait to read the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    Only havee the sample but the first one was great

    Looooooved the first begging my mom to buy me this one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2011

    AMAZING

    Im a big fan of this series cant wait to read the next one!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2011

    Team Ariel all the wy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2011

    Loved it!

    I didn't want to put it down so I read it in one setting, it was so good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2011

    Very well done lisa

    Nice captures great details

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2011

    A Fantastic Follow Up

    Perchance to Dream picks up right where Eyes Like Stars left off. The theater has been restored and Nate is being held captive by Sedna the Sea Witch. In order to save him, Bertie, Ariel, and the four mischievous faeries venture out into the world incognito as a band of traveling players in hopes of finding the gateway into Sedna's realm. Bertie, now the Mistress of the Revels, soon discovers that with her pen and enchanted parchment she can manifest things and influence their journey as they navigate through it. Soon after they set off, Bertie is visited by her father who is actually a birdlike creature that can take a human form. He knows the location of the gateway they seek but he is stuck in his animal form and thus, his mind is not his own.

    As they track her father down, Bertie becomes increasingly confused about her feelings for Ariel. She is tore between her growing attachment to him and her feelings for Nate. It is evident that Ariel deeply cares for Bertie - I will even venture to say he loves her. He may desire his freedom but I do believe he would give it all up for her. While he can be jealous and frustrated with Bertie's ties to Nate, he proves himself to be quite reliable in the end.

    Also adding to the plot is the fact that Bertie, in her desperation to see Nate, has secretly manifested him with her pen and parchment. She finds that she can communicate with him in her mind in some kind of dreamscape. However, unbeknown to her, her manifestation has actually divided Nate's soul from his body and trapped him in their shared dreamscape. This division is also slowly causing him to fade away from existence. So, the race is on to catch her father and find Nate before he vanishes completely.

    I thoroughly enjoyed this novel and highly recommend this series to anyone who loves teen fantasy, magic, romance and especially drama (as in play performance/scripts/the arts). It's right on par with the first book in the series and worth every one of the stars I gave it. By the way, I'm totally team Ariel so I think I actually liked this one better because he has a larger role and also because he's not portrayed as the pseudo bad guy. Not to mention that he and Bertie become closer in this one...mwhaha! I think I like Ariel because he is fleshed out. Yes, he is super sexy, clever, suave and he can fly but he also has several character flaws including jealousy, opportunistic tendencies and selfishness. Because of his imperfections, I find him all the more interesting and believable as a character. I've noticed that a lot of people seem to be big Nate fans but I honestly just can't picture Nate and Bertie together. I think that Nate can be just as dishonest and selfish as Ariel (example: the blood magic)and overall, he gives off the friend vibe. I also think that Ariel and Bertie have more in common (birdlike attributes for lack of a better phrase - you'll know what I mean if you read the books). Anyways, I am highly impressed with Ms. Mantchev's work. It's incredibly original and the characters are fantastic! I can't wait to get my hands on the next book! If only it was coming out sooner. Ugh!

    On a side note, the cover art is absolutely gorgeous... again. Love, love, love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2011

    FAB.U.LOUS!

    LISA MANTCHEV IS A PHENOMANAL WRITER, and, i happen to hope to become an author, i hope to be able to write like her one day!! she is very descriptive, and Bertie is amazing!! i love how brave and confident she is- and i love how she always dyes her hair amazing colors. :) if you're looking for romance, adventure, and a wonderful heroine, this is your kind of book-
    and writer!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2010

    Another awesome book!

    When I saw this book in the store, I decided to buy it, since I'd already bought the first one in the series. Good thing I did, too! I don't know what I would have done if I'd had to wait for the next book in the series!

    Bertie has left Theatre Illuminata. After discovering the truth about her past, she has set out in search of two things: Nate, and the identity of her father. With her, come the four playful fairies from Midsummer Night's Dream, and the seductive Ariel.
    Nate has been kidnapped by the Sea Goddess, and it is up to Bertie to find him and take him back with her.
    Out of the Theatre, Bertie discovers a type of magic she didn't know she had, and with it, she tries to achieve both her goals. However, the magic is difficult to use and often yields unexpected results.
    Still, she manages to make contact with Nate, in her dreams. And, in her waking world, she is falling for Ariel.

    A wonderful book for anyone who enjoys a good fantasy story. This story has it all: Action, Adventure, Magic, and Romance. The unexpected always keeps you on your toes, and the results always make you smile. I loved this book so much, and I cannot wait for the third and last book of the Theatre Illuminata Trilogy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 90 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5